We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tina's Cafe

Tina's Cafe
522 Sudderth Drive, Ruidoso, NM
575-257-8930
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Clovis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Awesome service, ambience was very quaint! I had home style potatoes, biscuit and gravy, and green chili. I've been to Ruidoso a few times and found out about Tina's Cafe my last trip and went today before heading back home. I can't wait yo go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never Disappointing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I always eat at Tina's when in Ruidoso. There is love in every bite of the food you get. The tamale plate is excellent and the cinnamon rolls are great for dessert. When they are packed, the service will be a little slow but worth the wait. Just relax and enjoy some truly fine cooking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband took me here for breakfast on our last day in Ruidoso. I had the migas and he had the breakfast burrito. We both had the green chile cream and that stuff was off the hook! Then, we shared a piece of green chile apple pie -the best I ever had. The place is super cute, the service was amazing and the food flawless! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Oaks, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great choice for mom & pop local excellence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Like it best in cold weather months when a fire is roaring. The chile cream sauce on the tamale is wonderful. A locals secret.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, ok service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First time at this place after many trips to Ruidoso. Maybe our expectations were too high after reading all the reviews here. It is a little difficult to spot as it is tucked back off the road and parking was limited. We went for lunch and split the pork puffed pastry. The pastry was good and seemed homemade but I didn't think the pork filling had much flavor or taste. The side salad was very good, with fresh greens, nuts and cranberries. We also shared the signature dessert of green chili apple pie, which was just ok in our opinion. We liked the green chili flavor but it was the apple filling that seemed to be lacking. The service was so-so. The waitress wasn't too forthcoming with suggestions, just said that everything was good. They have daily specials but don't know what they are until that day when the chef comes in. Our waitress seemed to get surly when another server stopped by to clear our dishes and we asked her about the desserts; kind of seemed like we were in the middle of a staff tiff and that kind of turned us off. We will probably try it again, maybe for breakfast this time. We did see the cinnamon rolls as we walked through the kitchen and there were huge and looked delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tina's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tina's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tina's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.