We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and a good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Village Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Lodge
1000 Mechem Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
San Marcos, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and a good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

The lodge was very nice, clean and a great value. Some of the folks staying there were a bit "iffy,", but that is the only concern that we had. We would stay there again for sure.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed at the Village Lodge for a weekend trip with our two children and our dog. We were very pleased. Not too fancy, but very clean, and it suited our needs. It had a living room with a tv and a sofabed, and a fireplace. The kitchen had a fridge, microwave, stove, and basic dishes and utensils. We found a fan in the closet, which was a nice extra since we are used to sleeping with a fan. There was an iron, ironing board, and a hair dryer. The bedroom had a king size bed, extra pillows and blankets, a second tv, and a second vanity/sink, which was nice. We did visit the jacuzzi also, and they had some nice sitting areas under the pine trees where we sat with our dog, along with a few other families and their dogs. Very pet friendly! We enjoyed our stay at the Village Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We had a wonderful stay. Condo was neat, clean, and just what we needed. The staff was great and we will be staying there again. Thanks for a lovely weekend.
Sherree and Dave

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small kitchen sink
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

My wife & I stayed at the Lodge in May of this year (2008) and agree with the reviews going back to 2004. Beautifully located among trees within a stones throw of town. We were looking for somewhere that would except our newly adopted dog. We were overwhelmed when we called and the staff couldn't wait to meet him. Rosy and the entire staff are the warmest, friendliest people in the world. The condos are older but extremely clean and well taken care of. We had a beautiful one bedroom with a kitchen, front room and fireplace. It includes all of the amenities for cooking. If your looking for a place that's comfortable, at a reasonable price, where you'll feel welcome every day, this is it. C & M, Los Lunas, NM

  • Liked — Staff/Location/Convienence
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

My husband & I along with my mother made a weekend trip without plans. At the referral of a cousin we stayed at the village lodge. When we arrived we were really surprised at the beauty of the place for the price we had paid. Though we arrived at around 3:00am we had no problem getting in our room they had a key waiting for us & didn't make us do any paper work so we got to get right to bed after our 8 hour drive. The owner was very friendly, I thought she was an awesome lady! We plan on going back in June & we will without a doubt be staying at the village lodge again!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

This place was wonderful! Nestled among lots of pine trees and sitting back from a busy street, this is a great place to stay especially when travelling with pets. Large living area and nice kitchen area complete with stove/oven, fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Although this is an older lodge, the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2004

Just returned from a great stay at the Village Lodge! Very nice, clean, accommodations and pet friendly! The owners were on site and very helpful and courteous. Lodging consisted of 1 bedroom, living room with fireplace, kitchenette, and bath. Fully equipped suite with sleeper sofa, and 2 tvs. Centrally located between town and ski area. Our first white Christmas. We will stay again at the Village Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1000 Mechem Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.