We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Having been staying in motels on our tour for 10 days, we fancied something different, and this place scored highly on Trip-advisor. We took pot luck and turned up, fell in love with it and were pleased we could book a cabin for 3 nights. The cabin was faultless and on sitting out on the veranda the first evening, to have a deer wander past us through the pine trees was idyllic. We could easily stroll to various good restaurants within 15-20 minutes. But the best memory is of the friendliness and helpfulness of the two owners and the main assistant. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Was awesome having you here. Thank for sharing your vacation with us! Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    31
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Ruidoso for over 40 years and have stayed in too many places to list. This is the best place we've ever stayed there and we will be making it the only place we stay from now on. The rooms are extremely clean, very inviting and comfortable. The porch and location are just added bonuses. The only reason I didn't give it a five on value is because I would like to pay a little less but I can't find one negative thing to say about this gem. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
So glad that you found us! We love to host nice folks like you and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been going to Shadow Mountain for years. It is our go to place to get out of the heat and sit on the pourch. The new owners are are very friendy and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Always great to have you folks here. We were sitting on the deck last night and it never gets old. 2 Elk and a deer walked through. See ya next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the lodge the rooms were beautiful and very cozy and clean, we had a kitchen and even a fireplace. The king size bed was so soft and comfortable the courtyard was heaven. We will never stay any other place. We will be back ! Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you! We work hard to insure every stay is memorable. So glad we succeeded. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snyder, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the night of May 18th. It was wonderful! We didn't have a whole lot of time to spend on the grounds, but what we did have, we thoroughly enjoyed. The owners, Marilyn and Chuck are so hospitable and very full of information. It was a great stay, and they made it even better!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We truly enjoy when guests appreciate our place. Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay. I've been going to Ruidoso NM for almost twenty years and never really knew what I was missing until I stayed at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins. It's beautiful, peaceful, clean and the rooms have everything you could need. The fireplace and reclining lazy chairs were an extra treat. Definately recomend !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for the review. We too are happy that you finally found us! Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent three enjoyable nights at Shadow Mountain, in one of the main lodge's rooms. Our accommodations were most comfortable, and much more than a simple motel room, with small living area and a well-appointed kitchenette. A large porch surrounds the lodge complex, providing a grand place to enjoy sitting and watching the hummingbirds at the many feeders.
If you are a disc golf enthusiast, Shadow Mountain is just a few minutes from Grindstone Disc Golf Course, which has to be one of the most technically challenging courses in the country. Not to worry if you are a novice, however, as you will have a great time figuring out how to get from the tee to the basket both with your disc and your body.
Shadow Mountain's location is convenient, with restaurants just down the road and casinos not too far away.
I highly recommend Shadow Mountain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
So glad that you liked our place. And yes, its convenience to all amenities is one of Shadow Mountain's wonderful features. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list