We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Great Stay at Shadow Mountain with Excellent Customer Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Artesia, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second Great Stay at Shadow Mountain with Excellent Customer Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was the second time my husband and I stayed in one of the cabins at Shadow Mountain and again we had an excellent time. The cabin was very clean and had everything you could want including a jacuzzi tub, very comfortable bed, nice little kitchenette, DVD player with rotating TV, great fireplace, and visiting hummingbirds! The excellent customer service comment was prompted by having two problems solved very quickly. Our toaster quit working while we were there for 3 nights and the furnace was either on full blast or off entirely. We reported the problems to the management. They apologized and brought us a new toaster and fixed the problem with the furnace sometime while we were out catching our limit in trout (about 3 hours.) Small things happen whether you are at home or away with no warning, the key to their good customer service was that once aware of the problem, they took care of both problems quickly. We will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We strive for excellence and we are so pleased that our staff responded to your needs. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
150
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a nice place to stay for a couples retreat. We had our 3yr old with us so not as relaxing, but I hope to stay here the next time the hubby and I visit. The room was nice and clean and felt homey. The lodge is located near a lot of other cabins but I was surprised at how quiet the area was. The garden area is well kept and our son was able to enjoy easter egg hunting. Sudderth St is within walking distance, if you don't mind walking, and there are plenty of restaurant options as well as shops.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. WE work very hard to insure every visit is memorable. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Pulling up to the lodge I could tell it was going to be a great vacation. The owners are very friendly and were very helpful in explaining how to get places and what there was to do in ruidoso. The lodge we stayed in was very clean and we loved the decorations. They put a lot of effort into making it into a one of a kind mountain experience. The hot tub was very relaxing, especially after a long day of skiing and adventuring. And the fireplace in the room along with the complimentary fire logs were also very relaxing at the end of the day. They say you get what you pay for, and this lodge/experience was worth every penny!! I definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We continue to strive to make every visit enjoyable and memorable. So happy to see that we were able to live up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the Valentine's Day weekend at Shadow Mountain Lodge. We loved our stay. We always do! The hosts, Sheila and Chris, treated us like family and made us feel welcome. The lodge is well taken care of and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The lodge is set in the whispering pines of Ruidoso, and views from all around the lodge are beautiful. We couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Welcome back! SO happy that your visit was excellent again. We work hard to make the lodge comfortable and plan to continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This lodge is one of quite a few but we are glad we chose this one. The hot tub was a community hot tub but no one was ever there. We went in the first week of January, arriving on a Sunday. That was perfect timing. They were also great about connecting us with ski and snowboard gear as well as lift tickets.

They don't have a restaurant but the location was perfect for a variety of restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for the kind review. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend trip and had an amazing time. Shelia was extremely helpful when we were checking in. She helped us get a great deal on ski rental and lift tickets. Saved us about $65 total. The room was great. The bed was amazing. I usually don't sleep well in hotels but the beds had a memory foam mattress and it was great!!! Will definitely be going back and would recommend the lodge for everyone!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are so please that we were able to make your stay memorable. Drop back next time your in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My hubby and I stayed two nights in a beautiful little cabin with hot tub, kitchen, fireplace, lazy-boy loveseat, very comfy bed, swiveling TV, lovely woodwork, all updated...a perfect place for us to recover after a day of skiing. They have a new Jacuzzi in the courtyard gazebo, but we were too beat to leave the cozy room. Our price $175/night. arranged for the lift tickets and ski rentals thru the office making it easy and convenient and at good prices. ski rentals thru Wild West ski shop excellent...see Chris. Skied only one day, totally wore us out, but it was fantastic. A beginners mountain perfect for my hubby with enough blues to keep me busy, too. We definitely want a repeat of this great little vacation, except for my altitude sickness (drove from San Antonio).

Room Tip: The cabin is worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
So glad we fulfilled your expectations and that you were able to ski. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B and Venere so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.