We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Aspen Rally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idle Hour Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idle Hour Lodge
Save
You added Idle Hour Lodge to your Saves list
112 Lower Terrace, Ruidoso, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Boerne, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Golden Aspen Rally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dorothy and Mike did it again! Banana bread on arrival. Get outta here......These are the best rustic cabins and friendliest owners you will ever meet. Attended the Golden Aspen Motorcycle rally again this year and have our reservations already for next year. Watched a Mule Deer Buck 20 feet from our back deck with the rippling stream soothing the setting. Jack B

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a great time there, owners are very friendly cabins were nice and clean close to everything in town and easy to find I will be looking forward to our next weekend getaway to Idle Hour Lodge .............

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved our cabin at the idle hour lodge. Very rustic but has everything you would need for a getaway. We stayed in cabin 11 which was very clean and cozy. Fully stocked kitchen with dishes, pots, and pans enabled us to grill dinner one night and make breakfast.
The owner Dorothy was extremely nice and even sent me information on hiking trails before we arrived. Amazing customer service.
The cabin was nearly in walking distance from the main strip and had a large grocery/liquor store around the corner. Perfect location.
We enjoyed our stay and had a great time in ruidoso!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We once again stayed at Dorothy and Mike's wonderful rustic cabins. As usual the cabin was very clean and beds had 'Flannel' sheets on them. The mountain ambiance is great and the owners once again made us feel just like family. It wasn't just us but, I noticed they treated and visited with everyone around us to make them comfortable. We are booking again for next years Rally as soon as we find out the dates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Idle Hour one night on our way to Cloudcroft. It was our first time in Ruidoso and it was delightful! The cabins are aged but very quaint and comfortable. Their were five in our group and one of us had to sleep on sofa bed we padded it up with blankets and pillows but it was not the best for comfort keep that in mind if you have an odd number in your group. The Lodge is under new ownership. They are working on bringing back the Idle Hour back to its original nostalgia and it has a very just like home feeling!
No wifi but we had fresh out of the oven muffins brought to our doorstep...... It is a very quiet and relaxing environment they are very pet friendly and you will have some unexpected visitors at your doorstep( deer, elk).
All in all our stay was pleasant and we had a great time in town!
We will definitely visit again if we are out this way!

Room Tip: Cabins are small if you have more than four in your party rent another cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent service, I send several places e-mails asking for information and the persons from Idle Hour Lodge were the only that called me.
At the same, they were very kind when we arrived and do the check in, the cabins are cute and very clean.
I will book again with Idle Hour in our next trip to Ruidoso...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just finished a three night stay at the Idle Hour Lodge and was very pleased with the comfort and peaceful atmosphere. Check-in was fast and courteous. Cabin was small two bedroom but very clean and comfortable. The exterior of the cabin did not reflect the detail to comfort of the interior. They are upgrading the cabins exteriors. Our cabin came well stocked requiring only the addition of a shopping trip to the local store less than two blocks up the street. There are also several restaurants within walking distance of the lodge and it is near downtown and the Rio Ruidoso. The gift basket provided by the owners was a very nice touch. As was checking with us during our stay to make sure everything was satisfactory.Evenings and mornings brought deer right up to our deck. The only reason I did not rate excellent was the water pressure in the shower. A small detail but annoying. Other than that we very much enjoyed our stay and will stay again when we are in Ruidoso.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Idle Hour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Hour Lodge

Address: 112 Lower Terrace, Ruidoso, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idle Hour Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.