We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grindstone Lake

Grindstone Lake
Grindstone Canyon Rd, Ruidoso, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 Attractions in Ruidoso
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Grindstone Lake is a beautiful lake. You can go fishing and canoeing. It's great just to sit on the banks and look at the beautiful surroundings. We live in a beautiful place. Ruidoso is an oasis in the desert with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. You just have to see it for yourself!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Are you up for a little hike?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Grindstone reservoir is a water supply for the Village of Ruidoso. It is stocked with Rainbow trout. Some say the fishing is pretty good! The Village of Ruidoso and the US Forest Service have teamed together and built a system of trails for bikers, hikers, and horse riders. The ecoservants have done a spectacular job of creating trails that will suit any level of outdoor adventurers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Scenic little mountain lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fair fishing, couple of picnic tables, water is low this year. Easy road access and a great place for a nice walk in the woods.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas/fort worth, tx
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Easy hike with nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed our hike here. Not a difficult hike and a very pleasant scenic one. Several Geocaches in the area which we enjoyed. Portable toilets were amazingly clean and fresh. Parking was right at trail head. We were the only ones on trail and a handful of people were below fishing. A very nice afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Oak, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Try a Hike Near Grindstone Lake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Grindstone Lake is a reservoir supplying the city of Ruidoso. Not the prettiest lake, but wait! There are several awesome trails nearby. The one we took was about 7 miles of hilly, and varied terrain. Beautiful changes of scenery, and flora. There will be mountain biker or two to break the silence but otherwise, a very quiet hike. And of course the mountain biker could be me!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grindstone Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grindstone Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.