We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Buttery

Village Buttery
2107 Sudderth Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6122
575-257-9251
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Ruidoso
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is my favorite kind of place to eat when traveling - soups, salads, sandwiches and homemade baked goods! The ham quiche was good and very heavy, the tomato bisque, also tasty and rich. Staff was great, they know how to peddle their desserts - not many escaped without a piece of pie or cookie. Outdoor seating area is nice, order at counter and pay at the counter before leaving (so they can entice you with that cookie). Highly recommend this cafe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    22
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful gluten-free quiche, pie, and soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a wonderful gluten free quiche in the Village Buttery, the first quiche I have had in over twenty years. The hostess told me they purchase the crust from a major food retailer, but the quiche filling (ham and green chilis) was the restaurant's own. It was delicious. I even had a gluten free piece of buttermilk pie. Where else in the world would I get that???

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Mmmmm......good quiche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First time here after many visits to Ruidoso and we've been missing out. The green chili quiche was very good and it was a large slice. It was served with a nice sized green salad. Mom had the chicken salad and said it was good but different. We read so many reviews about the buttermilk pie so we shared a piece and were not disappointed. Will definitely return here. Parking was limited so suggest getting there early.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Don't miss the buttermilk pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The chicken salas sandwich was very good and the salad and the ranch dressing was great. But, nothing comes close to the buttermilk pie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“****10 STARS****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've been eating here for years, and it's always fantastic....Great Value! You can never go wrong with the salad sampler! The best pasta salad and Chicken Salad I've ever had....The jasmine iced tea is fantastic as is the famous buttermilk pie....Love Love Love The Village Buttery....Becky, Elliot, and all the rest of the crew are extremely nice!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Buttery also viewed

 

Been to Village Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Buttery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.