We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Londolozi Founders Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londolozi Founders Camp
Save
You added Londolozi Founders Camp to your Saves list
Londolozi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our 3 days at the Founders Camp were simply great.
The accommodations were excellent, newly remodeled, very spacious, comfortable, with a king size bed with a first class mattress, luxurious linen and great pillows. The bathroom was well appointed, with all kinds of amenities and separate interior and exterior showers. A small round pool equipped with a jacuzzi stream was located on the outside deck and regularly visited by monkeys. The private individual bungalows are located on high stilts which permit an excellent view of the banks of the Sand River and the African bush.
The meeting deck was a bit on the minimalist side, but clean looking and well taken care of.
All the food served was simply excellent, well prepared and creative. The service was absolutely superb and our meals were attended by a wonderfully gracious lady named Tokho, which left a deep and memorable impressions on all the members of our party (6).
The 2 daily game drives were attended by a charming, knowledgeable and fun guide named Jessica who teamed up with a great tracker named Jeffrey (highly recommended team); they certainly made our stay worthwhile and we did get to see all the big fives plus cheetahs, bucks, crocs, zebras, hippos, giraffes, monkeys, warthogs and kinds of birds.
The rest of the staff from the camp manager (Tammy) to the other members of the team were also just great and went out of their way to please us.
The camp has a swimming pool, a small work out room, a library and nice store which sells interesting artifacts and African crafts.
A memorable, repeatable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Kh445,

It is so wonderful to hear that you had such a memorable experience at Founders Camp. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Tammy, Jess, Jeff, Thoko and the rest of the Founders camp team!

We look forward to your next visit but until then keep an eye on our blog for daily updates.
Much Love,
The Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After spend tree days at Londolozi, it is difficult to go back to a normal life. I just got back last night and what a memorable experience!
The staff is exceptional and treat you like family.
I could not imagine better guides than Tom and Jerry!
The facilities left not to be desired! The food was excellent.

Room Tip: Our group did not have any complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Sira_13,

Thank you for your great review on Founders Camp. We are thrilled to know that your stay was so enjoyable.

We look forward to your next visit.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just got back from S. Africa and our safari there - "Camp" is a ridiculous way to describe Londolozi! It's complete luxury in the middle of the game preserve - Staff is terrific, game drivers and guides extremely well-versed and the animals so plentiful that you can't help seeing "the big five"! We were a group of eight who booked through Classic Africa and age ranged from 27 to 82 and the trip was perfect for every one of us - Recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: No "bad" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Words4beth,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Londolozi. We are so glad yo hear that your trip was so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to far future!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Londolozi boast that they are one of the original luxury camps that others have copied as a model and I think they are justified in that claim. It runs like clockwork with a high staff ratio who genuinely anticipate your every need. It's true luxury travel. The rooms contain everything a visitor could possibly need, especially important if you are doing light aircraft transfers with extremely curtailed luggage limits. The Founders camp is one of the older camps in Londolozi, but following floods about a year ago a lot of the public areas have been rebuilt and so it has a fresh feel. The rooms are villas, not tents, with all the mod cons and large patios with a pergola, outside shower and plunge pool. (Sadly it rained and was unseasonably cold the whole time I was there so I never got to use these amenities. If only they could fix the weather...). All rooms overlook a waterhole so there is animal spotting even from the comfort of your room. The animals in Sabi Sand are wonderful and I think that despite bad weather I had ticked off my entire list within my first few days. The guides are first class, know their park and wildlife intimately and are very respectful and safety conscious (compared to some camps I did later in the trip that were a bit more wild west). I would unreservedly recommend Londolozi and can't wait for an opportunity to get back there. Some places are a great once-in-a-lifetime experience, but Londolozi could become an addiction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear jellylorum,

We are so pleased that you found your time at Londolozi the way safaris should be. Thank you for visiting, it sounds as thought your experience was truly wonderful, except of course for the chilly weather. Unfortunately it is one of the few things which we have no control over.
Great to hear that you like the newly rebuild Founders Camp nonetheless.

I will pass on your comments to the entire Founders Camp team. Thank you again, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us,

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We, a family of four, stayed at the Londolozi Founders Camp during December 2012, for 4 nights. The trip was arranged through one of the travel agents that is used by Londolozi. I caught on this camp after happening on their website when frantically looking for suitable safari camps in South Africa while searching (far too late) in the year. Lucky enough for me, there were a few nights still available, and I was incredibly lucky to be able to obtain them.

There are several camps at Londolozi, and we happenned to be put up at the Founders Camp. I do not have any exposure to the others, but I would say that they are just as good from my experience at Foundres.

We flew in from Johannesburg to the small private airstrip nearby, and we had our game vehicle with ranger and tracker waiting for us to take us to the lodge. This was our first meeting with Sandros (ranger) and Lucky (guide), who were friendly, and relatively quiet. We got to know them better in the coming days and nights and more on them later.

We were driven to the camp, setlled in to our lodges, and then had a bite of lunch at the main reception/lodge area where we would then have our future breakfast, lunches and dinners. It is an incredible spot from which to relax, watch the desolate African landscape, occassionally see the buffalo or mischeivous monkeys. Mendrew, who took care of us with absolutely impeccable, friendly service through the rest of our stay, and 'topped up' our coffees, drinks, and whatever else we desired, was great, and we missed him dearly during the rest of our vacations elsewhere, always comparing everyone else to him! The food was perfect, fresh, and very well prepared by great chefs, with something there for every taste.

The lodges were well decorated, with a spa/pool, verada area, gorgeous bathroom, and fireplace. The fridges/pantry were stocked well, and I enjoyed the warm sherry on the fire place mantel every night before I went to sleep! There were always Impala lurking around and it was nice to stand outside the front door quietly and watch them stare back at you.

The game drives - back to Sandros and Lucky - were great. Sandros, with 24 years, and Lucky, with 14 years experience - knew exactly where to go, and had a knack was finding wildlife with impeccable. We would be driving through paths relatively fast and Lucky would raise up his hand, point to the left, and say, "Cheetah" and Sandros would stop. We would look around, wondering what the heck Lucky was point to, and then, hidden beneath layers of grass, impossible to spot to the naked eye (Except for Lucky/Sandros) would be a Cheetah. They were both friend, hospitable, and took care of us very well with their stories from the past, and their good humor. Sandros is a 'name' with previous guests, as we met one in Johannesburg while flying out, and she remebered him from a trip from a decade ago, and talked highly about her experience at the lodge and Sandros. We saw 4 lions, a leopard, tons of wild Buffalo (more than 500) on our first two drives, and by the end of the 4 days, had seen more lions & lioness, cheetahs, zebras, giraffes, rhinos - you name it. Every drive was different, exciting and an incredible experience.

We did the village walk, which frankly, was a tad dissapointing, in its lack of being a 'true, original; African vilalge. It would have been nice to go to a nearby village outside camp, that was authentic and would expose our far flung travellers to a true African experience and living. I recommend the walk, but suggest that Londolozi add to the experience with a visit to a nearby village as well.

What else can I say? Just go. Dont worry about it. The camp and the people have an amazing knack of making you feel welcomed and at home without being too intrusive or being too aloof. Somehow they seemed to have found the perfect balance. They left us alone when we needed to be left alone, and they showered us with care when we needed to feel cared for.

Outstanding. Outstanding. Outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear shangaiasiafan,

Thank you for visiting Londolozi and for your detailed account and review of your time with us. We are pleased to hear that so many elements of your stay were so outstanding and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Founders Camp team as well as Sandros and Lucky.

I'm sorry that you found the village walk to be below expectation, and to answer your suggestion, yes we do offer a community trip to the villages outside the reserve. These trips, however are focused on the education intiatives we are developing with the rural people of Mpumalanga through the Good Work Foundation. When you next visit we will be sure to organise this for you.

Once again, thank you for such a kind review, we hope to have you return soon!

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Londolozi Founders Camp in September and the least I can say is that it was far too short! We would have loved to stay there few more days as it is an amazing area with a very rich wildlife. The camp is great and the service is clearly exceeding all the possible expectations that one can have. Originally, we have chosen Londolozi for the huge leopard population that is existing in the Sabi Sand area and I can tell it was the right choice! We were guided by Dean and Elmon during our game drives and we had a wonderful time with them. They are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and very professional.We had the chance to witness amazing wildlife scenes over there such as leopard couple mating and a Cheetah tracking his next prey. We have had superb opportunities for photography. We also had the chance to meet John Varty during our stay and it was a interesting experience to hear him talking about his passion for big cats.
We can't imagine coming back to South Africa without going to Londolozi! Thanks to all the Londolozi team to make a so good job. Thanks to Jess and Nadia for their assistance during our stay and thanks to Dean for his dedication to make our game drives the best possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear stephane a,

Thank you for visiting Londolozi and writing such a kind review. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay and great game drives with Dean and Elmon. I will be sure to pass on your review to all concernced.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Londolozi during your next visit to South Africa,

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

AMAZING!!!! Thank's to Rhino Africa (customized travel agency) I was able to spend five amazing days at Founders Camp. From the second you step out of the transport the Landolozi family make sure you have the best trip of your life.

The suites are nicely spread out and blend into the beautiful surroundings. Each suite has a plunge pool on your own private deck. We saw animals (to many to list) right off our deck and throughout the camp. The Bed was super comfy and the staff attending to you know what you want before you ask.

The open truck game drives are super comfortable and the driver and tracker know everything you could or would want to know about the land, animals, birds and plants (oh and stars).

The food.. OMG the food is the best i have every had anywhere. The service of the staff (you will have the same team throughout your stay) is also the best i have ever had in all my travels. Thoku was my server and we just loved her. The work for thank you is Inkomu and you will be saying it at every turn.

I cannot say enough about Londolozi and the Varty Family, who we got to know. They truly care about the land, people and conservation.

make Londolozi your next safari location and be prepared to be blown away.

Room Tip: all the rooms are breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Dan H,

Wow, thank you for visiting Londolozi and writing such a kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and we will be sure to pass on your review to the entire Founders Camp team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon!

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Londolozi Founders Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Founders Camp

Address: Londolozi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, intimate and child friendly, Founder’s Camp is ideally situated to provide an insider’s view of the secrets of river life. Seven idyllic chalets, repose in the shade of ancient ebony and matumi trees along the banks of the Sand River.This is an African safari in the classic style, replete with black and cream ticking fabric and original mahogany beds. Deep leather couches, military chests, compass safari lamps and a riverside lounge sala, create a mood of easy luxury and laid back welcome for discerning families and travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Founders Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Londolozi Founders Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.