We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johnston x 5” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nkorho Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nkorho Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Nkorho Bush Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Hluvukani, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Johnston x 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed your hospitality and again felt part of the family. It is clear that everyone is not only very competant in their role but enjoy sharing their skills The rooms are still your high standard,the food excellant and all the facilities are top notch. Many thanks,we will see you again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    35
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
108
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lovely accommodation with friendly, helpful staff and knowledgable tracker and game ranger. Food was good, but not fantastic - probably due to the fact that the chef was very new to the lodge. I am sure this will improve with his setting his stamp on the meals.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend - finding the big five was a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nkorho Lodge is situated on the edge of Kruger National Park and is part of Sabi Sands private game reserves. The lodge is small but that adds to its charm and makes staying there a very personal experience. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. But the main reason for going to Nkorho is the opportunity to see Africa's animals in their natural habitat and this is where Nkorho excels. The guides and trackers are experienced and knowledgeable and every drive is both different and exciting. Mornings start early and can be chilly and evening drives end after sunset so do take a warm jacket - although blankets are provided. On my 3 day trip I got to see the Super 7 (the big 5 + cheetah and wild dogs) aswell as many others. There is also the opportunity for bush walks to learn more about the trees and plants and to learn some of the mysteries of the elusive tracks that the guides seem to spot so effortlessly.

Dinners are eaten outdoors around an open fire and the food is excellent, varied and plentiful.
Singles, couples, groups and families are all equally welcome - but there are age restrictions on both drives and bush walks so do check.

Whilst not a cheap option I would nonetheless strongly recommend Nkorho as a 5star experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lovely stay,great staff,fab food,excellent bush walks & safari drives. Would recommend a stay here. Just be careful of hidden drinks costs, we thought cost included safari drink/snack but found it didn't when we were presented with the bill!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asnieres-sur-seine, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very nice place at Sabi Sand Game reserve, open borders with Kruger Parks. Games are very exciting with chief ranger Cédric, who tells you everything about the bush (try the bush walk). Good food and warm staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our third stay at Nkorho, having first come ten years ago. Each time we stay a little bit longer; this time for 5 days.

Finding the Gowrie Gate is not difficult though you will likely question whether you are going the right way at some point. Once through the gate signage easily directs you to the lodge.

Upon arrival you hand over your car keys and luggage is taken to your chalet. There are 7 chalets -- we stayed in #5 which used to be the honeymoon chalet until they built a newer and bigger chalet for this purpose.

The sleeping and bathroom areas are in one room (though a wall separates the toilet). There is a separate tub and both an indoor and outdoor shower (wonderful!). Our chalet also offered a large deck for lounging and watching the water hole. I did see the new honeymoon chalet and it is similar to ours but much larger with an indoor seating area, fireplace, and "dressing area".

The lodge has a small wine cellar offering South African wines for purchase. There is also a nice bar with the only connection to the outside world -- a tv, which was generally showing some sport while we were there. Wifi is available for a fee but I would recommend staying "disconnected" for the stay, as we did.

There is a large deck with plenty of places to relax, be it in the sun or shade, not to mention the infinity pool (as well as a separate small pool for the kids). Meals are served outside -- breakfast on the deck an dinner in the boma (sometimes with entertainment).

The day goes like this -- wake up "call", morning drive, breakfast, bush walk, relax time, lunch, evening drive, dinner and bed, though we always first stopped at the bar for drinks and conversation with the rangers before retiring. Times of activities vary based on the season of one's visit.

Our guides for this visit were Cedric (ranger) and Freeman (tracker). Cedric clearly has a passion for his work and a particular love of leopards and as a result we were fortunate to see about 8 or 9 different leopards during our stay (including cubs). We saw many different animals but my particular favorites were the pack of 16 wild dogs.

We also went on two bush walks during which Cedric educated us on the vegetation and uses as well as some animal and insect info -- always so interesting.

When checking out, luggage is taken care of for you (from room to car). Tip envelopes are provided for ranger, tracker and staff. Don't hesitate to ask for guidance on amounts.

We love the size of Nkorho and the relaxed atmosphere, without skimping on service. Fabulous as always!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Jankabar. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Wonderful that you saw the pack of 16 Wild dogs and enjoyed numerous Leopard sighting as well. We hope to see you back at the lodge in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Nkhoro Lodge as part of a Business trip to SA begin of May 2013.

This was my first ever Safari - what great experience! During our game drives we saw the big 5 after 2 days. Chad and Norman made a really great job. They showed us leopards, lions, cheetah, rhinos, buffalos, elephants, wild dogs (rare sighting), zebras, beautiful birds and much more. I was very happy to be there in the low season because there was plenty of space for my photo equipment and nobody blocked the view on the wildlife.

The lodge is with 7 bungalows quite small and intimate. The stuff is very friendly and the food well cooked. In the evening you can enjoy the dinner around a fire in the Boma under the African sky filled with stars. My bungalow no. 6 was spacious, clean and bathroom with double showers (inside as well outside). During the day you can go swimming in a infinity pool watching antelopes.

I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an affordable and comfortable lodge with animals a plenty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Owner at Nkorho Bush Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Roland Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and thank you for posting your amazing photos. We happy to see you back at the lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nkorho Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkorho Bush Lodge

Address: Hluvukani, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkorho Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled near the unfenced borders of the Kruger National Park this luxury four star Sabi Sand lodge offers a diverse abundance of classic African Wildlife. Nkorho Bush Lodge offers a comfortable environment in which to become one with nature, whether it be bird watching or game viewing from an open vehicle we offer a bushveld experience extraordinaire. Nkorho Bush Lodge creates and atmosphere of relaxation, sheer contentment a feeling of unity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nkorho Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkorho Bush Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Nkorho Bush Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nkorho Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.