We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Save Saved
You added Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

We spent 4 nights at Leopard Hills in late November. The lodge was absolutely fantastic, the service exemplary and the staff just terrific, we even had lovely co-guests to enjoy the amazing game drives with.

Our rooms were spacious, luxurious and very clean. The bed was really comfortable and the room was spacious with a separate seating area. There was a small fridge with tea and coffee making facilities and a well stocked mini-bar. Outside was a glorious plunge pool (though a little too cold to do more than dangle a toe in the water!).

The food was of an excellent standard and well presented with good choice - there was so much of it, we often skipped lunch.

Of course, the main reason for coming somewhere like this is the game viewing which was absolutely stunning. We saw so much we were practically tripping over the animals. Our ranger, Marius and guide, Abraham with their knowledge and enthusiasm made all the drives informative, interesting and great fun. We were lucky to see all the "Big 5" in our first two game drives and also some unique sights - watching lions being chased off a kill by a pack of hyenas was incredible as was the gang of 6 male lions roaring in the night while we watched in amazement. There were plentiful sightings of leopard, cheetah, elephants, infact everything you could hope to see. The bird watching was also plentiful and Marius taught us a lot about the animals and their behaviour. Leopard Hills is a very special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
72
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

Leopard Hills was an experience like no other! After staying at the amazing Cape Grace in Cape Town, I thought I would be ruined for life for any other accommodation. Leopard Hills exceeded my expectations. Every detail is considered to assure that your safari experience is amazing. I wouldn't change a thing. Wonderful people, staff, spa, food...I can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

This is a very well-managed lodge with just eight luxury suites and a lot of attention to the small details. The accomodations are large with comfortable beds and seating, a bathroom with double shower (plus another one outside), a big bathtub and double sinks. The clincher is the suite's large and totally private deck with lounge chairs and a private plunge pool overlooking the bush. I was happy to share our pool with the brightly-coloured birds that stop by to drink and bathe. The food is very good with the same attention to detail and nicely presented out on the terrace or in the boma with fires and torches blazing. And then you have the game. Ranger are committed to showing you the best (yes they are somewhat competitve with each other) and we saw, wonderfully close, lion and leopard(with young) as well as all the browsers and grazers and much to my husband's delight a spitting cobra. The ranger take their jobs but not themselves seriously, a great combination. In late September it was cold enough, early morning and night, to require warm jackets on the drives but warm enough to eat outside without them ... perfect!

One unfortunate note is that a nearby lodge, Ulasaba, has enough outside light to be worthy of the Las Vegas strip. This ruins the beauty of the African night sky on the way back from game drives. The owner's name being on the game vehicles was just funny, all that light was not! More ego than eco there.

  • Liked — The deck
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Two nights was great, three would be ideal.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

For our honeymoon, my husband and I stayed at Leopard Hills for a week. The rooms, the food, the staff, everything is excellent. We have stayed at other game reserves and none come close to the experience we had at Leopard Hills. We saw unbelieveable animals and had amazing encounters with them. The Rangers truly love what they do, and it shows. This place is a must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

This place is amazing! My wife and i just recently returned from our honeymoon and words can not do justice to Leopard Hills. The staff, the room, the property everyhing is more then you can even imagine! TRUST ME JUST GO.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

The Leopard Hills resort consists of about a dozen luxurious bungalows within a compound which includes a well stocked and comfortable library, and a communal dining room.

The rooms are huge, with a massive bed, seating area, indoor and outdoor double shows, a patio and a plunge pool. They are tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

The views are all out over the bushveld - a family of warthogs wondered past about 20 yards away as I was sitting in the sun one afternoon.

There are 2 game drives a day - early in the morning (when it is really quite cold so take lots of layers) and in the late afternoon/early evening. We had excellent, informed and enthusiastic guides, who obviously cared deeply about what they did which made a great difference. They communicated amongst themselves using walkie-talkies, but there was never a time when too many of crowded around the animals which I have experienced in other places.

We were fortunate enough to see lots of exciting wildlife – but my memories are as much about the smells as the sights!

The food was good and plentiful – one night we had a BBQ around a massive fire in an outside compound, where we were joined by a hyena checking out whether that were any scraps for them!

I would strongly recommend Leopard Hills for a truly memorable holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

Having stayed at Kings Camp previously (see seperate review) we went to Leopard Hills with high expectations as Kings Camp was brilliant.
We were not let down in the slightest. Here our suite had its OWN private pool which looked out into the bush - wow!
The team here are a right laugh and we enjoyed every minute. Added to this the game viewing and some great leopards, it was just unbelievable.
Next stop Madikwe Hills (see seperate report).
Feel free to contact me if you're going as I've got more pictures if you want to see them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Address: Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Hills Hotel Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.