We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse place ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Noisy Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noisy Water Lodge
1013 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty lodging in Ruidoso
texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worse place ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed in August with family and there is a sewer odor on this property. Had trouble with the sink in one bathroom not draining. Owner never did anything about it. The lady owner is rude. Part of our family stayed at the Bearadise Cabin and it was lovely, but it is owned by an individual and the Noisy Water manages it. Our cabin was not clean. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noisywaterlodge, Owner at Noisy Water Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
For the longest time we did not even know about this reporting format. I did write a response about 6 mos. ago, but it did not get printed.

So, a lot of facts have been lost. I do remember I researched this lady's travel stays, and she always stayed at high class hotels. We are rustic cabins. We are in the forest with the trout river next to us. We are log sided. She obviously coveted Bearadise where her other guests were staying as it newly renovated and really is a house. Everyone to their own tastes. She requested a cabin and had to find issue with it. As to a small plumbing problem, that would have been taken care of immediately. It is too long ago to remember any details. As to my wife being rude, she only
tries to make sense of a situation and explains to our valued guests what we can do. for them. We cannot guarantee that we will agree with the complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed here with family in August. We had the Bearadise cabin which is just down the road a bit from the main lodge property. This cabin is lovely. Two bedrooms with very comfy queen sized beds, two baths. The floorplan is very open with lots of windows and a very large deck. We had hummingbirds and deer visit every day. High speed internet was available but wasn't wireless. TV is small but who goes there to watch TV anyway? There is no A/C but we did not need it; just opened the windows at night and turned on the ceiling fans. We looked at a couple of the cabins at the main lodge property for a possible future visit with more people. All of the ones we saw looked run down and outdated. There was also a sewer smell permeating the whole property. Owners were not that helpful with area information and seemed annoyed that we asked for some extra trash bags and paper towels. I would definitely stay at this particular cabin again but would pass on all the others available at Noisy Water.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noisywaterlodge, Owner at Noisy Water Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Noisy Water Lodge is surprised at this reviewer. She likes the cabin she rented, but" down talks" a couple of samples of other cabins that she never stayed in. That is such a disappointing thing. The cabin she stayed in has recently been totally renovated. It actually resembles a house more than a cabin. It has a gas fireplace. We believe she meant well in her comments, but did not understand that our cabins are historical and date from 1939 have real rock fireplaces, and have log sidings (original). They are clean and modern inside with near new appliances and furniture. We believe she is not a "cabin person". Why she wanted to do a review on other cabins she has never stayed in is questionable.

Why she thought we were annoyed with supplying trash bags and paper towels is a mystery to us. We have hundreds of these and hand them out in handfuls. Just something funny she felt , I guess.

As for the sewer smell, I cannot say. Like everyone's cabin, house, etc. we can get unusual downdrafts that carry the sewer smell from the cabin roof pipe to the ground. This happens world wide. Maybe her timing was bad for the atmospheric condition? We do not have a sewer smell, we would remedy it if we did. We have varied accomadations for just about everyone.





.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We found this cabin after an exhaustive search of a cabin that is pet-friendly. We did not book our first choice of their cabins because our dogs would have to have been crated the whole time. We stayed in Pine's Way which is a one bedroom with jacuzzi tub. The cabin was not super clean & we ended up buying our own pillowcases and towels. There was a smell of smoke from the fireplaces & had we planned to use them we might have been worried about the safety. Also, there is a sewer smell but I think the area is still recovering from flood damages to their sewer systems--we also bought scented candles! The jacuzzi tub was nice, the kitchen was clean & worked for the things we needed, the bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed the deck. We also enjoyed how far up & secluded our cabin was. We saw so many places with cabins right on top of each other. We saw deer crossing next to our cabin every night and the area is very peaceful. This place isn't bad as long as you are not expecting a four star resort. Come prepared & flexible.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

We recently stayed 5 days in Ruidoso @ the Noisy Water Lodge in the Upper Canyon of Ruidoso.
The cabin was very clean and fully supplied with all items in the kitchen and throughout the cabin.
The owners were the friendliest folks and even lent my husband and son a fishing pole and bait to fish on the river.
Noisy Water Lodge also has internet service in the cabins (dial-up).
We always look forward to staying @ Noisy Water Lodge for all our trips to Ruidoso.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Thought we were renting a cabin that did not allow pets and smoking not allowed. . Upon checking in, noticed lots of animal hair on couch in living room and ashtrays scattered around the cabin. When I brought this problem to the managers attention, she stated it must be hair from the owners dog. I expect a pet free place to have no animal hair on the premises and I also expect a non smoking facility to not have ashtrays scattered about. Numerous stains on light colored carpet and crumbs on kitchen counter top left behind. Also, sticky substance left on glass end table and wondered about electrical safety as power cords are everywhere, inside and outside of cabin. Don't consider it safe, especially if considering having children around. Pots and pans left to use in cabin are only fit for the trashcan.

On a positive note, the views from rear of cabin are very nice and the area was quite. Cabin is in upper most part of Upper Canyon.

This place needs improvement and should not be rented for 150.00 nightly. Will not recommend it. Very misleading.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noisywaterlodge, Manager at Noisy Water Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear readers of this review,

This was a cabin we rented for an owner, not one of ours. We have numerous "off site" cabins. The owner's father put in new white carpet. Subsequently, renters spotted it in 3 places with somethings I could not get rid of. The 3 spots, (small), were not enough to warrant brand new carpet again. The main thing to know is the carpet is always looked after and clean.

Yes, there are some extension cords, they are not everywhere as overstated. I cannot remember any outside.

Crumbs? I do not know. How terrible is that?

This is a very nice cabin with flat screen TVs in every room. and new furniture. A lovely sliding glass door with great views and a covered sitting area overlooking the Ruidoso River.

There have never been any dogs except the owner's one little dog. The reviewer was upset because she could not bring her own dogs. Ashtrays "scattered about"? No. We put ashtrays for use outside.

Oh yes, we no longer manage this cabin. This review is 5 years old! and should be removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Noisy Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noisy Water Lodge

Address: 1013 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty lodging in Ruidoso
Also Known As:
Noisy Water Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noisy Water Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Noisy Water Lodge to your Saves list