We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay an friendly people. Very pet friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Coahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place to stay an friendly people. Very pet friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 301. It was great! The cabin is very clean. I love the 180 degree turn of the tv from the living area to the bedroom. They even provide sheets to cover the bed and couch so your dog can set where he wants. The grounds are beautiful. Such ambiance. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
So glad that we met your expectations. Thanks for the kind review. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
148
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My name is Brandon. Me and my wife Laura stayed here for our honeymoon and we both agree that we couldn't have found a better place. Our experience was wonderful. We stayed in Cabin 304 and it was very clean and comfortable! The cabin was everything we expected and more! It had a nice fireplace, hot tub, flat screen that rotated (very cool), good air conditioning, nice little kitchen with amenities and a porch outside where we enjoyed a nice view and had coffee together! The customer service was the best. We arrived a little late for check in and they had everything ready to go. They were very courteous and even gave us a little card and chocolates congratulating us for our marriage! If we ever go back to Ruidoso, we hope to stay there again! Thank you Shadow Mountain! What a lovely experience! - One Very Happy Couple :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
First of all, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for the great review. We work very hard at making every stay memorable and we are excited by the fact that we succeeded, especially on such an important occasion. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I enjoyed my short weekend in Cabin #304. It was remote, peaceful and quiet. The cabin met my needs in being clean, quaint, and located near the many shops and restaurants in Ruidoso. I was able to relax, sleep late, watch TV, cook (if I wanted to), and work on my laptop (thanks to the complimentary WiFi). I was NOT disappointed. I plan on stopping through again!

Room Tip: Loved Cabin #304 because of its location in relation to the other cabins, furthest from the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
So glad that we were able to give you what you were looking for. Thank you and come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Made our semi-annual trip to Ruidoso and stayed at our regular place.. We love to stay in the cabins, our favorite one is 304.. We travel with our dog and he too loves the cabins!! My only complaint about the cabin was the internet did not work during our entire 3 days there. It was a disappointment, because it has always worked before with no problems.. But it was a vacation, so I can overlook it. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and I enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown! This is our perfect place to stay!
Don't really know what is going on with ruidoso, but there were little to no deer seen on this trip! We really enjoy seeing the deer everywhere & they just weren't out... Hope this will change come fall...

Room Tip: Stay in cabin for more privacy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and we are so sorry for the internet problem. Baha Cable has a technician here trying to figure out what the heck is going on. We recently invested a small fortune in all new state of the art equipment (routers and expanders) and everything was going great, then it wasn't. We contracted a private internet guru to oversee Baha to insure that this is fixed once and for all as it is critical to us. We would add as proof of our commitment to internet access that we were the first lodgers in town to offer free wireless internet at our other lodge (Whispering Pine Cabins) back in 2003. So when there is an issue we jump on it immediately. We have attached a $25 discount against your next stay as our way of apologizing. On another note, we were hiking the canyon this morning and saw two small herds of deer, so it looks like they are making their down from the hills. We look forward to seeing you in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My Husband and I spent three lovely nights at Shadow Mountain Lodge in Ruidoso, NM. We felt the stress just melt away on the porch under the tall pines, cool breezes and birds. Our whole experience was perfect. The room was so comfortable, quiet, well appointed and equipped for our every need, charming and CLEAN. The amenities, setting, grounds, atmosphere, the whole package was a delight. The location made you feel you were high in the mountains yet the Ruidoso restaurants and shops were close by. We cannot wait to return and would choose Shadow Mountain Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are always so pleased when guests appreciate what we have done here. There are other choices in Ruidoso, but frankly we can't imagine why anyone would pay hotel prices when they can have all of this for much less. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights, Sunday and Monday. No staff was available at check in; a key was left with directions to room. The room was large with a fireplace, refrigerator and stove, window air conditioner, and a big bed, pretty soft. The room has a rustic look, and the grounds are decent. Most extras, like Duralite logs and soft drinks cost, $5 per log, etc. Everything in the room worked just fine. Location is good, close to business district. However, considering this is not ski season, and there are vacancies all around Ruidoso, the rooms are overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed the lodge. We try to accommodate everyone as best we can, but with there being so much to do in Ruidoso we really don't have an "off" season anymore, so discounting two night, weekend stays is difficult for us, as we (sadly) still have to pay those pesky bills. However, your review was very nice and it comes right at the same time that Trip Advisor awarded us with the 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Please see our website for details on specials that we do run from time to time and those that we offer continually for extended stays of three days and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I cannot figure out how this place got such a high rating. It is really just a glorified motel. The photos onllne make it look much more charming than it is. I will say that it is very clean, but as others have commented, it has poor lighting, and a tiny bathroom Also the room had a funny smell as though maybe someone had smoked in it in the past. There are lots of rules to abide by, yet poor instructions for coping with the internet (which didn't work sometimes),or the fireplace. I would hardly call this romantic either. You enter directly into the kitchen which is not attractive or well equipped. The loveseat (which makes in to a bed I believe) was also uninviting. I don't have other experiences in Ruidoso to compare, but if this is one of the best, then I would not return to the area. Of course it is bearable, it just is not enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pick one from 103 to about 109 to be away from road and parking lot noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Sadly, we can't make everyone happy every time.
To address your concerns. We have no rules that ask for anything beyond common sense, so are not sure what you are referring to there. The internet has been a problem recently (not sure why) but we just installed a brand new pro grade booster. So we apologize that you had trouble.
Have to admit that you're the first to complain about no instructions for the fireplace. We provide a free fire log per night that is simply placed on the grate and lit, so we never thought instructions were necessary.
We are rated as one of the 20 most romantic lodges in the country as the rooms are charming, clean, well appointed and the he bed is very comfortable and featured with $500 Donna Sharp hand sewn quilt sets. In addition, the deck is inviting, the hot tub is romantic and the grounds are manicured. The amenities are well thought out and our guest service is freindly and proffesional.
As for entering into the kitchen, this is the layout that best suits most folks and as for the bathroom, the separate large vanity doubles the size of most baths.
The kitchen has a microwave, toaster oven, 2 burner stove top, coffee maker with coffee, sugar and creamer, toaster and all dishes, pots and pans for cooking anything you like. We would appreciate you letting us now what else we should be equipping our kitchens with, as we are always looking to improve our offering to guests.
The love seat does not make into a bed and is steam cleaned regulary and replaced as they wear, so unless there was something specific we once again are not sure to what you are referring.
Once again we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we really do work diligently every single day to maintain the quality that Shadow Mountain Lodge is famour for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.