We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited Ruidoso, NM for six days to escape the heat in Texas. This lodge is under new ownership. Chuck and Marilyn were excellent hosts. We stayed in cabin 304 rather than one of the lodge rooms. The cabin was small but certainly adequate for our needs. We had some friends join us overnight and they stayed in room 109 of the lodge. Both the cabin and the room were very clean. The lodge room was slightly larger but did not have the privacy that the cabin offered. The entire staff was very friendly as was everybody we met in town. The grounds of Shadow Mountain Lodge were manicured to perfection. From the street, this place was head shoulders above the other lodge and cabins in the area. Most of the others looked pretty old and run down. The lodge is only a mile or two from the main business district. I have no problem recommending a stay at this lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for the great review. It is a pleasure to offer Shadow Mountain Lodge to folks who appreciate how special it really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    37
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
168
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After searching at the last minute for a place to stay in Ruidoso, we were fortunate enough to find Shadow Mountain and were very pleasantly surprised with the accomodations and atmosphere. The garden is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were clean, cozy and quite comfortable. This is a place I look forward to visiting again and for much longer next time! Kudos to the owners for providing such a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the warm review. We are only happy when our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our first visit to Ruidoso and my wife and I loved staying at the Shadow Mountain Lodge. Beautiful room with a kitchen. Our room overlooked a gorgeous garden.

Reasonable rate for the quality and beauty of the place. Marilyn, one of the owners, was super helpful. I'd highly recommend that you stay here. I would stay at the lodge rather than the cabins, because the garden is right outside your front door and you can mingle with other guests if you liike. Jim and Susan Clark, Abilene, Texas

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the warm review. The gardens are as therapeutic for us as they are for our guests. They truly are a labor of love and we are so happy that you enjoyed them. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Have been spending a week there each year for the past 15 or so. It was perfect in every regard every time we came. This time it was even better. I have run out of adjectives. The new owners live on site and care for every need. The staff have been there forever and treat us like family. the rooms are huge with kitchen and fireplace. There have been days where I would go out on the porch for my first cup of coffee and just spend the day there reading and relaxing...just the hummingbirds and me. If you just want to relax and tune out the world, this is the place. And great shopping and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter...all rooms are the same and perfect. Some are nearer to the hot tub and some nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks Glenn! You guys were simply awesome. Loving the book you left for us! Looking forward to next year already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the day we left a week later, this was nothing but a positive experience. There were 8 couples and a great week of relaxing, fellowship and fun. Description: quiet, small/quaint, centrally located yet a little off the beaten path, friendly staff willing to accomodate any way possible to make our stay a great one. This was our 16th year to stay at Shadow Mountain and it just gets better and better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for the great review Nancy! You are the guests that all Lodgers dream of. Self sufficient, generous as all get out and just a little crazy! :-) Can't wait till next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed an updated but rustic style cabin one night and a lodge room for three nights. The real stars here are the beautiful gardens with flowers identified, beautiful bird baths, maybe 50 hummingbird feeders as well as regular bird feeders. The two chairs and coffee table in front of each cabin and room at the lodge encourage community visiting or privacy as you wish. As this is on the upper canyon road but within walking distance of town the temperature stayed in the 70s even at the end of July. We read, watched the dozens of hummers, even deer meandering through the gardens to take a bite of shasta daisies at times. The kitchen was even stocked with delicious coffee and a large pot. At night we had lazy boy recliners for watching television and reading. The fireplace would be really nice in the cooler seasons. The owners are extremely nice and helpful.

Room Tip: All the lodge rooms would be equally nice. The four cabins are heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
When folks soak up the Shadow Mountain Lodge experience it becomes obvious. Thank you, this review absolutely nailed it! (We need to start charging extra for "Deck Time". ;-)) Ruidoso is such a wonderful place and the ability to relax, yet still be so close to all that the Village offers, is quite unique to Shadow Mountain Lodge. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We've stayed here for 15 years or so, but have not been here since the new owners. The place is as great as ever and they are both very friendly. This place is quiet,clean, and a short walk from town. You can't go wrong here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Wonderful review and we were glad to host ya'll!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.