We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Chase Street, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice on weekend trips. Both times we've been very satisfied with the hotel stay. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. The beds are wonderful. We also really liked the location of the hotel. It is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The only downside was that their Internet was down during one of our stays. Other than that, we've had a great time during both of our stays. We enjoyed the indoor pool and the complimentary breakfast was good. We Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
35
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We booked a 2 night stay for october and on arrival loved the hotel. Its very clean and all fittings/furniture etc in good condition. Its cosy and the bed is extremely comfortable.

But....Our room was one of two that were joined together by connecting doors for families etc, but we were travelling as a couple. The first morning we could hear the people next door as loudly as if they were in our room. They were not being noisy, just talking normally etc but we could hear everything incredibly clearly. There is absolutley no privacy because of this. It woke us early and was quite freaky as I woke up thinking someone had come in to our room

A plus note is that when I asked to be moved to a different room there was none available so the manager arranged a room in another hotel just across the street for no extra charge etc.
Staff are very helpful and friendly which is another reason we are sad to have been moved.

All in all very dissapointing. if you do stay here ask for a room on its own and not one thats seperated by the connecting door and youll probably have a nice stay.

Room Tip: if you do stay here ask for a room on its own and not one thats seperated by the connecting door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Not realizing what "midtown" meant we had some trouble finding this hotel. But we ended up liking the location as it was near the cute downtown area and the 2 restaurants where we ate.
It's a newer property and I found it very nice. The rooms were nicer than average and the beds were very comfortable. It has nice bathrooms too. I did hear the "neighbors" a bit so the walls aren't sound proof.
I was disappointed with the skimpy complimentary breakfast. There are few choices for those who eat only healthy foods (I'm a vegetarian/vegan). The boxed cereals were so skimpy it took 3 of them to make a meal. There weren't even any bananas for the cereal. Other choices included bacon, eggs, bagels, toast and pastries. No waffles or pancakes.
The young man at the desk was unable to suggest any good restaurants but we managed to find 3 not too far from the hotel (one we found on tripadvisor.com). I feel all desk employees should be able to make such suggestions. This "kid" didn't go out of his way to make me feel welcome. I would still recommend this property for it's location and amenities. I have to agree with another reviewer about the carpets in the hallways needing a good cleaning.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the back of the property you may see deer in the yards in the morning. We saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here one night until our condo was available. the location is fabulous. it is on Sudderth , which is the main drag, The Lincoln County Grill restaurant is next door and that is excellent place for dining, breakfast, lunch or dinner. you can walk to many shops from here and of course be at the casino or race track in less than 15 minutes.
Price was reasonable and they have several room configurations which is helpful if traveling with family, they have suites with sofa beds etc. for a few dollars more than regular room. The breakfast will get you started for the day, but next door, about a 2 minute walk is fabulous restaurant with great food all day. Manager even gave us late check out which was nice. Parking area was spacious and well lit, all rooms on inside corridor and they have elevators. Also, had an internet room available with a couple of computers available for free for guests.

Room Tip: booking direct was lower than other web sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room had a nice layout; we had the 2 Q., sofa bed suite. Comfortable and nice living area. Overall we were quite pleased; however, the carpet in the hallways needs a major shampooing. Makes you wonder about the hotel when you see it, but luckily the room was quite clean. We were visiting from Houston and stayed 2 nights; we had family drive down From Albuquerque and stay in a separate room and they were upgraded from a standard to a K. suite, needless to say, they were happy as well. However, on checkout day, we had gone to breakfast with them and arrived back at 10:40 a.m. We asked for an extra 30 minutes for a late check out and we were told that we could not do it. I have never been turned down by a hotel for a few extra minutes; it's not like I asked for several hours! I was disappointed. Breakfast was so,so. The waffles looked good, but I tried for the healthier eggs - they were powdered, yuk. There was enough variety, so I toasted a bagel and had bacon with it...much better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, Owner at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
We apologize that we were not able to accomodate your late check out request. We normally try to accomodate all requests. However, during busy times if the particular room has been rented for the next night we sometimes have guests that want the room right away when they arrive. So we were not able to accomodate your late check out request because we had the room sold for the current day and we had to have the room cleaned in time for the guest that was ready to check in. The hallway carpets are shampooed on a regular basis. Sometimes there will be things spilled in the hallway that might not come out on the first try. We have a schedule to shampoo all hotel carpet which includes hallways, common areas, and rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Unfortunately the overall feel affected our whole weekend in Ruidoso. It wasn't good. Everyone at the desk was grouchy and didn't seem to want to make our stay better. Asked them about a shuttle that was running to a particular destination and actually caught them in a lie. Don't get me started on cleanliness of the room. There was a dirty q tip on the floor that was there our whole stay. I kept thinking surely they wouldn't miss it again, it was there during all of our stay! Yuck! Don't stay here. There's too many places that want your business!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My husband and our young son came to this hotel in May for a quick couple-day get-a-way. Very happy with the price we paid as we got a good deal on Expedia last minute. Parking was a bit tricky since there was construction going on in the parking lot of the hotel. Check-in was easy. We got to our room and I think we ended up getting an accessible room (didn't mind) because of the huge bathroom space and handles in the tub. Had free amenities though we didn't use them since we brought our own stuff. Very good King bed - fit all three of us very comfortably. A sitting area - lounge chair and ottoman - and a desk area, a good size fridge and microwave, and a large flat screen TV were all in the room. They did have excellent free wireless internet service - we had full power in the room at all times. We used the pool as well - in-door, and an accompanying Jacuzzi and bathroom area. Really nice. The fitness room (my husband tried to use it but none of the machines were really in working order). Breakfast ended pretty early each day (9:30am) and had a pretty good variety for continental breakfast and it was free. The staff was super friendly to us, especially one man who would always say hi to our son - who always said hi to him! Location was great - right in mid-town, easy to get everywhere. Next to a really great restaurant that was walking distance - Michelina's - very affordable and tasty Italian food - family-friendly. Only downside was that we could hear the construction vehicles early each morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, Owner at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
The cables were broken on two fo the fitness center machines. One of the cable has already been replaced. The second cable was on back order so it will be replaced as soon as it is received. The cables are not avilable locally so they take some time to receive and install. We are working hard to bring the fitness center back up to normal standards. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Address: 110 Chase Street, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Ruidoso and Ruidoso Down, NM. Stay in midtown. Walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and lounges. 32 inch LCD TV with 4 HBO channels, referigerator, microwave in all rooms. Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry, Free HOT Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Spa, Free High Speed wired and wireless internet and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ruidoso Midtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.