We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sierra Blanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Sierra Blanca to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sierra Blanca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Sierra Blanca Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our family travels to Ruidoso every year to visit family. By far, this has been the worst hotel stay. Thinking if we chose a hotel a month in advance, we would get a great view of the mountains. Wrong! Our view was the top of the building on the 2nd floor. The bathroom would not shut, the bathroom tile was damaged and the garbage disposal was broke. Moreover, someone charged over $40 of bar drinks to the room on 7/3rd. We checked in on 7/4th and the hotel charged us for it! We disputed this along with other charges at check-out. The lady working said she could not remove the charges because she did not know how! We asked for the manager and she told us "he doesn't know anything and can't help you" so, we would have to wait till Monday to have it corrected. Until then, we have not been charged, received an email receipt or been contacted by the hotel management.

This is shameful. We paid over $250 a night for this hotel. It is not worth it.

Our room smelled of animals and my son is allergenic. We immediately asked to switch rooms, but we told no. The hotel is completely booked through Monday, but "if a room comes open we will change your room". This did not happen.

On Sunday morning, half the hotel was gone and we could not change rooms. On Monday morning, the kitchen staff told us only 15 people were in the hotel. This completely infuriates me. We were unable to cancel our hotel reservations to change hotels due to the cancellation policy. We would lose over $800 just to cancel.

Please hire competent people to work at your front desk. Also, a family needs more than 1 bar of soap, 1 shampoo and 1 conditioner.

We will never stay at this hotel again. Our family who live in Ruidoso were stunned to say the least.

Room Tip: If you do not have pets or have allergies, please ask whether the room is used for "pets only&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the review. Please accept my apologies for a less than perfect stay. I'm so sorry that we could not change the room accommodation to fit your needs and view preference because of the very busy holiday weekend. Should you change your mind and decide to stay at the Lodge on your next trip, I would be happy to work with you to personally arrange a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    27
    20
    18
See reviews for
72
59
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso NM
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We booked the king suite with jacuzzi tub, fireplace, and balcony. The so called suite is very small. The jacuzzi tub has mold around all the jets and top of the tub and the fireplace is a cheap electric. The balcony with great views sold to me on the phone is maybe 5x5 with a light falling off the wall and two metal chairs with bird poop all over them. The great view is of the parking lot and the backside of the convention center.
DIRTY, OUTDATED and DISAPPOINTING stay for a mere $800.00!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the review. Our king studio suites are actually quite spacious at 575 square feet. The balconies are small (we call them cozy) at about 6' x 4' with two chairs and a small table. Some overlook the golf course, others overlook the mountains and parking. If you have a preference on view, it's a good idea to ask when making reservations. I'm so sorry that you did not feel like you received a good value. Should you decide to stay at the Lodge again, I'd be happy to personally arrange your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Lodge is a very beautiful hotel. It's right on the golf course, great atmosphere. Employees were very nice, and our dog was allowed to stay and they were very accommodating. I expected a little more out of the rooms for the price you pay. Rooms need a little maintenance. Caulking needs to be redone, a new coat of paint, gum was stuck in our carpet in our room from previous stayers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I'd like to point out that we are constantly inspecting the guest rooms and are on the lookout for caulking needs, etc. I hope you return to the Lodge on your next trip to Ruidoso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Overall the Lodge at Sierra Blanca is a nice hotel, but the fitness center is in very poor condition. There are two treadmills that have belts that slip and the belt surface is uneven. Basically, the treadmills are unsafe. One-half of the free weights are missing. The Nautalus-style weight machine was broken. And the recumbent excercise bike was not fully functional. (The bike spins, but none of the feature like increasing-resistance work.) For a resort-style hotel, that seems to promote wellness, they have not spent money to maintain the fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Lodge at Sierra Blanca was a very nice hotel they were very accommodating for our needs. The full service breakfast was wonderful. The view from our room was very nice as well. We didn't bring our dog but their were several other pets staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay during the car show. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the full breakfast buffet. Please come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our room was a King Studio Suite. Very large L-shaped room, with small living area and full kitchen - microwave, large refrigerator, sink, stove, dishes, dishwasher, etc. The room also has a gas fireplace you can turn on with a timer on the wall. The bathroom has a huge two person whirlpool tub. There is a patio with two chairs where you can sit outside and enjoy the cool evening breeze. Breakfast was included with the room and featured made-to-order omelets, or eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, fruit, granola, toast, cereals, juices, etc.

Room Tip: They also have King 1-bedroom suites where the bedroom is separated from the living area. In the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the great comments. Please plan to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in a King Studio Suite. We had a great view. The staff was friendly. I have never eaten a better breakfast in Ruidoso. Alfredo did a fabulous job with our cooked to order omelets. The salsa was the best I have eaten anywhere! We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and for the comments about breakfast. Alfredo has been our breakfast cook for over 13 years and he makes the salsa from fresh vegetables and ingredients. We hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#5 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sierra Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sierra Blanca

Address: 107 Sierra Blanca Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Sierra Blanca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Sierra Blanca is your ultimate retreat for family vacations and couples getaways. Most suites include Jacuzzi tubs for two, cozy patios, gas fireplaces, kitchenettes, spectacular views and a full hot complimentary breakfast on us. The Lodge is surrounded by the Links at Sierra Blanca, a links style golf course open to the public. The Lodge features a large lodge-style lobby, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness room, cocktail lounge and gift shop. There's also a large outdoor patio with a fire pit. Views include lush golf greens and 12,003 ft. Sierra Blanca Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Sierra Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sierra Blanca Hotel Ruidoso
Hotel At Sierra Blanca
At Sierra Blanca Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.