We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All American Races” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruidoso Downs

Ruidoso Downs
217 Rio St, Ruidoso, NM 88345
2103738313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Ruidoso
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Racetrack that is the home to the world's richest quarter-horse race.
Lampasas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great All American Races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The races were awesome. The jockey club was very in inviting. Apparent you have to belong to an unspoken club.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    8
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Quarter Horse Racing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The track sits in one of the most beautiful settings in the mountains of Ruidoso. It's an old building which add to it's character and you can't beat it for quarter horse racing. We enjoy sitting in the Jockey's Club where you have waiters, tables and convenient betting windows. Sitting upstairs makes for an entirely different experience than watching from downstairs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gotta watch the ponies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's always fun to try and pick the right horse, especially with friends. The restaurant has limited choices and the service is a little slow. Casino area is small but the employees are friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Where else can you take $100 and spend the whole afternoon watching the horses, having a few drinks and watching all the people. And we even came back with money! The scenery in the background is amazing with mountains in the distance. A fun place to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uggg”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been to a lot of tracks in my life...this is the WORST! The smell of terrible...human body oder, vomit, cigarette smoke...the absolute worst. The people were downright scary. I was alone, nothing new, but I did not feel the least bit safe. Left after one race. Will not return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruidoso Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruidoso Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.