We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
East New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Made our semi-annual trip to Ruidoso and stayed at our regular place.. We love to stay in the cabins, our favorite one is 304.. We travel with our dog and he too loves the cabins!! My only complaint about the cabin was the internet did not work during our entire 3 days there. It was a disappointment, because it has always worked before with no problems.. But it was a vacation, so I can overlook it. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and I enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown! This is our perfect place to stay!
Don't really know what is going on with ruidoso, but there were little to no deer seen on this trip! We really enjoy seeing the deer everywhere & they just weren't out... Hope this will change come fall...

Room Tip: Stay in cabin for more privacy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and we are so sorry for the internet problem. Baha Cable has a technician here trying to figure out what the heck is going on. We recently invested a small fortune in all new state of the art equipment (routers and expanders) and everything was going great, then it wasn't. We contracted a private internet guru to oversee Baha to insure that this is fixed once and for all as it is critical to us. We would add as proof of our commitment to internet access that we were the first lodgers in town to offer free wireless internet at our other lodge (Whispering Pine Cabins) back in 2003. So when there is an issue we jump on it immediately. We have attached a $25 discount against your next stay as our way of apologizing. On another note, we were hiking the canyon this morning and saw two small herds of deer, so it looks like they are making their down from the hills. We look forward to seeing you in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    34
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
147
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brownwood, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My Husband and I spent three lovely nights at Shadow Mountain Lodge in Ruidoso, NM. We felt the stress just melt away on the porch under the tall pines, cool breezes and birds. Our whole experience was perfect. The room was so comfortable, quiet, well appointed and equipped for our every need, charming and CLEAN. The amenities, setting, grounds, atmosphere, the whole package was a delight. The location made you feel you were high in the mountains yet the Ruidoso restaurants and shops were close by. We cannot wait to return and would choose Shadow Mountain Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are always so pleased when guests appreciate what we have done here. There are other choices in Ruidoso, but frankly we can't imagine why anyone would pay hotel prices when they can have all of this for much less. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights, Sunday and Monday. No staff was available at check in; a key was left with directions to room. The room was large with a fireplace, refrigerator and stove, window air conditioner, and a big bed, pretty soft. The room has a rustic look, and the grounds are decent. Most extras, like Duralite logs and soft drinks cost, $5 per log, etc. Everything in the room worked just fine. Location is good, close to business district. However, considering this is not ski season, and there are vacancies all around Ruidoso, the rooms are overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed the lodge. We try to accommodate everyone as best we can, but with there being so much to do in Ruidoso we really don't have an "off" season anymore, so discounting two night, weekend stays is difficult for us, as we (sadly) still have to pay those pesky bills. However, your review was very nice and it comes right at the same time that Trip Advisor awarded us with the 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Please see our website for details on specials that we do run from time to time and those that we offer continually for extended stays of three days and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I cannot figure out how this place got such a high rating. It is really just a glorified motel. The photos onllne make it look much more charming than it is. I will say that it is very clean, but as others have commented, it has poor lighting, and a tiny bathroom Also the room had a funny smell as though maybe someone had smoked in it in the past. There are lots of rules to abide by, yet poor instructions for coping with the internet (which didn't work sometimes),or the fireplace. I would hardly call this romantic either. You enter directly into the kitchen which is not attractive or well equipped. The loveseat (which makes in to a bed I believe) was also uninviting. I don't have other experiences in Ruidoso to compare, but if this is one of the best, then I would not return to the area. Of course it is bearable, it just is not enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pick one from 103 to about 109 to be away from road and parking lot noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Sadly, we can't make everyone happy every time.
To address your concerns. We have no rules that ask for anything beyond common sense, so are not sure what you are referring to there. The internet has been a problem recently (not sure why) but we just installed a brand new pro grade booster. So we apologize that you had trouble.
Have to admit that you're the first to complain about no instructions for the fireplace. We provide a free fire log per night that is simply placed on the grate and lit, so we never thought instructions were necessary.
We are rated as one of the 20 most romantic lodges in the country as the rooms are charming, clean, well appointed and the he bed is very comfortable and featured with $500 Donna Sharp hand sewn quilt sets. In addition, the deck is inviting, the hot tub is romantic and the grounds are manicured. The amenities are well thought out and our guest service is freindly and proffesional.
As for entering into the kitchen, this is the layout that best suits most folks and as for the bathroom, the separate large vanity doubles the size of most baths.
The kitchen has a microwave, toaster oven, 2 burner stove top, coffee maker with coffee, sugar and creamer, toaster and all dishes, pots and pans for cooking anything you like. We would appreciate you letting us now what else we should be equipping our kitchens with, as we are always looking to improve our offering to guests.
The love seat does not make into a bed and is steam cleaned regulary and replaced as they wear, so unless there was something specific we once again are not sure to what you are referring.
Once again we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we really do work diligently every single day to maintain the quality that Shadow Mountain Lodge is famour for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Couldn't be happier! Stayed in one of the cabins for four nights. Quiet, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Only down side was that Pena's restaurant appears to be closed, so we couldn't walk to breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful words. Our staff takes great pride in the cleanliness and condition of our cabins. They really are special. We are so glad that you had such a relaxing time. And yes, we understand that when the Pena's take a vacation a piece of Ruidoso goes with them. We dread that time of year ourselves! But, it is an opportunity to explore some of Ruidoso's other cool breakfast options. Come again anytime....and we promise we will try to make sure that the Pena's are home then! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This property is very outdated, worn out bedding, bath towels etc. Lighting from 1980. Room was clean, grounds are nice but small. WiFi is horrible, so if you plan on working from your computer it will take forever. Not within walking distance to anything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are certainly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We, however, are confused about the review and the issues you mentioned. Since purchasing Shadow Mountain two years ago we have replaced all of our linens with 1800 count sheets, replaced all the bedding with $500/set Donna Sharp hand sewn quilts sets, installed $200 memory foam toppers on all of the beds, replaced all of our art work with mountain themed pieces, replaced all the televisions with flat screens and dvd players, replaced the old card style entry systems with the new state of the art RIF systems, replaced all of the window treatments with wood blinds and mountain valances, replaced all of the towels and face cloths and maintain these regularly as they do suffer from constant use. We also painted all of the rooms, upgraded our wi-fi with a state of the art system from Charter along with boosters which allows for streaming of movies, as you can see from other reviews. In addition, we also replaced the boiler system, replaced all the cookware and installed a brand new $25000 custom hot tub. The grounds are 1/8 of a mile in length and filled with seating areas, a fire table, a water feature and benches meant for sitting and taking in the natural environment that surrounds the entire property. As far as not close to anything, uptown starts across the street from us at Pena's restaurant and within a block the art galleries, coffee shops and other venues begin, and continue on down through mid town. Many of our guests walk everywhere they want to go, enjoying the chance to stroll through our beautiful town in the cool mountain air. We know that we cannot please everyone and are very sorry that you fell into that category, it was certainly not our desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was the second time my husband and I stayed in one of the cabins at Shadow Mountain and again we had an excellent time. The cabin was very clean and had everything you could want including a jacuzzi tub, very comfortable bed, nice little kitchenette, DVD player with rotating TV, great fireplace, and visiting hummingbirds! The excellent customer service comment was prompted by having two problems solved very quickly. Our toaster quit working while we were there for 3 nights and the furnace was either on full blast or off entirely. We reported the problems to the management. They apologized and brought us a new toaster and fixed the problem with the furnace sometime while we were out catching our limit in trout (about 3 hours.) Small things happen whether you are at home or away with no warning, the key to their good customer service was that once aware of the problem, they took care of both problems quickly. We will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We strive for excellence and we are so pleased that our staff responded to your needs. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ruidoso
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.