We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who needs good service when the pizza is so good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
2547 Sudderth Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6132
575-257-7746
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 75 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: All of Café Rio’s offerings are made from scratch.Our recipes have been accumulated through years of professional cooking and employ the highest quality ingredients obtainable.We welcome both questions and comments on the origins and ingredients of our preparations.We hope you feel at home and we look forward to your return visit.-The Management and Staff at Café Rio
1 review
“Who needs good service when the pizza is so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Plain and simple the pizza is awesome and the service sucks. Good thing I came here for good pizza and not good service! Cash only"!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    65
    16
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
libbyswin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Some of the best pizza i have ever eaten, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Service sucks. The owners and the cooks treat customers like CRAP. I have eaten here every summer for 15 yrs. I love the pizza. I HATE the restaurant. Dirty, hot (even in ruidoso) and the workers just do not care about the people they are serving. Case in point, we ate there about 8 months ago and a woman and man were waiting outside for a table and I guess they didn't want to wait any longer so they came inside to order a pizza to go. Even I KNEW what they wanted but for some reason the owner wanted to gripe them out for holding up others from getting a table because they now wanted to order thiers to go. I guess because they wanted a 2 top they held up someone else from getting a 6 top because the servers split the tables. so now the 6 top had to wait for others to leave while still having a 2 top available..make sense? BIG deal. they had waited atleast half an hour and didn't want to wait any longer...shouldn't have been an issue, but the owner yelled at the poor woman, who got her husband and then the cook (who i believe is a co-owner) then yelled at. They yelled back and were actually nicer about it then i would have been, but left without thier pizza. Just an example of the crap i've seen for years. They make their own hours to fit their needs, to hell with those expecting them to be open at stated hours. If you need a refill, you better ask because you won't be offered one. THAT BEING SAID...the pizza is pretty much, no it IS, the best I've ever had, and my daddy was from NYC, and I've had some good pizza in my life. Is it worth the attitude...yes, i guess, as long as you don't mind eating ala Sienfield ala SOUP NAZI scenerio :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitan, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our favorite pizza in this neck of the woods Go every chance we can a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Greek salad......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

.......but no gyros. :>( Good pizza. I like the roasted garlic pod. Not fancy. Not pricey. Good place. Friendly service. Fun to watch cook tossing pizza. All in all a good place

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I disliked the wait, but know that good things come to those who wait. We had a mushroom and pepp pizza . Great service and delicious food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.