We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Ruidoso with the Best Hosts in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idle Hour Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idle Hour Lodge
112 Lower Terrace, Ruidoso, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Classic Ruidoso with the Best Hosts in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We loved this place! The cabins are charmingly vintage, with all the modern conveniences we wanted. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds were very comfortable, and we had tons of hot water. The cabins have individual decks that everyone seemed to use and enjoy. We really liked the quiet and peacefullness, even though they were full for two of the five nights of our trip.

The property grounds have soaring pine trees, and overlook the Rio Ruidoso. There is a fenced playground with with a fort and swings that children seemed to love. The grocery store and riverwalk are only a block away, and everything else is close too.

We were there on Valentines Day, and were blown away when the hosts/owners brought us chocolate covered strawberries...really good ones.

We are house hunting and this was our fifth trip to the area in a year. We have stayed in a different place each trip until now, but will return to Idle Hour Lodge next trip, and thereafter. In fact, we will be back in a few weeks. They are pet friendly, and made our geriatric dog very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here over New Years for 3 nights, ever since calling to ask about reservations I felt so welcomed by the owners, they we're so helpful when I asked about information about where to go and what to do, as soon as we got there we were greeted by Dorothy (one of the owners), we had homemade cookies waiting for us in the cabin as soon as we got there, just a few of many details that make you feel at home the whole time your there. The cabins are great, they're in town but very conveniently located so that you have trees all around you for an "in the woods" feeling.the cabins are also very clean and well equipped, everything worked great, the cabins have a rustic feel to them but have every modern amenity you would have at home. The price is also very very fair you can tell the owners aren't in it to be rich, I truly feel they want everyone to experience ruidoso as if you were in town visiting relatives, everything was excellent and I feel if there were any issues they would be resolved to the full extent without any hesitation what so ever due to how nice the owners are. If your looking for an at home excellent stay check the Idle
Hour Lodge out, I sure will again every time I visit ruidoso. Thank you Dorothy!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Dorothy and Michael Schlitt are wonderful hosts, make you feel like you're coming for a family reunion. The cabins are fully equipped and have the nicest beds to sleep on. Our cabin slept six, a king, a double and one sleeper sofa. There was a fireplace, but we chose not to use it. Deer graze between the cabins. There is a play area for children and two barbeque areas. Roses, bulbs, apples and apricots, and a river below to lull you to sleep. Our deck overlooked the Rio Ruidoso! The kitchen has all you need including a can opener. No highway noise yet conveniently located. There is much to enjoy in the area from skiing to hunting to fishing, whatever interests you. There is a grocery store on the corner. "Close enough the ice won't melt before you get back." We enjoyed a beautiful harvest moon through the pines.

Room Tip: Cabins near the river have great decks. The grills are large and the whole property is neat and cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dorothy and Mike did it again! Banana bread on arrival. Get outta here......These are the best rustic cabins and friendliest owners you will ever meet. Attended the Golden Aspen Motorcycle rally again this year and have our reservations already for next year. Watched a Mule Deer Buck 20 feet from our back deck with the rippling stream soothing the setting. Jack B

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a great time there, owners are very friendly cabins were nice and clean close to everything in town and easy to find I will be looking forward to our next weekend getaway to Idle Hour Lodge .............

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock,
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved our cabin at the idle hour lodge. Very rustic but has everything you would need for a getaway. We stayed in cabin 11 which was very clean and cozy. Fully stocked kitchen with dishes, pots, and pans enabled us to grill dinner one night and make breakfast.
The owner Dorothy was extremely nice and even sent me information on hiking trails before we arrived. Amazing customer service.
The cabin was nearly in walking distance from the main strip and had a large grocery/liquor store around the corner. Perfect location.
We enjoyed our stay and had a great time in ruidoso!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We once again stayed at Dorothy and Mike's wonderful rustic cabins. As usual the cabin was very clean and beds had 'Flannel' sheets on them. The mountain ambiance is great and the owners once again made us feel just like family. It wasn't just us but, I noticed they treated and visited with everyone around us to make them comfortable. We are booking again for next years Rally as soon as we find out the dates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Idle Hour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Hour Lodge

Address: 112 Lower Terrace, Ruidoso, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idle Hour Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Idle Hour Lodge to your Saves list