We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This property is very outdated, worn out bedding, bath towels etc. Lighting from 1980. Room was clean, grounds are nice but small. WiFi is horrible, so if you plan on working from your computer it will take forever. Not within walking distance to anything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are certainly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We, however, are confused about the review and the issues you mentioned. Since purchasing Shadow Mountain two years ago we have replaced all of our linens with 1800 count sheets, replaced all the bedding with $500/set Donna Sharp hand sewn quilts sets, installed $200 memory foam toppers on all of the beds, replaced all of our art work with mountain themed pieces, replaced all the televisions with flat screens and dvd players, replaced the old card style entry systems with the new state of the art RIF systems, replaced all of the window treatments with wood blinds and mountain valances, replaced all of the towels and face cloths and maintain these regularly as they do suffer from constant use. We also painted all of the rooms, upgraded our wi-fi with a state of the art system from Charter along with boosters which allows for streaming of movies, as you can see from other reviews. In addition, we also replaced the boiler system, replaced all the cookware and installed a brand new $25000 custom hot tub. The grounds are 1/8 of a mile in length and filled with seating areas, a fire table, a water feature and benches meant for sitting and taking in the natural environment that surrounds the entire property. As far as not close to anything, uptown starts across the street from us at Pena's restaurant and within a block the art galleries, coffee shops and other venues begin, and continue on down through mid town. Many of our guests walk everywhere they want to go, enjoying the chance to stroll through our beautiful town in the cool mountain air. We know that we cannot please everyone and are very sorry that you fell into that category, it was certainly not our desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
148
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Artesia, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was the second time my husband and I stayed in one of the cabins at Shadow Mountain and again we had an excellent time. The cabin was very clean and had everything you could want including a jacuzzi tub, very comfortable bed, nice little kitchenette, DVD player with rotating TV, great fireplace, and visiting hummingbirds! The excellent customer service comment was prompted by having two problems solved very quickly. Our toaster quit working while we were there for 3 nights and the furnace was either on full blast or off entirely. We reported the problems to the management. They apologized and brought us a new toaster and fixed the problem with the furnace sometime while we were out catching our limit in trout (about 3 hours.) Small things happen whether you are at home or away with no warning, the key to their good customer service was that once aware of the problem, they took care of both problems quickly. We will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We strive for excellence and we are so pleased that our staff responded to your needs. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a nice place to stay for a couples retreat. We had our 3yr old with us so not as relaxing, but I hope to stay here the next time the hubby and I visit. The room was nice and clean and felt homey. The lodge is located near a lot of other cabins but I was surprised at how quiet the area was. The garden area is well kept and our son was able to enjoy easter egg hunting. Sudderth St is within walking distance, if you don't mind walking, and there are plenty of restaurant options as well as shops.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. WE work very hard to insure every visit is memorable. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Pulling up to the lodge I could tell it was going to be a great vacation. The owners are very friendly and were very helpful in explaining how to get places and what there was to do in ruidoso. The lodge we stayed in was very clean and we loved the decorations. They put a lot of effort into making it into a one of a kind mountain experience. The hot tub was very relaxing, especially after a long day of skiing and adventuring. And the fireplace in the room along with the complimentary fire logs were also very relaxing at the end of the day. They say you get what you pay for, and this lodge/experience was worth every penny!! I definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We continue to strive to make every visit enjoyable and memorable. So happy to see that we were able to live up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the Valentine's Day weekend at Shadow Mountain Lodge. We loved our stay. We always do! The hosts, Sheila and Chris, treated us like family and made us feel welcome. The lodge is well taken care of and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The lodge is set in the whispering pines of Ruidoso, and views from all around the lodge are beautiful. We couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Welcome back! SO happy that your visit was excellent again. We work hard to make the lodge comfortable and plan to continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This lodge is one of quite a few but we are glad we chose this one. The hot tub was a community hot tub but no one was ever there. We went in the first week of January, arriving on a Sunday. That was perfect timing. They were also great about connecting us with ski and snowboard gear as well as lift tickets.

They don't have a restaurant but the location was perfect for a variety of restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for the kind review. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend trip and had an amazing time. Shelia was extremely helpful when we were checking in. She helped us get a great deal on ski rental and lift tickets. Saved us about $65 total. The room was great. The bed was amazing. I usually don't sleep well in hotels but the beds had a memory foam mattress and it was great!!! Will definitely be going back and would recommend the lodge for everyone!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are so please that we were able to make your stay memorable. Drop back next time your in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.