We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place we stay in Ruidoso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$99 Lodge weekday Special
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Salt Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only place we stay in Ruidoso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the Valentine's Day weekend at Shadow Mountain Lodge. We loved our stay. We always do! The hosts, Sheila and Chris, treated us like family and made us feel welcome. The lodge is well taken care of and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The lodge is set in the whispering pines of Ruidoso, and views from all around the lodge are beautiful. We couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Welcome back! SO happy that your visit was excellent again. We work hard to make the lodge comfortable and plan to continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
150
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This lodge is one of quite a few but we are glad we chose this one. The hot tub was a community hot tub but no one was ever there. We went in the first week of January, arriving on a Sunday. That was perfect timing. They were also great about connecting us with ski and snowboard gear as well as lift tickets.

They don't have a restaurant but the location was perfect for a variety of restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for the kind review. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend trip and had an amazing time. Shelia was extremely helpful when we were checking in. She helped us get a great deal on ski rental and lift tickets. Saved us about $65 total. The room was great. The bed was amazing. I usually don't sleep well in hotels but the beds had a memory foam mattress and it was great!!! Will definitely be going back and would recommend the lodge for everyone!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are so please that we were able to make your stay memorable. Drop back next time your in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My hubby and I stayed two nights in a beautiful little cabin with hot tub, kitchen, fireplace, lazy-boy loveseat, very comfy bed, swiveling TV, lovely woodwork, all updated...a perfect place for us to recover after a day of skiing. They have a new Jacuzzi in the courtyard gazebo, but we were too beat to leave the cozy room. Our price $175/night. arranged for the lift tickets and ski rentals thru the office making it easy and convenient and at good prices. ski rentals thru Wild West ski shop excellent...see Chris. Skied only one day, totally wore us out, but it was fantastic. A beginners mountain perfect for my hubby with enough blues to keep me busy, too. We definitely want a repeat of this great little vacation, except for my altitude sickness (drove from San Antonio).

Room Tip: The cabin is worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
So glad we fulfilled your expectations and that you were able to ski. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cabin 301 for 3 nights in June and had the most wonderful time! The cabin was absolutely clean and well appointed. The grounds were gorgeous, full of flowers that time of year and of course the hummingbirds, deer, and other wildlife kept us on the lookout for the natural entertainment that awaited us! We caught trout at Grindstone Reservoir and made dinner using the outdoor grill for the fish and all the other dishes in our cabin's kitchen. We also used the kitchen for breakfast and to pack picnic lunches when we went hiking. We ate dinner at some great restaurants downtown. The cabin was cozy and perfect for a romantic getaway for us and we will plan a return visit in 2014, in fact I am looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Nice! Isn't it great when you can take in the entire offering that Ruidoso presents. Hiking, fishing, dining, wildlife. We look forward to having you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The cabin with a fireplace was perfect for a cold December night. The bed was comfortable and the place was clean and roomy. Sheila at the front desk was very helpful. She knew a lot about the history of the area. She helped direct us to restaurants and gave us a suggestion for a wonderful back road trip to Santa Fe. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come again any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great location, walking distance to the shops & restaurants, and the staff was very friendly & attentive. We stayed in Cabin 301 due to comments previously & were absolutely pleased, it was equipped with everything you could need. The bed was very comfortable & the reclining loveseat was nice to watch TV & enjoy the fire below. There was a little restaurant across the street called Pena's and the breakfast food was great! I'm sure all of it is good. Throughout the day, the deer would graze on the Lodge grounds & the owners even gave us food so we could feed them out of our hands. It was an amazing site to see. Also, across the street from the Lodge is a nice mountain stream, great for picture taking. I also peaked in the Lodge rooms & they were really nice so I would probably stay in one of them if I ever went back. The grounds were very nice & decorated for Christmas & we were there in mid November so it was nice. I would highly recommend this place to stay & any of the rooms would be great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Reviews like this are warming and we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.