We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Save
You added andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment we met Colleen at the entrance we were incredibly happy. The camp is beautiful and felt like a community. Every single person there was welcoming, food was delicious, and the ultimate in luxury for rooms. If you have the chance to visit them please do it! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
102
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband, Grandson aged 10 years and myself have just returned from staying at Kirkmans Kamp Kruger SA. it really was the best safari lodge we have ever stayed at and we have been on at least 8 safaris. The lodges were unique in that they were not thatched, so looked completely different from all the others.The decor and furniture were extremely comfortable and the beds huge. The area which had manicured lawns were vast and beautiful. The staff at most lodges are very good however Kirkman's staff excelled themselves, nothing was too much trouble and the food delicious and plentiful. Because we travelled in December to see young animals (which were more difficult to spot than at other times of the year), the ranger and tracker (we had the two Richards) were unbelievable good and amusing, thoroughly entertaining our grandson and making the whole safari experience wonderfully interesting and making our grandson's trip really special. Kirkmans is the best! Thankyou to them all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just got back from 3 wonderful days at Kirkmans. we have been to many game lodges before but this has been the best ever. our Ranger Richard and Tracker Richard were fantastic. Ranger Richard listened to what we wanted to see and do, he was very informative and taught us a lot more about the bush. As for Tracker Richard.....well we have never had such a good tracker before. He found everything and anything. We saw leopards, lions, and even a fantastic lion kill.
The rooms were stunning, very colonial so don't expect modern.....
I also had one of the best massages ever by a lovely lady called Zanele....a must to try.
We will be back SOON.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the second week of our honeymoon and it was beautiful. The food is delicious, the service is spectacular, and the game drives were unreal! All of the staff here are incredible, from our butler to the rangers and trackers, everyone was awesome and really made our honeymoon the experience of a lifetime. I would highly recommend staying here, the Sabi Sands reserve is beautiful and has some really great things to see, including 2 prides of lions, a few leopards (who just gave birth I believe a few days after we left), rhinos, hippos, and tons of giraffe and elephants, amongst many many other wildlife. We had the time of our lives here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

what a memory...our three nights here...our driver used the term "memory stick" and this experience at Kirkman's is certainly solidly lodged in that stick...it is a great setting...the food was excellent, a super staff, and the experience was just outstanding...our driver was Lennox Mathebula and he himself is an experience...we saw all of the Big Five and many more

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We are a group of 7 and visited Kirkman in August this year. We stayed here for four nights and did 6 games drives. Our ranger Bret and tracker Collin were good match. They worked very hard to show us the best experiences. Bret always drove off track and Collins often walked to trace animal footprints. As a result, we spent a lot of quality time and have much close encounter with each of the big 5s: lions, leopards, buffaloes, elephants and rhinos in our 6 game drives. We also learnt a lot of characteristics and behaviors of different animals. We saw two kills as well – lions eating a buffalo and leopard with an impala. The gaming activities were well organized. Bret constantly kept the control station and other rangers informed of our group’s whereabout and what animals we were viewing, likewise for the other rangers. Hence every ranger had real time information and he could make a decision whether to visit a particular spot with his group. At one point, our jeep got stuck in a hole, within 10 minutes, a jeep travelling nearby came and helped to pull us out. We never had a dangerous feeling although we were driving in the wild. We had a lot of pleasant surprises during our stay including breakfast at the bushes (with baboons/buffalos watching us) drinking champagne and eating ham and egg in the first morning. The food in the camp was a treat: always fresh, healthy and delicious. We were told the chef had put up a lot of effort in designing the meals. I personally liked the homemade muesli with yogurt the best. My friend liked the honey gazed ham with melon. The accommodation was top notch – same as top five star international hotels. There were comfortable mattresses and beddings. The amenities were well thought through. Everything (including alcohols) in the mini bar was inclusive. During the mid-day break between game drives, we played tennis/croquet and swam. Some of us also went for a service trip which was said to be a highly rewarding. There was so much to be talked about of our stay. It was just a life memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent two nights at Kirkman's in the middle of a two week business trip. It was one of the best experiences of hospitality and holiday adventure I have enjoyed anywhere. Great location with no sign of any neighbours, lovely old farmhouse hub with comfortable detached units, good food, great service - attentive, unobtrusive and with humour - thanks to Friday the butler. Special thanks to Elliot - ranger and Jaco? - tracker for some extraordinary game viewing experiences. Perhaps we were lucky, but I suspect that what we saw has more to do with the skill and experience of the team. Sunset drinks on the sandy riverbed watching the buffalo and hyenas was something.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of safari comes alive at historic Kirkman’s Kamp. Step back in time into the gracious early settler atmosphere of this original 1920s homestead and marvel at the spectacular views of the unspoiled wilderness from each of the 18 guest cottages and the lodge’s rim-flow swimming pool. Rolling lawns carve out a niche in a wild and tumbling wilderness that hosts memorable game viewing in one of the most renowned Big Five wildlife regions in the world. Spacious sitting, dining and bar guest areas contain original mementos of a time long past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkman`s Kamp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
AndBeyond Kirkman's Kamp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.