We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude front desk staff, never answer phone!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ruidoso Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Hwy. 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude front desk staff, never answer phone!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Don't waste your money, hotel is below average at best. Girl at front desk was rude and acted completely put out when I asked her for a crib. The facility needs a major face lift. The tub jets were broken, the room was dingy and falling apart. We got a suite hoping it would be a little nicer, not the case. The only positive thing was a quiet room. Overall I'm not I'm not impressed and will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    9
    13
    6
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to see snow, gamble and ski for the holidays, not knowing the area, I selected the holiday inn exp and used my priority club rewards... 20k points per night is a bit steep. Located within 2 miles to stores, midtown and casinos in any direction. It looks and feels new. Free breakfast on the weekdays ends at 930 and has a good selection, plus cookies in the evening. It would be nice if they would leave some food out until 11am for those who sleep late from a long travel. if I owned a 4 wheel drive suv, I would go to a cabin next time for a more romantic setting. But no complains about my stay, espepcially free! Next stop is the holiday inn, riverwalk in san antonio... 25k points per night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room is fair, needs updating. For the price we paid, I expected a little more but our carpet in the room had a large bleach stain near the sink.
While checking, the staff was plain out rude and unfriendly. Not once did the reception area say Thank you, welcome or ask if we had any problems while we checked out. A lady receptionist did remind me to take a tray up to the room if we were going to get breakfast to go, Gee- You think? I am not that dumb and obviously, if I wanted to take breakfast to my room for two, I probably would need a tray.
I am a priority rewards member, and next time I am in town, I will be staying somewhere else. I don't enjoy paying a high price to be treated rudely and an "okay room."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Gina B,

Thank you for being a Priority Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am pleased that you found our location convenient. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had experienced with the hotel staff. . I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We have come for the Golden Aspen Rally for three years now and always stay here. We love it. The people are great and it is very clean. We also like that it is very quiet for a biker rally. We will see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Friendly receptionist she was very helpful and informative of what areas to visit and dine at. The hotel offers hot breakfast, the lady attending the breakfast area was constantly cleaning any dirty tables people would leave behind. She kept attending to everyone need. I would stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If youre looking for a good pillow and a nice mattress, you had better bring your own. We are Platnum Members and we travel alot. We were disappointed with the dated room and we were VERY disappointed with the worn out mattress and pillows. The pillows smelled and were just pieces of fluff in a pillow case that caused your head to hit the mattress when you laid it down to rest. I mean really? We wasted 20,000 Priority Club pts on this hotel??
On the up-side, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but we knew they were hindered by the lack of quality of the room....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've given this hotel two stars- one for the front desk staff who were really friendly and the second for the breakfast.

What I didn't like was how old the hotel was... it looked worn and desperately needs an update. The carpet is old and the beds could be replaced. The bathroom sink is outside of the tub and toilet. I don't know why this design was approved but its horrible. The faucet leaked and shot water out to the side so everything on the right side of the sink got wet.

There are a lot of places to stay in Ruidoso, I'd recommend looking somewhere else, especially for what they charge in relation to what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear JenTexas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am pleased you appreciated our front desk staff and the breakfast. Please accept my deepest apologies for the issues you had with the layout and the condition of our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruidoso Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Address: 400 West Hwy. 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruidoso Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ruidoso, New Mexico. While visiting the Playground of the Southwest, whether skiing at Ski Apache, trying your luck at three nearby Casinos, or playing the odds at Ruidoso Downs Racetrack & Billy the Kid Casino, home of the worlds richest Quarterhorse Race, The All American Futurity. Enjoy the nearby Spencer Theater. Come discover New Mexico's best kept secret, with a year round moderate climate. Ruidoso offers an abundance of real estate, great restaurants, cabins, shopping and beautiful mountain scenery in southern New Mexico. Our hotel features 104 guestrooms with 6 suites. We have an outdoor seasonal pool as well as an outdoor hot tub that stays open year around. We have 3 floors with an interior corridor and an elevator. Join us every morning for a Smart Start Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We can also host meetings with a maximum of 30 occupants. Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel be your home away from home with the quality and comfort you expect, and deserve. Allow us to accommodate your needs while visiting Ruidoso, New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Ruidoso Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ruidoso Hotel Ruidoso
Holiday Inn Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruidoso Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.