We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the 4th of July weekend celebration!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mescalero Apache Reservation

Mescalero Apache Reservation
Ruidoso, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Attractions in Ruidoso
Type: Reservations
Activities: Skiing, Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Established in 1873 by presidential order, this reservation covers 720 square miles of land in the south central part of New Mexico, where approximately 3,000 tribal members live.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the 4th of July weekend celebration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

They do it up right with a rodeo, tribal dancing, and vendors. We enjoyed the rodeo very much and also the hoop dancers! Very talented! The weather was pretty perfect, probably didn't get above 80, and at one point gave us a nice shower! The area is beautiful and it is really neat to see the native traditions. I highly recommend the flat bread, it is delicious!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
915 reviews 915 reviews
388 attraction reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“One of The Cleaner Reservations We Have Seen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A pleasant drive through going from Ruidoso to either Cloud Crofth or Alamogordo. They have several restaurants and casinos. But it is also goof to visit some of the tribal areas and get the field of the actual reservation and not just the tourist spots. Years ago we also went to one of the tribal Powwows it was great to see the costumes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They Can Do Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The reservation is a pretty place to visit and I enjoy that. I don't gamble so I usually just go to the casino to eat. The buffet isn't as good as it used to be and the service isn't like it used to be either. The food used to be great and so was the service. Maybe it's just on the days I'm there. I would encourage everyone to see Mescalero Reservation. There is golf, casinos, a beautiful lake and the have live concerts on the week-ends. Give it a try. I still do.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great Place...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Attended the Fathers Day Powwow and had an awesome time, in spite of stormy weather Fri night and wind with dirt on Saturday and Sunday. It is so pretty there and the people are friendly. Nice to have a pretty place to explore. Check it out on your next trip to New Mexico!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

While visiting friends in Ruidoso they took me to the restaurant located on the reservation. They serve New Mexico-style Mexican food (as opposed to Tex-Mex). The service was adequate, the place was clean and the food was above average. I would certainly go back - Recommended!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mescalero Apache Reservation also viewed

 

Been to Mescalero Apache Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mescalero Apache Reservation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.