We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Londolozi is unbelievable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Londolozi Pioneer Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londolozi Pioneer Camp
Save
You added Londolozi Pioneer Camp to your Saves list
Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Londolozi is unbelievable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I cannot say enough. Londolozi is the most amazing place I ever stayed at. They are all Truly PROFFESIONAL. From our Guide Richard Burman, to the person who took care of us at our camp, (her name ws Georgia), to the person who walked us to our room and met us in the morning, to the waiters and bar tenders, to the people who prepared the food and people who cleaned our room; they were all truly amazing and could not have been more experienced and polished. There was not one detail left out or forgotton. We met the manager a couple of times (Duncan) who was really nice, knowledgeable and made us feel important.

The game drives were amazing; Our Ranger and Tracker, Richard and Richard were experienced and knew where to find the animals. They answered all of our questions and were very knowledgeable.
The food was great.
The premises were second to none. The service, as I said was impeccable. What more can I say…its 10 stars on a 6 star scale.

The only problem is that we were not there long enough. We really needed more than 3 nights. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Pioneer Camp, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear JCorbs,

Thank you for the kind review on Londolozi Pioneer camp. It is so wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. I will be sure to send your kind words onto Georgia, Richard, Richard, Duncan and all the staff that made your stay so memorable.

We look forward to your next 'slightly longer' stay!

Thanks,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We're lucky to have stayed in lots of really nice 5 Star places. There are few that couldn't learn a from Londolozi. We (family of 4) are just back from 3 nights in Pioneer Camp. We couldn't find a fault even if we were paid to. If you are lucky enough to be in a position to consider booking this place just do it. We'd be amazed if you regretted it. Well done to management and staff. Pure class.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Pioneer Camp, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear fergusclancy,

Thank you for the kind review on Pioneer camp. We are so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look so forward to your next visit!

Much love,
The Londolozi family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Pioneer Lodge and we loved it. The rooms are very large with a lovely sitting area. The bathroom is massive and the walk in closet area was terrific because it separated our mess from the rest of the suite. Our room looked over the Sand River and the hippos made a great deal of noise early in the morning. It was fantastic. The Pioneer is tucked away making you feel very private and on your own yet you are minutes away from the lodge as well as the Varty lodge where there is shopping, a larger pool and a small gym.
We had our own plunge pool and it was wonderful to sit in the sun each day after our game drive.
Tally and Freddie was our guide and tracker. They were both terrific. What a team. A little OCD when it came to tracking something specific, but that was to our benefit. We saw a leopard eating an impala in a tree, vultures after the kill, then the lions arriving. We hunted down the male lion, we tracked a cheetah and her cubs and the last night we heard two lions and literally tracked them into the bush only to find them eating a huge buffalo they had killed. I am not sure how we even got the vehicle through the bush but that image and smell will be melted into my brain and imagination forever. Truly amazing. We were just thrilled.
We had a wonderful massage on our deck one day. One of the better massages I have had. No wimping out on the pressure.
Georgia was available to help us whenever we needed it and the food prepared by Virginia and Kevin was wonderful - the breakfast each day was superb!!
What an adventure. I would highly recommend Londolozi and the Pioneer Lodge.

Room Tip: Pioneer Lodge has very large lovely rooms. Ensure you check out all the lodges because each one cate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Pioneer Camp, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi JECan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Pioneer camp. It is so wonderful to know that you had such an enjoyable stay. I will make sure that all the staff at Pioneer camp hear your kind words.
We look forward to your return visit, until then dont forget to keep an eye on our blog.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

They have not coined enough adjectives to adequately allow a reviewer to praise this amazing place. This was a trip of a life time from the very moment we arrived until the moment we left. We stayed at the impeccable Pioneer camp. Pioneer (and all of the camps in Londolozi) is magnificently appointed, the staff have an unbridled passion for what they do and define the spirit of hospitality. We enjoyed dinner around a bonfire, candle lit bubble baths, sundowners, a performance by the Londolozi Choir and so much more! This is a place where cell phones, televisions and most modern interruptions are forgotten as soon as you arrive. The food was delicious, the variety astonishing in the middle of the wild. A fantastic wine selection is just the cherry on top. We saw so many amazing animals, big and small, many with their babies and witnessed some incredible behavior. What made the experience so cherished is the teachings of our ranger Rich and our tracker Ox. They were patient, charming and enthusiastic. We learned so much about what we were seeing. Of all of the places we have traveled in the world, Londolozi earns top prize. Thank you Trish (the girl from Chicago who never left), Jess, Pham, Petunia, Rich, Ox, Anna and everyone on the Londolozi team who spared no effort to make us quickly decide to become "repeaters." If you're wondering IF you should go, don't... pick a date pack your bags and get ready to be completely and utterly blown away. You will leave with an appreciation for creatures big and small and a calm that is difficult to describe. Most of all you too will want to return again!

Room Tip: Pioneer camp has 3 suites making it more private. That being said, every inch of Londolozi is utter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Pioneer Camp, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear scooby19

Thank you for taking the time to visit Londolozi and write such a kind review. We are blown away that you had such a phenomenal time and cannot wait to have you back to stay with us.

I will be sure to pass on your review to the entire Pioneer Camp team.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our stay at Pioneer Camp was beyond belief! I cannot recommend it highly enough--not only for the amazing animal viewing--but also for the warm and gracious staff. That, I think, is their crowning glory. Yes, the game drives in morning and evening allowed us to see the Big Five almost immediately; however, the care, friendliness, and attitude of everyone made us feel like a cherished guest in their home, from the knock on the door with coffee at 5 a.m., until the dinner and drinks at night.

Our ranger and tracker were very proactive in asking us what WE wanted to see--not that we cared, as everything was amazing. Additionally, they not only positioned the vehicle to get the best picture possible, but they also gave fantastic photographic tips/suggestions, which resulted in some fabulous photos.

My husband is already talking about a return visit, and we've only been back two weeks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent part of our honeymoon at Londolozi and, thanks to the amazing staff, facilities and game drives, we had the best vacation of our lives. We stayed a couple nights at Varty Camp and a couple nights at Pioneer Camp. You can't go wrong with any of the camps but our room at the Pioneer Camp was THE nicest room that we have ever stayed in (room #1). We were blown away by how luxurious and spacious our residential building was along with how incredible the views were off the balcony.

Pioneer is more expensive and more private than Varty, but worth the expense for a special occasion. Varty was a busier camp, but still only 10 rooms so by no means crowded. If you want to have a couple cocktails with a few guests I would recommend Varty Camp; if you want to be secluded, then Pioneer. All the camps have the same high quality food; which was plentiful and delicious.

We are so very happy we chose Londolozi as we saw leopards and the big 5 every day. The rangers and trackers are also fantastic. Londolozi also has amongst the highest acreage so the best chance of seeing the most free roaming animals. We hope to get back again in a couple years.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

A visit to Londolozi is a truly magnificent and unforgettable experience. My husband surprised me on our anniversary with a 4 day trip to this wilderness wonderland.

From the time we arrived, we were made to feel incredibly special and welcome. No request was too unreasonable - including my admittedly almost impossible request to view and photograph wild dog. I thought I would present them with a playful challenge :-)

My wish was their command, as our game ranger Mike and our tracker Freddy radioed the neighbouring parks to find the ever elusive wild dog. Singhita confirmed a sighting and the next day, with the teamwork between Mike, Freddy and the Singhita ranger and tracker, I was surprised and blessed to witness the painted dogs of Africa on a hunt.

Mike's keen eye for photography made sure we were perfectly positioned to get the best pics imaginable.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Londolozi Pioneer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Pioneer Camp

Address: Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the dappled shade of 500 year old ebony trees, the three luxury suites & generous bush home central area is the culmination of four decades of design experience in the safari industry. Pioneer Camp is the most secluded of Londolozi's Luxury camps. The three private suites have superb river views and are perfect for honeymoons and private getaways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Pioneer Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Londolozi Pioneer Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.