We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Spectacular Lodging, Hospitality, And Game Drives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inyati Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inyati Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inyati Game Lodge
Save
You added Inyati Game Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly Spectacular Lodging, Hospitality, And Game Drives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Lodge, grounds, hospitality and friendliness of staff, and game drives made a wonderful experience. The vista in front of the lodge and rooms is one thing we'll truly miss- it is an open grassy area overlooking a river and bush area. Elephants,a leopard, a giraffe, warthogs, kudu, impala, a hyena, etc. passed through or near the lodge property during our four day stay- we saw those animals from the veranda and our room. Naturally the highlight is the game drives- the Ranger and Tracker got us very up close to animals. We were fortunate to have followed a pack of wild dogs, which we understand are quite rare. I would definitely recommend Inyati to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livorno, Tuscany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

My father and I were there in june 2007. It was beautiful: we saw a lot of wildlife, more and more as we expected. We saw many leopards, the animals that we were more interested in. Really wonderful; we also stayed at mala mala; the hotel was more luxurious, but we spent the double and we saw half of the animale comparing to Inyati!
Giacomo from Livorno, Italy

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Enthusiastic rangers and trackers at the lodge made our stay exceptionally memorable with all the animals sightings and impressive descriptions of their behavior. We bumped into guests from other resorts during the ride on rainy days and realised yhat Inyati is the only lodge that provides a detachable roof on the jeep, allowing us to be sheltered from the cold rain.
Room comes with full glass panels where we are often greeted with roaming animals. Dining area overlooks a waterhole where we saw hippopotamus, hyena, nyala, impala etc.. A gym is also available which is useful in passing time between the game drives. Meals are communal where guests get to socialise.
One thing to note is the limited privacy for the showering area in the room - they are not separated by curtains or doors from the main area.
Highly recommended for everyone to witness the Big 5 in action! We saw impala hanging from a tree by a leopard, a pride of lions feeding on a buffalo, wild dogs, hyena attempting to steal meat from a leopard, baby rhino drinking milk from it's mom.. A truly unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeighanneD, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing Inyati Game Lodge for your recent stay in South Africa. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our lodge.

Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

I have passed on your wonderful comments to the lodge staff.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
INYATI Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Wild Wings Safari booked us 2 nights in the main area of the park and 2 nights at Inyati. Do it that way round and you will better appreciate the 2 very different experiences. At Inyati the tracking team(20-30 years experience) works with other similar establishments: you get very close to lion, leopard and rare African wild dogs as a result. A world renowned animal photographer chose it, which says it all. Beautiful accommodation (you sometimes get the Big Five on the lawn !). There was always something innovative in the evening meal, which is served . An attraction is that Inyati has a family run feel: the trackers eat with you. Don't expect a grand hotel-restaurant type of meal. We gather that some rivals have smarter restaurants and are more exclusive but it seemed to us you were paying an awful lot more for fripperies you don't want in the African Bush: we were delighted with Wild Wings' choice. .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We visited Inyati with our children and in-laws and had wonderful experience. The staff was suberb, knowledgeable and very good with children. The food was great. I would rate this an 11 out of 10. Our guide Pete was one of the best and the lodge fosters a spirit of community and we left there with a great group of new friends. We saw all but one of the Magnificent 7 by day two of our adventure. Great for families and couples. Wine cellar is very respectable and the living is good.

Room Tip: You can ask for extra beds for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We were there in October 2008 and even though we have been to other parts of Africa on safari this rated right up with the best. We got so very close to a lot of the animals that we could almost touch them and George and Solly were just so much fun on the game drives. The rooms at Inyati are beautiful and our daughters, my husband and I had a super time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennef, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Inyati Game Lodge is the perfect place to be when you want to spent some thrilling but also relaxing safari time. The rooms and facilities are superb. We even had a lovely outdoor shower. The staff is overly friendly and helpfull, the service was grand. The rangers and trackers for sure know their job :-) We have seen sooo much wildlife regardless of the prejudice of "you will not spot a lot in summer time due to the vegetation"....! They sure take care of you too :-) Also the food was great and in between drives we enjoyed relaxing at the pool - with the lovely view on the river (and spotting opportunities ;-) )

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inyati Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inyati Game Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Inyati Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Inyati Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inyati Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inyati Game Lodge is situated in one of the world's largest and most prestigious private conservation areas, the Sabi Sand Reserve , adjoining the renowned Kruger National Park. View Africa's most impressive wildlife on morning and afternoon/evening game drives in open 4-wheel drive safari vehicles with expert guides and Shangaan trackers. The perennial Sand River with its golden African sunshine and cool, shady hideaways runs through Inyati. At night, wildlife sounds fill the star-studded sky. Lions roar, jackals howl and hyenas laugh. African drums respond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inyati Game Hotel Inyati Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inyati Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.