We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAY Over priced for a less than average hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sierra Blanca

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Sierra Blanca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Sierra Blanca
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Sierra Blanca Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fabulous Fall Savings
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“WAY Over priced for a less than average hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our room was average at best, what stood out immediately was the shabby furniture, our couch had a 8" x 2" tear in it. The room was clean, but for the price I expected something besides a crappy 1980's TV that was bolted to the shelf. Our biggest issue was the "breakfast". The advertise an omelet bar and full hot breakfast served between 7-10AM. We went down for breakfast around 0830 and they had a sign that said "No omelet's today"...no biggie, but the breakfast buffet was nothing less than atrocious. Every item from the eggs to the hashbrowns, to the sausage links was burnt to a crisp...I am not a food critic and I rarely complain about food, hell I've spent 22 years in the military and I have eaten some crappy food, but this was truly scorched food, perhaps I am out of touch and blackened eggs are now in vogue? Honestly folk, go someplace else for a lot less.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. Although this experience is one we never want our guests to have we do appreciate all feedback whether good or bad to help us always strive to improve our hotel. We apologize for your unpleasant stay at our hotel and would like to look into your concerns further. Can you provide us with the name on the reservation and dates of your stay so we can look into this for you? Please feel free to contact me directly at 575-258-5500 or kirsten.welborn@thelodgeatsierrablanca.com. Revenue Manager, Kirsten Welborn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    21
    17
    14
See reviews for
57
46
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We (two adults and a 13 yr old)just returned back from our ski trip to Ruidoso. I had booked originally a double queen bedroom using AAA. After arriving at the lodge wanted to check out King Studio suite. Steve- the GM who was managing the front-desk at that time give us the access to check out both the rooms. We then decided to take the King Studio suite and then he upgraded us to King one bedroom suite. The room is spacious and has a balcony which over looked the snow covered courtyard. As others said the lobby is a place to meet.. We loved the fireplace in the courtyard. The only gripe I have is that the room A/C (in our case heater) noise is a little loud. Would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room next to the pool. If they are many kids in the pool you can hear their exciteme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay. I'm pleased that you had a good stay and glad that we could extend an upgrade to a suite. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Never having visited Ruidoso, I did a lot of research before choosing The Lodge at Sierra Blanca. It met or exceeded all of my expectations.

The lobby is a beautiful, upscale, lodge type setting with comfortable seating areas, fireplaces, and a bar in the evening. The outdoor patio has a fire pit and seating areas in the evening.

We had a King Bedroom Suite and were very happy. The rooms have full kitchens, fireplace, large jacuzzi hot tub, and a private balcony.

The staff working at the front desk was always helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was a special treat all in itself. It is a FULL breakfast with pancakes and/or waffles, sausage and/or bacon, hash browns, cereals, breads, juices, made to order omeletes, and much more. It is nothing like the 'free breakfast' that you will find at many 3 star hotels. It is more like a breakfast that you will find at a fine bed & breakfast... or a nice sit-down restaurant. The seating area for the breakfast is in a cozy area with a beautiful view.

For the money, it also is a great deal. You won't find any better place for a similar amount of money.

If you are not sure where to stay... stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay and the great comments. We hope you can return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Loved the king room. When we had an issue at checkout, the manager quickly remedied the problem. We really enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. It was very relaxing after a long day of skiing. I would definitely stay here again! Although the mountain only had three lifts open, skiing was still great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for the review of your recent stay at the Lodge. We're glad to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed your visit to Ski Apache! We hope you can come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTGOMERY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We decided to stay in Ruidoso to relax during a road trip and had stayed at this hotel before. When we called to make the reservation the woman at the desk was very helpful and even told us about a special that we were unaware of - so got a great price! The hotel is large and in a beautiful part of town on a golf course and next to the convention center. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Our room had a kitchenette. Parking is plentiful and free. Nice indoor pool and guest laundry. They serve a full hot breakfast with a made-to-order omelet station. It is close to the shopping and restaurants but not in the middle of the traffic and bustle. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay and that the value and service exceeded your expectations. I hope you can return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Lodge was nicely appointed. A bit dated but well maintained. Service was good but limited. Fair value. Breakfast was an extra treat unexpected. Free parking. Try to get a room with a balcony if possible. Tv's needs updating aswell. The indoor pool is nice and gym.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for your review of your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. It took a little whole to get someone at the front desk at check in, but I think most of the employees were working the Octoberfest event. Room was very nice. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. Hopefully next time we will be able to stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeAtSierraBlanca, General Manager at The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Lodge. We appreciate the nice comments. Hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sierra Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sierra Blanca

Address: 107 Sierra Blanca Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Sierra Blanca 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Sierra Blanca is your ultimate retreat for family vacations and couples getaways. Most suites include Jacuzzi tubs for two, cozy patios, gas fireplaces, kitchenettes, spectacular views and a full hot complimentary breakfast on us. The Lodge is surrounded by the Links at Sierra Blanca, a links style golf course open to the public. The Lodge features a large lodge-style lobby, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness room, cocktail lounge and gift shop. There's also a large outdoor patio with a fire pit. Views include lush golf greens and 12,003 ft. Sierra Blanca Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Lodge at Sierra Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sierra Blanca Hotel Ruidoso
Hotel At Sierra Blanca
At Sierra Blanca Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sierra Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.