We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable mountain fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins to your Saves list
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfortable mountain fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for three nights in one of the lodges. In the past we have always stayed in a hotel. Never again! Shadow Mountain will be my new home. The room is decorated in a bear motif with a nice Donna Sharp quilt on one of the most comfortable king beds I have ever slept in. The room, although not new, was spotless. Everything you need is there for two, even wine glasses. No need to bring a thing. The grounds are nicely manicured and it is quite peaceful sitting out on the front porch any time of day. The air conditioner worked very well and the ceiling fan above the bed was a nice touch. The owners were very helpful. We wanted to go on a hike and they told us about a great trail just a short 2 minute drive away at the end of Perk Canyon Road. The location is close to everything. A short mile walk will get you into Uptown and it's a shrt drive up Meachem to the ski and scenic areas. We took a day trip to White Sands. It is about an hour drive, but is a great sight to behold. You have to sled down the dunes. I know why this place is in the top ratings of trip advisor!

Room Tip: We loved the lodge. It had an enormous king bed. The cabins have queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We just love it when good folks like these enjoy everything there is to Shadow Mountain Lodge and the Ruidoso area. There is just so much to do and see here and making SML home base makes such good sense. Even if we do say so ourselves! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    40
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
177
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, clean, well maintained, and friendly. Enjoyed relaxing on the front porch and walks around the grounds. Have to get back soon. This was our 46th wedding anniverary and the best place to spend it

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Happy anniversary! We are so thrilled that Shadow Mountain Lodge was able to play a role in making it special for you. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We think the granddaughter has potential to be a successful businesswoman--very efficient!

extremely relaxing sitting out on the porch

room 117--toaster/oven has temperature knob missing

pretty place with all the plants and birds

We took morning walks around the Upper Canyon--quite pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
You made an 11 year old's summer with the compliment. She was so determined to understand how this business operated that all we could do was stand back and let her take over! So sorry about the toaster oven missing a knob. Still finding a few time bombs after only 4 months in, but happy to report that a brand new unit was installed the very day you let us know. Thank you for that! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoka, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 2 quiet, comfortable nights in this quaint lodge that offers all the amenities listed on the website. We took advantage of the covered porch and enjoyed the immaculately landscaped property. We rented 2 movies from the "honors system" movie rental on the back porch of the office. They even offer extra fire logs on the same system! It was so nice to stay in such a trusting environment! It is reassuring to deal with people who have such an authentic nature! It gives me great confidence they are honest and trustworthy as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We were humbled by this wonderful review and you're right, it is nice to deal with people that you can trust. (Our movies are meant to offer just a little extra and the $2 each goes right toward buying more movies and we are both surprised and happy that so many guests utilize them) So glad you stayed with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was not sure what to expect as this was a last minute trip and I was basing myself on the website. The website was accurate in EVERYTHING that was stated and more. Price was great and all the amenities that were stated were available.

The location was easy to locate and the grounds were neat and clean. We also appreciated the quiet and restful atmosphere of the lodge.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, they are everything they say they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for the review. Our web site was designed and built by us because we wanted it to reflect the property accurately and to be as easy to use as possible. Clearly we succeeded...yes! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Shadow Mountain for one night on an overnight anniversary trip and LOVED it! We were actually a little sad to leave. The cabin we stayed in was clean, quiet, and cozy. The bed was SO comfortable. The property itself is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and polite. We have absolutely no complaints and are recommending these cabins to everyone. One small word of caution that is not at all the lodge's fault- your GPS may have no idea where the lodge is, so make sure you know where you are going, or you may end up at Walmart, like we did. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for the great review. It is for folks like you that we work as hard as we do! Also, thanks for the GPS comment. We have been working on this for 8 years with absolutely no success. Shame on Google!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed our week's stay at Shadow Mountain. There's something about sitting on a front porch at 7,000 feet elevation listening to the wind in the pine trees, watching the deer devour the owner's roses and laughing at the hummingbirds protecting their sugar water. Waking to 50 degree temp and smelling the neighborhood log fires just makes you want to curl up in bed and let the world wait on you for a change....
Dave & Jackie Austin
Georgetown, TX

Room Tip: The room numbers start on the right of the lodges. Pick a low number that will give you a gentle bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
"Let the world wait on you for a change" What a great line and it sums up the Shadow Mountain Lodge experience perfectly! Great having you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Sierra Blanca
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#5 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.