We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashion mexican cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Lupes Family Restaurant

Chef Lupes Family Restaurant
1501 Sudderth Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6106
(505) 257-4687
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 75 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“old fashion mexican cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food is mostly excellent New Mexico style mexican food with lots of very spicy hatch chilis. Service is fast and food fresh.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    9
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“waitress ruined the meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

we were the only ones who did not receive chips and salsa. she came up to us while right after we started eating and said anything else when we said no she threw the check on the table. this would have been fine if that was the norm at this restaurant, but we were the only table being rushed out. too bad for her i am usually a big tipper and this was the first time i left nothing because that is what she deserved. the food was decent but i had to get up and get my own hot-sauce.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“It is okay at two in the morning when you are drunk.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I think the only reason this place stays in business is because all the drunks go there when the bars close.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So so....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Could be better and not very consistent food or service. Chips are sometimes stale and salsa has way to much garlic. Sometimes I get chips and salsa for free and sometimes I am charged and the waitress says they are never free. Atmosphere needs work hot and too many flies.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I had a late lunch at Chef Lupes in Ruidoso. We order combination plates so we could try varieties of New Mexican food. Yummy. The prices are reasonable as well.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Lupes Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chef Lupes Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Lupes Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.