We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Leopard spotting site!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Djuma Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Djuma Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
White River, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Leopard spotting site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Been twice to Vuyatela, great little seperate chalets that sleep 2, and a main living and eating area. The second time we went it had been changed to self catering with staff and you have to book the place out - enough space for 10 people and more kids...bearing in mind that a vehicle could only fit 10 people max. The staff were amazing - very friendly and well trained to help us set up and put out what we wanted for breakfast as well as prepare what we had brought for dinner. There is a small plunge pool and a great boma area as well as a lookout point. There is a watering hole situated near this area which means you get to see plenty of game whilst just hanging out. Have never seen so many leopard!!! Was awesome - they seem to hang out in that section of Djuma!

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same - you are either closer or further away form the main living area - if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

UnFreaken Believable!!! If you EVER, EVER get the opportunity in your life to visit Africa, do not pass it up and this is the freaken place to go... great beautiful location, great friendly and helpful people, great delicious food, and most of all great wild life experience and appreciation…. Djumba – Vuyatela Lodge was beyond all the wildest dreams… all I can say is SAVE your money and GO!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at Vuyatelo - an awesome time was had by all. This is our first trip to Vuyatelo, we have had 7 previous trips to Galago.
The accommodation is top notch and facilities excellent. Although we chose to do our own catering, Luzile was always on hand and assisted with inspirational dishes.
Taxon and Amos were great on the game drives.
All the staff are to be complimented on the excellent work they do.
Our 2014 trip has already been booked.
Thanks to all at Vuyatelo for making our trip so memorable
Baker, Bartlett, Hayes and Lines party

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were a party of 7, so used 4 of the chalets. Couldn't agree more with the review of Dan201103-- we also were there in July 2013 and chose to have the chef. The staff was just terrific, facilities were fabulous and the game drives a rousing success. Hard to pick a highlight, but probably the mother cheetah with her cubs, leading them to her kill. No disappointments at Vuyatela!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, B.C.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What an amazing place in an amazing part of the world. The facilities and amenities are top notch. The staff were all attentive and as friendly as one could possibly hope for. The bungalows were beautiful and the the outdoor showers are a unique touch. The facility is self catering so you bring your own food supplies and have the option of hiring a chef to cook for you. I highly urge you to hire the cooking staff. They are exceptional at creating stunning feasts! I wish that I could remember the name of the head chef but she is an artist at any rate. And all staff were helpful and friendly.

The communal living area is well appointed and looks over a water hole that we watched from 20 to 60 elephants at a time visit every day we were there. Nyala, kudu, redbok, yellow hornbill, mongoose, monkeys and countless other birds roam the grounds. Sometimes so close and well concealed that they startle you!

We we were a party of 18 so we used all 5 bungalows at Vuyatela as well as Galago facilities. I cannot overstate how nice the facilities were. I cannot see how anyone would be disappointed by the facilities or staff. Thank you Candace for assembling an excellent team.

The game drives were absolutely incredible. Taxon our driver/guide and Amos gave us experiences and wildlife viewings that we will all remember for a lifetime. They are personable, knowledgeable and exquisitely professional. They paid special attention to what we were interested in seeing and made every effort to give us the best viewing opportunities. They were excellent at their jobs and wonderful people as well.

I would be happy to go back there and stay for even longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms were great but the view from the deck of #1 was the best. We watched elephants wallow in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visited Djuma Vuyatela for 3 nights last month (July 2013) as part of a family holiday in South Africa, and we all had an amazing time!

The lodge itself is fantastic with a library, gym, museum, pool (bit cold to use though!), lounge area, dining area, bar area and a fire pit to sit around of an evening. There are 5 chalets and as there were 8 of us all together, we stayed in 4 of the 5 (with one chalet unoccupied). The rooms were all wonderful, luxurious, very spacious, clean and tidy and well kept. The lodge grounds were equally as fantastic with loads of wildlife to keep you busy if you're not one for relaxing, including loads of bird species, squirrels and antelope. The view over the waterhole was just exceptional though and really made my time at the lodge. One afternoon it was visited by a herd of at least 10 elephants (a number of them young calves) who drank and wallowed and eventually wandered off right past the chalets which was an experience that I'll never forget.

The lodge staff were excellent, tidying the rooms every day, maintaining the lodge and preparing amazing food. As it is a self catering lodge we weren't really sure what to expect. We went with the option of having a chef (an option we would highly recommend!) who we provided with food but didn't know whether we'd got the right sort of food or enough food but we needn't have worried. The chef and assistants knew exactly what they were doing and prepared some incredible food with what we had bought! A couple of nights we had a braai with salad and jacket potatoes and one night we had a vegetable curry.

Our guide Taxon and guide Amos were also fantastic. Taxon has been guiding for 18 years and has a wealth of knowledge regarding the wildlife and the local area. We had two drives a day (one early morning, the second in the afternoon into the early evening) and had some incredible sightings including two lion cubs up a tree.

Vuyatela was a fantastic place to both see wildlife and have some time to relax. Thank you Candice and the team for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were a party of six and visited Djuma Galago for 4nights. Note that six turned out to be a lucky number as there are just three magnificent chalets and as the camp takes 10 the other members would have had to sleep in the lodge, also good but less than in the chalets. The luxury chalets are very private and consist of a bedroom dressing area bathroom and outside shower. Special mention should be made of the patio decks where you can relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. The once present jacuzzi's have been filled in but this did not detract and the lodge has a swimming pool. The lodge is a self catering one there is a dedicated team to assist with table setting, dish washing ,fire making and preparing the coffee for the morning game drive. The area teems with game and we were fortunate to see leopard, hyena, elephants ,lions and rhino on multiple occasions. Two male lions with four females and some cubs on a fresh waterbuck killing was a highlight. The capable team of ranger Aubrey and tracker William ensured that we saw it all large or small from the Landrover or on a bush walk and we are very gratefull to them for this.
Treat yourself and visit Djuma a paradise on earth.

Room Tip: If there are three couples then there is a chalet for all. If more than six make sure you are one to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp

Address: Djuma Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Djuma Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Djuma Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp 3.5*
Also Known As:
Vuyatela Hotel Djuma Game Reserve
Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp South Africa/Djuma Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp to your Saves list