We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Ruidoso Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Hwy. 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
McAllen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Friendly receptionist she was very helpful and informative of what areas to visit and dine at. The hotel offers hot breakfast, the lady attending the breakfast area was constantly cleaning any dirty tables people would leave behind. She kept attending to everyone need. I would stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    9
    13
    6
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If youre looking for a good pillow and a nice mattress, you had better bring your own. We are Platnum Members and we travel alot. We were disappointed with the dated room and we were VERY disappointed with the worn out mattress and pillows. The pillows smelled and were just pieces of fluff in a pillow case that caused your head to hit the mattress when you laid it down to rest. I mean really? We wasted 20,000 Priority Club pts on this hotel??
On the up-side, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but we knew they were hindered by the lack of quality of the room....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've given this hotel two stars- one for the front desk staff who were really friendly and the second for the breakfast.

What I didn't like was how old the hotel was... it looked worn and desperately needs an update. The carpet is old and the beds could be replaced. The bathroom sink is outside of the tub and toilet. I don't know why this design was approved but its horrible. The faucet leaked and shot water out to the side so everything on the right side of the sink got wet.

There are a lot of places to stay in Ruidoso, I'd recommend looking somewhere else, especially for what they charge in relation to what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear JenTexas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am pleased you appreciated our front desk staff and the breakfast. Please accept my deepest apologies for the issues you had with the layout and the condition of our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

While visiting Ruidoso we ended up walking into the reception area of the Holiday Inn to ask for directions. While we were not staying at the hotel, I would expect a friendly greeting and at least some assistance. The person behind the front desk was surly and definitely not that halpful. I will definitely not be staying at this hotel on future visits even though I am a member of the Holiday Inn loyalty club.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear KenwynC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We pride ourselves in our superior customer service and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings of our front office staff. We value you as a guest and your patronage to the Priority Club Rewards program is very important to us. Thank you for your feedback as this gives us an avenue to improve on the services we offer to our guest.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Because of the Little Bear fire, we were recently evacuated from our place in Alto, and our first choice was to head to the Holiday Inn Express. And this was our best experience of this horrible day. Even though the hotel was full of visitors, the staff did everything they could to accommodate us, other evacuees, and the wonderful firemen. Mitzi found us a room and as early as possible, which was really appreciated as we also helped out with the fire the night before we got kicked out. Even though a lot of the staff were having the same problems as we were, they were fantastic cleaning the rooms, had a full breakfast for us, and the hotel was immaculate. Yeah, OK, the property is a bit dated, but with these kind of fantastic people and wonderful, sincerely helpful people, this really is like staying with friends. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

While the breakfast and the staff are nice - the rooom we had was in dire need of an update. The sink was really chipped and leaked most of the night - the bed was way too soft and should have been replaced a long time ago and the towels were paper thin. Compared to other Holiday Inn Express this one fell short. We had to wait to sit down for breakfast as it was really crowded.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the exits as it is noisy as people come in and out at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ruidoso Mountain Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear highwaytrip,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

I travel for a living and this hotel is by far my choice in Ruidso. The room is clean, well maintained, and the staff is very helpful. The free breakfast is done right as well!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruidoso Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Address: 400 West Hwy. 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruidoso Mountain Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ruidoso, New Mexico. While visiting the Playground of the Southwest, whether skiing at Ski Apache, trying your luck at three nearby Casinos, or playing the odds at Ruidoso Downs Racetrack & Billy the Kid Casino, home of the worlds richest Quarterhorse Race, The All American Futurity. Enjoy the nearby Spencer Theater. Come discover New Mexico's best kept secret, with a year round moderate climate. Ruidoso offers an abundance of real estate, great restaurants, cabins, shopping and beautiful mountain scenery in southern New Mexico. Our hotel features 104 guestrooms with 6 suites. We have an outdoor seasonal pool as well as an outdoor hot tub that stays open year around. We have 3 floors with an interior corridor and an elevator. Join us every morning for a Smart Start Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We can also host meetings with a maximum of 30 occupants. Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel be your home away from home with the quality and comfort you expect, and deserve. Allow us to accommodate your needs while visiting Ruidoso, New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ruidoso Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ruidoso Hotel Ruidoso
Holiday Inn Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruidoso Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.