We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but cookie cutter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown to your Saves list
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Chase Street, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save 10%
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
GreenLeadersBronze level
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice but cookie cutter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel Ruidoso is a normal go anywhere chain hotel. Nice and clean but not interesting at all. Close to downtown shopping and restaurants. Not in the middle of it all but walking distance. We stayed while it was snowing. The hotel did not salt the parking lot or sidewalks and therefor in the morning the parking lot was horrible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. Hotel Ruidoso is an independently owned hotel that is not affiliated with any franchise hotel. Our hotel was designed by an architect and not by using a preconfigured design from a franchise. Our maintenance staff regularly salts the exterior of hotel when the conditions warrant salting. If by chance it snows during the night we salt the exterior first thing in the morning. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by snowfall during the night. We will continue to try to salt the exterior as early as possible if snowfall occurs during the night. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
40
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel was awesome clean friendly an the room wasvery clean as well. The gym was perfect an the pool an hot tub as well. The breakfast was always so wonderful an made to order. Everything was the best!

Room Tip: Location is perfect right at the airport loved the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Our goal is to make every guest experience as best as possible. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Ruidoso in Ruidoso, NM. The first night we had wi-fi until around 9 p.m. and HBO. We did not have any wi-fi service any where in the building until about 9 a.m. two days later! We also didn't have HBO service the second night. When we requested some kind of compensation for this lack, we were told by the manager, Becky Atwood, that she had offered to move us to a different room, even though my husband tried unsuccessfully in each wing and the main lobby to find wi-fi service! Then she tried to tell him that it was the fault of our iPad, which we have used successfully in EVERY other hotel we have visited in the country!! Basically, she was rude and uncooperative. We will NEVER stay in the Hotel Ruidoso again, and frankly are glad that it is a one-hotel chain!! The pool and hot tub were also over chlorinated!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your stay. I apologize for the issues you encountered. We had problems reported of wi-fi being out in certain parts of the building. We have a tech support company that over looks our wi-fi system 24x7. In their investigation they found 2 access points were not functioning. We have commercial grade equipment which is not avilable locally so it had to be shipped in. Both access points are fixed. We tried the lobby area with this guests ipad and we were successful in getting wi-fi in the lobby on the guest's own equipment. Therefore, it was determined the guests room was in the area with the malfunctioning equipment. As per policy we offered to move you to a room which had wi-fi functioning and was not impacted by malfunctioning equipment. However, the guest declined the offer to move rooms. We apologize for the equipment malfunctioning however, that was out of the control of the hotel. We also have a business center which offers a computer and high speed internet which was not impacted by any malfunction. This guest was informed of the avilability of business center. When the guest informed us of the HBO not working in their room we checked the lobby, fitness center, and a few rooms to see if HBO was working. It was working in those areas and we had no other customer tell us regarding issues of HBO not working. Once again we offered to move the guest but they declined. HBO not working was not duplicated in any area. Our maintenance staff also checked the room this guest occupied on the next day and HBO was functioning properly. We could not duplicate this problem. Our pool and spa are checked on a daily basis by a pool certified maintenance engineer. The chemicals and temperature are kept at a level outlined by our state pool inspector. We also did not have any other customer tell us our pool was over chlorinated. We aplogize for the issues. We tried our best to alleviate those problems by offering a different room however, that request was declined. At no point was anyone of our staff members or the GM rude to this customer. That is strictly against company policy. Our goal is to make each customer experience as best as possible. I apologize we were not given that oppurtunity by offering a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel has a great location, right at Midtown, a walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Hotel was very clean, bed was comfortable, gym had all the main stuff, pool and jacuzzi were awesome! I checked the breakfast, it was the traditional continental breakfast but with some additional selections like freshly baked biscuits, tried that and tasted great and all breakfast looked really good. Almost considered having breakfast there instead but we want to experience a great breakfast everyone talks about it in town (Cornerstone Bakery and Café).

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01-07 face the main street and have the best views of the city/hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. Our location allows our guests to experience midtown shopping and entertainment district without the use of their car. We do offer a hot breakfast with eggs, breakfast meat, biscuits and gravy along with other items. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The best hotel by far to stay at when visiting Ruidoso. The location is absolutely perfect and central to many quaint shops and eateries. The staff that served my family and I were absolutely perfect and accommodating. A special shoutout to Justin and checked us in and to the young man who worked the front desk Saturday afternoon and evening of November 16! We have stayed at other hotels in Ruidoso and found this hotel earlier this year. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments and great feeback. Our goal is to make the guest experience as best as possible for all of our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This recently renovated Hotel is located right in the heart of the very Scenic and Historical Vacation Village of Ruidoso. You can park your car and spend endless hours visiting the local craft,gift and antique shops throughout the town. When finished shopping and visiting the Historical sights you will find lots of small town eateries and Restaurants with a great variety of food offerings for all . Skiing in Winter and Golf in Summer....great Recreation available.
The Hotel is clean and inexpensive ,especially in the off season, beginning in October, when you can expect some spectacular sunny beautiful days! Breakfast is included and free Wi-Fi is provided in the rooms. Easy and safe parking at no extra cost is included. Don't forget to negotiate the price directly with the Hotel in the off season especially if staying multiple days. They match other Hotels prices if they are lower. All in all a very good 3 Star accomadation.

Room Tip: All rooms are non smoking. The lower level rooms, although easy to access, can be noisy if the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. Our location is indeed in the most beautiful part of Ruidoso Midtown area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had the opportunity to host a small conference at this hotel a couple of summers ago and the staff was most helpful, the atmosphere was very nice and it was the perfect size for a group of about 50 people. There is plenty to do in the area so it made it the perfect place for a destination conference location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad you were able to use our conference faciliy. The onsite facility is perfect for 50 yo 60 people. If someone needs a larger space there is another facility that is large enough for up to 300 people that is within walking distance. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Address: 110 Chase Street, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Ruidoso and Ruidoso Down, NM. Stay in midtown. Walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and lounges. 32 inch LCD TV with 4 HBO channels, referigerator, microwave in all rooms. Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry, Free HOT Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Spa, Free High Speed wired and wireless internet and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ruidoso Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.