We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Apache

Ski Apache
1286 Ski Run Road, Ruidoso, NM 88312
+1 575-464-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ski Apache opened under the name "Sierra Blanca Ski Resort" during Christmas of 1961. Amazingly, twenty-six hundred people an hour were fast carried up the ski run crest via three T-bar lifts. In 1962, the very first mono-cable four-passenger gondola in North America was built to accommodate a greater number of skiers. And it seems just in time as twenty-five thousand skiers showed up for the second season. Since 1963, the resort has been owned and operated by the Mescalero Apache Tribe. Only two years after its official opening in 1961, Robert O. Anderson, the wealthy oil man who built and opened the slopes, sold the resort to the able hands of the Mescalero Apaches. It wasn't until the 1984-85 season that the slopes were appropriately named "Ski Apache". The wood-spired Main Lodge was designed by Victor Lundy ... Proclaimed as America's Outstanding Architect in 1958. Since the opening season of 1961, this lodge has stood statuesque, an unfailing sentry below the crest. With wood spires reflective of the surrounding pines, the Lodge mirrors the natural beauty of the Sacramento Mountains. Lundy succeeded in introducing Modernism architecture with a practical eye towards the skiers needs. Ski Apache offers world class skiing, snowboarding, sightseeing, mountain biking, and the longest zip line in the lower 48 states.
Laredo, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The view is awesome, visiting this place was a real amazing experience, specially for my 8yr old son. Unfortunately we couldn't take the sky lessons, if you're planning to do so, schedule in advance. Hopefully we can go back this coming winter.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    93
    43
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gondola Ski Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great gondola ski lift ride to the top of Sierra Blanca. Very scenic and great information from the staff. Went up there in the summer and even enjoyed the perilous drive up the mountain. Seems you are right on the edge at times. Loved it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Downhill mountain biking was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We rented bikes and rode the downhill trail several times. The trail was fun and the staff was very helpful in giving us pointers and tips on the mountain as we are new to the area. The new gondola was nice and it was a great view on the ride up. Riding the trail for first time and being unfamiliar I ended up falling on one of the switchback turns. Didn't get hurt bad but scraped and bled a little. Fred the medic fixed me right up and was able to provide additional helpful tips and what to watch out for. We did see a few elk but they were skittish and quickly ran off. The vista's are tremendous and you need to stop and take them in. We packed lunch with us and picked one to have lunch. The trails are fairly easy but there are a couple areas that are rocky and you do need to pay attention. You can go as fast or slow as you want. We were lucky in the time we chose to go (week after Memorial weekend) and we practically had the mountain to ourselves. If you like mountain biking I highly recommend giving this downhill a try.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wild drive up the mountain on a narrow winding road, went in late spring, no snow but beautiful scenery. Rode the gondola up to the top of the mountain quite a site. Resort shows signs of being old , needs a newserious remodel, restrooms in bad shape. Friendly staff. Had a good time. Wild ride back down the mountain road, drive slow.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque Nm Usa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sad ski area”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Showed up after staying for 3 nights at the Inn of the Mountain Gods, owned by the same tribe. I was there on March 20th, during spring break, and the snow was beyond horrible yet they were charging full price (approx. $65) and even when I showed up on a Thursday at 10:30 am there were maybe 50 other cars in the parking lot. Luckily, after about 8 e-mails back and forth with the resort and the Inn of the Mountain Gods staff, I finally got almost 1/2 of the ridiculous $65 lift ticket fee refunded. In short, this is sad mountain design wise and when the snow is low the west side is actually very, very dangerous since the show is sparse and you can wipe out on the gaps, claro. In conclusion, I don't think I have every skiied a worse mountain in my life AND I grew up skiing in Michigan where the hills are horrible.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ski Apache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Apache, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.