We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than I Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ruidoso Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Hwy. 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had stayed here when it was a Holiday Inn Express and enjoyed our stay. After I booked the room, the name changed and the reviews made me wonder if I had made a mistake. We did, however, have an enjoyable stay and are fears were unfounded. The service was good, the room was nice and the breakfast was good. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    9
    13
    6
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronte, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We are platinum Holiday Inn Members. We have stayed there several times over the years and each time it got a little more run down!! I said the last time we stayed there NEVER AGAIN!! The rooms are okay but the staff is TERRIBLE !! Rude not helpful at all !! In fact they don't even look up when you come in the door!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Rented 2 rooms for a weekend stay (4 adults 3 kids). It is located at the entrance of town. We find this convenient to avoid traffic jamms when the snow gets ugly and as we exit to go back home. The staff is friendly And the rooms are basic but clean. Two inconveniences were the slow Internet connection ( it is offered free) and one of the beds was extremely uncomfortable( hard , lumpy and springy) The others were ok. The complementary continental breakfast included staples such as pre mAde waffles, toast, beagles, mini muffins, cinnamon rolls, cereal assortment, OJ, milk apple juice and coffee. They also had oatmeal packets, saussage links and bananas. It is a good value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We (2 kids & 2 adults) stayed at this place for 2 nights and had a great experience. I'd made numerous phone calls to make changes & not only was the staff patient, they were super friendly. We had a reservation mixup that would have cost us twice for the correct night. After speaking to the manager & explaining the situation, the manager was very nice to reduce the price for the night we needed to check in. We had no trouble checking in and the staff during our stay from the receptionist to the cleaning staff were great. The room was clean & although we asked that it not be cleaned during our stay, the cleaning lady was very gracious & helpful. Can't say enough good things.... ;)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Don't waste your money, hotel is below average at best. Girl at front desk was rude and acted completely put out when I asked her for a crib. The facility needs a major face lift. The tub jets were broken, the room was dingy and falling apart. We got a suite hoping it would be a little nicer, not the case. The only positive thing was a quiet room. Overall I'm not I'm not impressed and will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to see snow, gamble and ski for the holidays, not knowing the area, I selected the holiday inn exp and used my priority club rewards... 20k points per night is a bit steep. Located within 2 miles to stores, midtown and casinos in any direction. It looks and feels new. Free breakfast on the weekdays ends at 930 and has a good selection, plus cookies in the evening. It would be nice if they would leave some food out until 11am for those who sleep late from a long travel. if I owned a 4 wheel drive suv, I would go to a cabin next time for a more romantic setting. But no complains about my stay, espepcially free! Next stop is the holiday inn, riverwalk in san antonio... 25k points per night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room is fair, needs updating. For the price we paid, I expected a little more but our carpet in the room had a large bleach stain near the sink.
While checking, the staff was plain out rude and unfriendly. Not once did the reception area say Thank you, welcome or ask if we had any problems while we checked out. A lady receptionist did remind me to take a tray up to the room if we were going to get breakfast to go, Gee- You think? I am not that dumb and obviously, if I wanted to take breakfast to my room for two, I probably would need a tray.
I am a priority rewards member, and next time I am in town, I will be staying somewhere else. I don't enjoy paying a high price to be treated rudely and an "okay room."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Gina B,

Thank you for being a Priority Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am pleased that you found our location convenient. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had experienced with the hotel staff. . I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruidoso Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Address: 400 West Hwy. 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruidoso Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ruidoso, New Mexico. While visiting the Playground of the Southwest, whether skiing at Ski Apache, trying your luck at three nearby Casinos, or playing the odds at Ruidoso Downs Racetrack & Billy the Kid Casino, home of the worlds richest Quarterhorse Race, The All American Futurity. Enjoy the nearby Spencer Theater. Come discover New Mexico's best kept secret, with a year round moderate climate. Ruidoso offers an abundance of real estate, great restaurants, cabins, shopping and beautiful mountain scenery in southern New Mexico. Our hotel features 104 guestrooms with 6 suites. We have an outdoor seasonal pool as well as an outdoor hot tub that stays open year around. We have 3 floors with an interior corridor and an elevator. Join us every morning for a Smart Start Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We can also host meetings with a maximum of 30 occupants. Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel be your home away from home with the quality and comfort you expect, and deserve. Allow us to accommodate your needs while visiting Ruidoso, New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Ruidoso Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ruidoso Hotel Ruidoso
Holiday Inn Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruidoso Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.