We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View is Sensational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Point Owners Association

Save Saved
You added Crown Point Owners Association to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Point Owners Association
220 Crown Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Buckeye, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The View is Sensational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit. There were also three-bedroom units available. The unit was adequate in size and layout. The furnishings were a bit dated and the unit showed signs of wear and tear from over the years, It was combortable and clean. The staff was accomodating and tried hard to please. The kitchen lacked sufficient cooking supplies, but we were told as we were checking out that we could have had more supplies if we had asked the right person at the right time. For all that the resort wasn't, the view totally was. The resort was on the crest of the mountain and looked down over Ruidoso and the whole valley. The master bedroom and the porch had incredible views for just sitting and zoning out. It was raining when we were there and we were sometimes above the clouds, sometimes in the clouds. There is wildlife in the area and we saw deer, elk, a skunk and remnants of bear damage. It was a perfect escape.

Room Tip: There are two different views. We faced Ruidoso, but the other side may be just as good. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been to Ruidoso several times but this was our first stay at this location. We planned on relaxing the entire time and not doing much of anything. It was wonderful. Yes, the unit could use some maintenance but it was very spacious and had everything you needed. The deck and front door had screens so you could open the doors and have a nice breeze come thru to cool down the room. We were in building 2 and had a great view of Ruidoso, Ski Apache, and the whole area. There are many trees and wildlife about. Our favorite activity was swimming in the indoor pool and swapping movie rentals at the front desk. Take bottled water for coffee and drinking since the water is very hard.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you want views of Ruidoso pick Bldg 1, 2, or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

August 19, 2013

My stay at the resort was about what I expected, but the area was much more than I presume it to be. The staff were very friendly and helpful with locations in the area.
For starters the resort is close to many places to purchase items left at home or needed doing your visit.
The resort has plenty of activities to keep you busy whether its watching movies or playing tennis .The indoor pool was perfect doing our stay considering the daily rain showers.
If you are an active person you may enjoy this resort, considering all of the activities that are available for guess use. The condo seem to be upgraded in some areas of the condo especially the living areas. The tubs drain slow especially in the mornings, the water gets warm and hot very quickly. On site laundry is a plus considering the in town laundry mat.
Theirs plenty of dishware and utensils, but you'll have to purchase your own food .
" Oh and don't forget to bring you own water you may not like the taste of this water ".
Their are several stores and an market located within five minutes of the resort.
If you prefer to stay at your condo you may see wildlife of sorts like dear, bear, various birds, maybe even Elk, We saw them all and more except for a bear.
Their are plenty of channels to watch just don't count on seeing your favorite sports team on the sports channel?
The rooms are spacious with great outdoor views.
Restaurants were mix for us some of the restaurants weren't up to what some of the reviews had stated. But the restaurants were inexpensive in this area compared to other places that we have visited.
Caution this resort has plenty of steps and hills. The elevations in this area can be from 8,000 -10,000 feet honestly. If you not use to extreme heights or elevations you may not enjoy your visit as much. The condos have stairs as well in and outside the unit.
But if you don't mind the mountains and elevated areas you'll definitely enjoy Crown Point condominium and what the immediate area has to offer.
Must see attractions White sands, Lincoln Forest National Park, City of Cloud Croft, and Billy The Kid museum.
Angel fire mountain, The Apache Reservation, just to name a few. Then again you can stay at the resort and enjoy its many activities. Its a great place to visit for any occasion.

Room Tip: Northside of resort has better views than Southside of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in I was surprised at how warm the unit was and was informed that all fans had already been checked out. The unit had multiple dead moths in the bathrooms and kitchen. The master bathroom had a foul smell (smelled like sewer gas)that I got used to after about a day.
The desk staff were friendly and moderately helpful but I did have an issue with a rude maintenance man and I was told he was new and "needed training" when I brought the issue to the front desks attention. The gym is a waste of time its a tiny room above the front desk with barely usable Walmart type equipment. You should just plan on getting your workouts out on one of the nearby trails.
The acomadations were basic but acceptable for this type of country resort. Beautiful views overlooking the valley were nice. If your wanting to get in some fishing then I would recommend Gindstone reservoir . My son went there to fish 4 days and caught the trout limit by 9:00am every day.
All in all this is a basic rustic adequate place to stay while you enjoy the wilderness and outdoor activities of Ruidoso.... Not even worthy of the title "resort" in my opinion. If you come here expecting any more then this... You will leave disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a week at Crown Point the end of June and we loved it. While the accommodations are not five star (we weren't expecting them to be), the condo was spacious and well equipped. The area is beautiful and our unit was literally feet from the forest. We saw lots of wildlife throughout the week including a bear.

We travel with six children so having larger living areas was nice. We stayed in a three bedroom unit. All three rooms were upstairs and the rooms were good sized. There was a surprising lack of dresser space so we did have to live out of our suitcases, but I guess that isn't the end of the world.

The kitchens and bathrooms were serviceable although a bit run down. We cook all of our meals in our room and the kitchen was well equipped for that (the knives could do with occasional sharpening, they were sad excuses for cutting tools). However, there were mixing bowls, pots and pans a plenty and we had no trouble cooking and serving to our hearts content.

There is an on site pool/hot tub as well as tennis courts, basketball courts and racquet ball courts. Our kids enjoyed that. We also took advantage of the on site washer/dryer.

Be aware that there is no air conditioning in the units here. The week we were there it stayed fairly cool so we did ok (it was in the mid 70's most days) but if it got hot the rooms would really get sweltering. We left windows open and fans on day and night and did just fine.

We took several great day trips including a visit to Valley of Fire, White Sands, Three Rivers Petroglyphs, and Monjeau lookout. We had an excursion to Roswell (where we sadly saw no aliens) and also visited the Billy the Kid Museum and the Museum of the American West. There was plenty to do nearby and we had a lot of fun. We also spent an afternoon exploring Ruidoso main street and loved the feel of the town.

We had a great vacation and for us this condo was a nice fit. Don't expect deluxe lodging and be prepared to love the beauty of the area and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this place May 10th thru 17th, 2013 and have never been so disappointed! These units are not recommended for elderly or handicapped persons. There are too many steep stairs and the bathrooms are absolutely too small with small lowboy toilets! The staff at this resort are not helpful as they do nothing for you! All of the resorts policies are geared towards making it easy on/for the staff. I would not recommend this resort to my friends or relatives and I will not ever stay there again!!! Very disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The best things about our unit was the nice location above the valley, in the woods, and the spaciousness of the unit. It was very clean also.
If you have a bad knee/knees it could be hard going up the steep steps to an upper level unit, esp if carrying bags or groceries, but it wasnt a real problem for us.
The indoor/pool hot-tub was out of order the day we arrived but back in service a couple days later. We went to the lounge room above the office a couple times to use the wifi; thats where the exercise machines are (off to one side) and a number of tables and chairs. The wifi worked well. Cell service is good in the rooms and we had a good highdef TV and a basic dvd player we used. We had a fullsize frig and stove/range and dishwasher and there were ample utensils, dishes and pots for preparing/serving meals. We enjoyed watching the many swallows flying around on the patio side.
Just a few minor negatives: the florescent light fixture in one bathroom hummed a little and sometimes flickered, the one in the other bathroom was too dim. The floor around the dining table squeaked loudly when you walked around there. The sliding glass door to the little patio wouldnt lock (but we were on 2nd floor and overlooking a hill with a dropoff). Overall we really liked it and enjoyed all the things to see in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a good view of the main Ruidoso canyon; wished we had one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Point Owners Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Owners Association

Address: 220 Crown Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88355
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Point Owners Association reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Point Owners Association Hotel Ruidoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Point Owners Association, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.