We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Restaurant

Log Cabin Restaurant
1074 Mechem Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7044
575-258-5029
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Ruidoso
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The wait was pretty long, about 30 minutes, but the delicious food made up for it. The pancakes are heavenly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Myself and the family have been coming to the Log Cabin for years and years now, and I feel like it is appropriate to say at this point that we count those at the restaurant as almost family. We originally went for the food, but it's the service that keeps us coming back multiple times during the week. As has been said, you can expect to wait on the weekends, and even some week days, especially during racing season. There isn't anything we have found to be bad, or even remotely not great on the menu. This said, there are some favorite plates that we'll recommend to anyone who we take here. Any "bread" item is great: french toast, pancakes, biscuits. If you stop in randomly, you may get lucky and they may have one of their pancake specials. Around the fall there are sweet potato or pumpkin. In the winter there have been peppermint, and s'mores. Then in the spring you get carrot cake (the absolute BEST). They've switched coffees over the years, with some being better than others, but we think that they've found the right one these days. There are large percentage of plates that come with biscuits and gravy or toast; choose biscuits and gravy. The biscuits are HUGE, and the gravy is delicious with just the right amount of spice behind it. The staff is the cornerstone of this restaurant, though. You can't go wrong with any server. Whether you find yourself with Sherry, Megan, Jessica, Chris, or Chase, you're going to get the sort of caring and family-like service you sometimes really need those early mornings, or those mornings after a night of Quarter or Win-Place-Show. We've had the owner Michelle come check on us multiple times, and even had one of the cooks come out to make sure everything was great more times than we can count. When you see the staff fraternizing like family, it's hard to not try and get in on the action. No matter if you stop in just once, or if you keep coming back (which you'll want to), we think that you'll find the same thing. So, go to Log Cabin, trust me, the wait isn't as bad as it may seem, and you're going to be happy that you did when you see a pancake as big as your head come out of the kitchen on the arm of one of their fantastic servers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extensive Breakfast Menu and Great Pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tons of breakfast items and some gourmet french toast and pancake options. Prices were reasonable $5 - $9. The pancakes were excellent and the homemade biscuits were a hit too. During the week there were a lot of tables. Very crowded on the weekend though. Service was good and clean environment. My only complaint was that the kids juice glasses were about 3 ounces and cost $2 a piece! Other than that it was great!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast. It was great. Eggs benedict was best I've had in years. Our son enjoyed the pancakes as well. He ate it all!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We tried Log Cabin for breakfast on a Sunday morning. It was a bit crowded but we didn't wait long. I was a bit disappointed in the food over all. The resturant is VERY loud we had trouble hearing each other as well as the waitress. Just an OK place to eat. Breakfast for two With coffee (eggs, hashbrowns, sausage) was $30.00. were not cheap but over priced for the quality.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Log Cabin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.