We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sierra Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Sierra Blanca to your Saves list
The Lodge at Sierra Blanca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Sierra Blanca Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Lowest Rates of the Year!
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My son and I stayed for Father's Day and the room was great. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and especially the huge breakfast in the morning. We played golf at nearby Cree Meadows which was also fun. A great weekend.

Paul S

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the review of your Father's Day stay at the Lodge. We are thrilled that you had a great stay and a fun day of golf at one of our nearby courses. Hope you get to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    47
    24
    17
    16
See reviews for
59
54
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First, the positive. The breakfast featured real eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc.and was hot. The lobby and reception areas were very nice. Thats it, now, the negative. My over priced junior king suite had some issues. The kitchen light hummed, the old style TV was dark (it was already adjusted to the brightest settings and you could not make out facial features enough to want to purchase a movie on it), the large jacuzzi tub had a tilt to it and was a little scary to be in, especially since the floor tiles in front of the sink had movement. All of the lamp shades we crooked when we entered the suite suggesting a recent party? The best night of sleep I got was when I wore earplugs to drown out the air conditioner and the people walking around in the room above. Maybe Marriotts with their personable employees and generally well kept up properties have spoiled me. But when you claim to be the best resort in the area, you should at least try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about the full breakfast bar and and lobby. I apologize for a less than perfect stay. Our old style TVs are being (slowly) replaced with LED units, it's just taking awhile. On your next stay with us, if there is a problem with your room or stay, please let us know while you are here and I will do my very best to accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Quiet room, comfortable beds, but a little cramped. The room feels as if it were designed for one king bed instead of two queens. In fact, this would be a perfect room if it did indeed have just the one bed.

The lobby is spacious and comfortable (perfect for reading quietly in the comfy leather chairs) and the convenient and tasty water jug with limes and cucumbers is a great reminder to hydrate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for your review of your recent stay. We are proud of our large, lodge-style lobby. Like you, our guests find it comfortable and relaxing. For your next stay at the Lodge, try one of our King Studio suites or a King One Bedroom suite. For a modest upgrade charge, these suites feature a lot more lounging room as well as fireplaces, balconies, two person jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The lodge was ok but for the price I would rather just stay at the casino. If you are a golfer this is a great hotel for you because you are right on the course but if you aren't there is nothing really special about this hotel. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and your compliment for our staff. You are correct in that ours is not a casino property, we are more suited for couples and families. And golfers. For the price conscious guest, please check our website for periodic specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed one night at the Lodge and was a little disappointed. The furnishings were ok, but everything was run down and worn. The bathroom had water damaged tiles and it was filthy underneath the bed (I stored some posters there). I would not go back. The Comfort Inn just down the road where I stayed the previous night, was superior at only $79. Try that hotel instead!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay here at the Lodge, we would like to assure you that we are in the process of making updates and repairs to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was given a kitchenette because I was faculty at the conference held next door. What a gorgeous place to stay! Clean and so great, the kitchen would have been perfect for a couple or a small family but I was by myself this time. The fireplace was really nice to fire up on chilly mornings while I got ready. The balcony looks over the mountains and was great to sit out on in the mornings with some hot tea and just smell the wonderful pine trees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of your stay here at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca. We always love to hear such great comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Lodge was a beautiful getaway! We stayed in a King sweet: separate bedroom, full kitchen (big fridge, stove, microwave), couch, fireplace. The bathroom had a HUGE jacuzzi bath tub. We also had an out door porch! Breakfast at the lodge was gourmet, WAY better than any ordinary continental breakfast. The grounds of the hotel were also incredible. There is a 3 mile walking path around the property that is just for walkers and bike riders. A golf course also surrounds the property the the views are quite and peaceful. The indoor pool was large, though Memorial day obviously was crowded.
Well worth the trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such a wonderful review of your stay here at the Lodge. We always appreciate the great reviews and we're happy that we could provide you with a beautiful getaway. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sierra Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sierra Blanca

Address: 107 Sierra Blanca Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Sierra Blanca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Sierra Blanca is your ultimate retreat for family vacations and couples getaways. Most suites include Jacuzzi tubs for two, cozy patios, gas fireplaces, kitchenettes, spectacular views and a full hot complimentary breakfast on us. The Lodge is surrounded by the Links at Sierra Blanca, a links style golf course open to the public. The Lodge features a large lodge-style lobby, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness room, cocktail lounge and gift shop. There's also a large outdoor patio with a fire pit. Views include lush golf greens and 12,003 ft. Sierra Blanca Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Sierra Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sierra Blanca Hotel Ruidoso
Hotel At Sierra Blanca
At Sierra Blanca Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.