We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate combo of relaxation and adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dulini Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dulini Lodge
Save
You added Dulini Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 2894 | White River, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa (Formerly &Beyond Dulini)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon special
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The ultimate combo of relaxation and adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Sadly, this is our final day at dulini safari lodge. What an incredible stay it has been. The luxury, service, and attention to detail are exceptional but what I think really makes this lodge stand out is the quality of the staff. So warm and welcoming without any pretentiousness. To top it off the game drives are awesome with only 6ppl per jeep and fantastic drivers and trackers. Not only did they find the big 5 for us pretty much on our first day but their fun loving nature and sense of humour made the whole experience even more enjoyable. If you have the opportunity to stay at a safari lodge, I recommend dulini!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
168
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford ON Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We decided to try three different lodges in three different reserves this fall and Dulini shone above the rest in most categories and certainly in the most important- the game drives.
The owners, management, trackers, guides and staff all made us feel valued all of the time. I have already told a dozen friends this is the place to go to for a safari.

Room Tip: room 2 may have elephants coming to drink in your pool so if that is something that excites you requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spent a portion of our honeymoon at Dulini at it far surpassed any expectations we had, despite having read all the reviews. Truly the lap of luxury! What I was most impressed with was the attention to detail that the staff had. We were addressed by name from the moment we arrived (and not in the formal Mr./Mrs.) and made to feel part of the family. Since there are only 12 guests maximum at the lodge at any given time, they can really pamper you! Yes, it is a little on the expensive side, but the value for your money is DEFINITELY there.

Outside of the lodge, the game viewing is superb also. We saw all the animals we wanted to see and saw some really incredible things in addition. Our ranger Patrick was excellent and very knowledgable about the bush. He also remembered very well what animals we HADN'T seen and tried to find those.

All in all, our first visit to Sabi Sand was made very memorable by Ian and staff at Dulini. We can't wait to go back. Just one word of warning- watch out for the cute monkeys on the lodge grounds- they won't think twice about swiping your food! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at the start of a holiday in S Africa to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and it could not have been a better introduction to the country. The owners have clearly gone to great lengths to make the place feel part of the Game Reserve, so wild animals (including baboons who will ransack a room if given half a chance) do wander through the grounds all the time. In the evenings the guests had to be escorted to and from their suites in case there were dangerous animals lurking. Our suite was beautiful with a huge bed covered by an elegant mosquito net, and a bathroom with a bath tub in the middle of the floor, positioned so that you could look out at passing animals as you soaked.

The staff were brilliant. Our ranger Fred was a fund of knowledge on every creature we came across, and also had many witty anecdotes and stories to tell us. He had so much energy and enthusiasm for his work, which rubbed off on us as we set out on safari each day at 6 am. He and his tracker Martin were phenomenal at finding all the animals we wanted to see, including the "Big Five" and others such as the elusive wild dogs. I was initially quite shocked at how close we were able to get in our Land Rover to the animals in their natural habitat, without any barriers between us and them; we were often literally just a few feet from leopards and elephants, and even lion cubs devouring a kill; but I never felt unsafe.

As other reviewers have commented, being in a Land Rover with just 6 passengers (2 people in each row) is a great advantage. We never felt crowded or unable to get a good view. We were very impressed by Fred's expertise in driving off road in search of animals. And he sometimes topped off the experience by serving us with hot chocolate (on the morning safaris) or cocktails (on the evening safaris). This was certainly luxury safari travel.

One of the highlights was on the evening when a dozen of the kitchen staff walked in to dinner with a cake to celebrate the birthday of a fellow guest. After the usual singing of "Happy Birthday" they gave us a rendition of various African Gospel songs complete with harmonies and drums. It was just brilliant, and I wish we could have heard more from them.

The lodge only takes up to about 12 guests at a time, so we didn't feel as if we were on a production line of tourists. And the owner, Ian, was a good host, joining us all for dinner at the communal table and talking knowledgeably about African wildlife.

Room Tip: Probably all the rooms have private balconies overlooking the dry riverbed, which the wild animals s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything in the reviews below is true. Management and Staff make your trip as seamless and enjoyable as you would expect from the #1 rated lodge in TA. Top notch accommodations, service, food, safari experience etc. They really focus on the details. Thank you Dulini.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1, which I consider the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon at Dulini. This place is exceptional in every respect. From the first welcome from Poppy and the quick and simple check in to the farewell 4 days later from the team, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in awe of some of the details and the personal touches. These included several personalized hand written cards from our butler Maurice and having a hot bubble bath ready and steaming on our return from an evening game drive complete with sparkling wine and a candle lit in room dinner. No request was too much. We saw the big 5 plus many more animals. Our guide Dinamos and tracker Isaac were friendly, professional and did everything they could to deliver our requests for different animals. The food was excellent. Breakfast, lunch (especially the interesting salads) and dinners were all delicious. A different location for lunch and dinner each night and very varied and creative menus. I could go on and on. The only bad part was leaving, it was a bit sad. We will long remember our stay at Dulini with the fondest memories.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which I thought was a great location but I think each room has its unique benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I honestly do not think that anything I could ever say about Dulini will truly do it justice, but I will do my best to paint the picture of the wonderful experience my husband and I shared together. We visited South Africa for our honeymoon and our first safari stop was at Dulini Lodge in Sabi Sands. This was our first ever safari experience and we stayed for three nights. From the moment we arrived we were absolutely speechless by the breathing beauty that is Dulini; it is a perfect oasis that is hidden amongst the bush. As soon as we arrived to Dulini we ate lunch, and then went out on our first game drive with two other couples and Patrick, our ranger/driver, and Tyron, our game tracker. The first game drive left us completely speechless because not only did we see four of the Big Five, but our first sundowner (evening bush happy hour) was the most incredible experience to add to our first safari adventure. We pulled up to a large pool of water and immediately a head rose out of the water and wiggled its ears. As we got out of the Land Rover to enjoy our cocktails eight more hippo heads popped out of the water about ten feet away from the shore and continued to watch us as we downed our drinks. By the end of our time at Dulini we saw all of the big five, plus many of the additional animals we were hoping to see (cheetahs, wild dogs, zebra, giraffe, etc.), plus each of their respected babies. Patrick and Tyron are truly incredible at what they do and we had such a blast with them (they are hilarious!). Many of the animal sightings we saw were so rare that even Patrick and Tyron were snapping photos occasionally. For example, they said it had been over 6 months since a cheetah had been sighted and we got to see her with her two cubs!

So back to Dulini: our private lodge was absolute paradise and we loved spending down time lounging on our deck or cooling off in our plunge pool. I have to say the elephants also enjoyed the plunge pool very much as on our last day a smaller elephant wandered over to eat from the nearby trees and dip his trunk into the pool. The outdoor shower was so serene and perfect for the almost 100 degree weather we experienced. The food was some of the best I have ever had and sometimes it seemed like we ate five + meals a day; we definitely never went hungry. I have to say one of the main selling points of Dulini when we were searching for a safari lodge for our honeymoon was the immense privacy and the limited number of guests the lodge can accommodate at one time. Also, each game vehicle only takes out six guests at the most, which is great because you don’t feel crowded at all.

Every detail about Dulini Lodge was superb, including the staff members who were all incredibly kind and attentive. I definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a remarkable safari experience. Sabi Sands is so picturesque and we enjoyed its terrain and environment more than the Timbavati Private Game Reserve, which was a lot drier and there were days when the animals were pretty scarce. My husband and I are counting down the days until we can return to Dulini Lodge.

Room Tip: Our private lodge was close to the main pool and faced the riverbed. It was so beautiful and and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dulini Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Lodge

Address: PO Box 2894 | White River, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa (Formerly &Beyond Dulini)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under a leafy canopy of ebony trees, six luxurious stone cottages grace the banks of the Mabrak River. As one of only 12 guests, you feel instantly at home in this quiet retreat, where classic interiors enfold guests in quiet style and elegance. Generous private plunge pools and shady decks look out onto the dry riverbed. Large, welcoming sofas and African sculptures fill the gracious guest areas. Dine under the ancient jackalberry tree where skilled chefs serve delicious meals or steal away for an intimate dinner in the well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
&Beyond Dulini Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
And Beyond Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dulini Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.