We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Camelot Dr, P.O.Box 7460, Ruidoso, NM 88355   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel stay ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our pillow had questionable yellow diry slotches, the wash rag hanging next to the sink had old makeup from the previous occupant all over it. Bottom of the toilet had poo. And the pastry container was not cleaned between breakfast areas. Oh! And the microwave had old food in it. Also, they use flat sheets on either side of a blanket for bedding. They only change the sheets, not the blankets!! :x so discusting. Ruidoso is awesome, but please save yourself and go somewhere else go lodging.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    44
    31
    23
    17
See reviews for
75
65
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel previously and was appalled at how the accommodations and guest services have gone downhill, while the price has gone up by at least 50%. The rooms are large and nicely appointed, but the property isn't being maintained appropriately. They were understaffed and the staff that was there didn't seem to have the same guest service orientation I've typically experienced at Best Western properties.

We were given a room that was dirty, smelled musty and that had plumbing problems. The bathroom sink wouldn't drain, and when the toilet was flushed the first time it almost overflowed. The person on-duty - hotel was almost completely deserted - told us that no one was around to work on the plumbing, but she could bring up a plunger?!? We asked to be moved to another room and were moved. The room price was outrageous considering the value of the stay. Wouldn't recommend this property unless changes are made.

Room Tip: Check your room before checking in to make sure the windows seal, the sink drains and the toilet flu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i had stayed in this hotel before and i had a pleasant stay however on my last stay in november 22 2012, my experience was not pleasant. my room was not properly cleaned by housekeeping, they did not provide me with enought towels and shampoo,soap,conditioner, and cups. i requested them at the main desk and they promise me they will bring them to me and they never did. then the hotel did not had water service on my last day of my staying, it last it for an hour,finally the pool which my kids love to go was not heated, i asked the main lobby and they told me that maintenance was working on it which during my stay i never saw anybody working on it. all this unpleasant event changed the image and expectations from this hotel,overall bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very pleased with the price on the rooms. Reviewing and making reservations were very easy. The rooms were roomy, clean and bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast wasn't too good, both days there was no food, except for cereal and coffee. Overall it was a very nice stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Ok, so I took the wife and 2 older children on a road trip for a few days. Wanted to visit Ruidoso NM just because I love having gone there in the past. I usually try staying in Holiday Inn Express because I have overall good luck. I contacted the HIE in Ruidoso and they wanted $189 per night because "it's their peak season and they have horse races this weekend". There is no HIE worth $189 per night period. So ended up at Best Western Plus and decided to stay there against my better judgment because they had the same idea, "peak season and horse race weekend". My rate was $159 for two queens. I am a member of AAA so that brought the price down to $143.99 plus tax. Got in and got situated. Room was nice and clean with comfortable beds. AC rattled a little bit but not bad. Slept well with no problems of noise or anything and the property was full as I took the last room. Got up and we were missing 3 of the 4 wash cloths and the iron leak $143.99 since I was AAA member. She told me since it was peak season no discounts were able to be applied. I asked her if the AAA rate was $143.99 based off of the $159 rate. She said yes. I said how would I know that if the clerk checking me in hadn't told me that. Anyway, she never asked how our stay was nor addressed any of the issues and finally decided that I would receive the $143.99 rate but she made certain I knew she had to override the system to give me that rate. LIKE I CARE!!!! Had she been more worried about how my stay was and if everything was okay in the room I would probably mark this stay as better than AVERAGE but since she really didn't seem to care and was only worried about the money I felt it deserved AVERAGE. To be honest I really feel like it deserves POOR because of them jacking the rate up so high as there is NO Best Western Plus worth $143.99 per night much less $159 per night. The only reasons I left it at AVERAGE is because all of the hotels/cabins jack the rates up so I won't punish them here for that.

Room Tip: Internet service seemed to work well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I cannot say enough about this property without saying we almost had a bad travel experience if it hadn't been for this place. We stayed at another property for two nights, not good. Moved the next morning, they held our stuff. Breakfast was wonderful, rooms were large and very nice. Always clean rooms and property. Very nice indoor pool and workout facility. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a family of 4, this is the place to stay. Rooms are great. Big and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn

Address: 97 Camelot Dr, P.O.Box 7460, Ruidoso, NM 88355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ruidoso Hotel Ruidoso
Ruidoso Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.