We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and quiet place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Save Saved
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
East New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Serene and quiet place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the best place to stay in ruidoso for couples! It is off the beat & path (not on main road through town) & the owners have thought of everything; the room is homey and has every amenity you will need. You can sit on front porch & watch the deer; they are quite abundant. If you want a nice, quiet, & peaceful stay, then this is the place plus more. Beds are super comfortable and lush! I will be returning & recommending this lodge/cabins to anyone & everyone. I stayed here over 15 years ago & will say this time is even better.. Also, feel free to bring your pet, they will provide sheets to put over bed & couch plus oversized towel for wiping their feet.... A+++++++..... Stay here for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for the great review! You clearly appreciate what we are all about. But, don't wait another 15 years before you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
149
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We came to Shadow Mountain for our honeymoon. The cabin was beautiful and secluded. The landscaping was pretty. We enjoyed watching the deer each day. We took advantage of the bbq to cook steaks and enjoyed the hot tub. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful words. We are so glad you chose us for your special occasion. Also glad you used the Weber grill center. We installed it for folks just like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I had a very romantic getaway at one of the cabins on the property. It was warm, cozy and had all the amenities, including a two person jacuzzi tub! Chuck and Marilyn was gracious hosts, but we never had to contact them because everything we needed was already in the cabin. We would definitely recommend Shadow Mountain Lodge as the best place to stay in Ruidoso, New Mexico!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Manager at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Special occasions deserve special accommodations. So very happy you chose ours! Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful rooms with a beautiful landscape. Owners very nice and answered any questions we had on day trips and best places to eat. We plan to go back one day. Rooms are very clean and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Great to have you with us and we sure hope you do make it back this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Pretty grounds. Good upkeep. Friendly staff. We stayed in cabin 304 and it was perfect! Enjoyed the fireplace and porch for morning coffee and bird watching. Deer in our front yard daily and our dog really liked watching them. Close to town/shops/eating. I would definitely stay here again!! The only thing I can suggest is for housekeeping to dust a little more, especially the ceiling fans and blinds but other than that it is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for the nice thing you had to say! Sorry about the dusting. Our girls are getting used to us as new owners and learning our standards. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el reno, ok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have stayed here many times, brought friends with us and now enjoyed bringing our daughter and son in law for the Cowboy Symposium. This is our favorite place we have ever stayed...4 nights....so convenient, comfortable and beautiful grounds that make sitting on the porch with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine our favorite thing to do! Every convenience...icemaker, hot tub, firepit, coffee pot and full kitchen....fireplace and king beds...perfect !!! The location is wonderful....so easy and no high roads. We'll never stay anywhere else....thanks Marilyn, Chuck and Ranger for a beautiful place!!!!

Room Tip: the lodge rooms are a great value!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
What a treat having you folks stay with us. It makes the hard work worthwhile!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in a cabin, which was small and cozy but extremely clean and very comfortable. It's setting is just on the edge of the commercial area of Ruidoso so everything was very convenient. The new owners had lots of good recommendations for restaurants. We spent most of our time touring the surrounding area, so the only meal we cooked in the cabin was our breakfasts. There is a 2 burner stovetop, small fridge, microwave, coffeepot and toaster, and enough kitchen, cooking and eating equipment for basic needs. These cabins and lodge rooms are limited to adults and really are not suitable OR large enough for families with children.

Lot of deer and wildlife which we enjoyed while sitting on the porch after a long day of being tourists.

Ruidoso is one of my favorite areas, and we would not hesitate to recommend this lodge and cabins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We love our rooms, but our cabins are something special to be sure. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.