We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend, we'll be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grill Caliente

Grill Caliente
2800 Sudderth, Ruidoso, NM
+1 575-630-0224
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 71 restaurants in Ruidoso
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Food is Southwestern
Hereford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend, we'll be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived in town last night & stopped when we saw it had outdoor seating. Good call. Since we snacked a bit on the roadtrip we weren't overly hungry, such a shame because I wanted to clean my plate it was so delicious. Started with a tasty stuffed avocado. It was good sized so I shared with 2 others while we drank beer & waited for entrees. The tacos were mouthwatering, I had 1 tenderloin and 1 fish. Both packed with fresh avocado, tomato & more. I couldn't finish but I sure wanted to. Husband had filet w/ green chili mashed potatoes, cooked perfectly & loved the side. Our friend had 3 tacos - fish, tenderloin, chicken - and rated them in that order, saying first 2 where close but chicken he wouldn't repeat when we go back. Service was fast & friendly, we will return. Maybe even this trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    60
    37
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I'd go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was okay, nothing special. Overall, Ruidoso isn't a "foodie" town. However, this is a newer place that is nice, looks clean and has good outdoor seating. That is about as good as it gets in Ruidoso!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
“Mmmmm... Delicioso!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Funny Name.... Great Food.... If you speak Spanish, then you know what I'm talking about, but don't be fooled... the food is great and it's definitely worth a visit. Try the Fiery Pork Chop and you'll leave happy and impressed.

enjoy

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, N.M.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a return to Ruidoso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Being Silver City, NM, residents (5 years); we had not visited Ruidoso previously. We found the town a bit odd, a hodge-podge of "shtuff" in search of an identity. Not so with Grill Caliente. Excellent food and service. Reasonable prices. A menu with something for everyone. There was a nice outdoor dining option in back (avoid the front patio due to vehicle noise on street). We started with the Fried Pepper Rings, a few different varieties sliced into rings, lightly batterred and deep-fried, served w/a tangy chipotle/mayo dipping sauce. Wonderful. Salmon (her) and Pork Chop (me) were well prepared and presented w/mashed green chili potatoes served in a roasted pablano pepper. Delicious meal. Wine list was not extensive, but user-friendly, listing some fine choices categorized by price. In no big hurry to return to Ruidoso (5 hour drive), but the Grill Caliente will be calling out to us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OK You Have To Try This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We are locals and eat here all the time. You have to try the burgers they are different but in a good way! Home made French fries! Our health conscious picks, the New Mexico classic salad and the Salmon, yummy. The fried avocado is excellent as well. During nice weather there is some really nice patio dining. You can't beat this place for the price and quality of food in Ruidoso!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill Caliente also viewed

 

Been to Grill Caliente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill Caliente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.