We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savanna Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Save
You added Savanna Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R536, Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Savanna Lodge for 3 nights at the end of September and as recommended by our travel advisor this would be a fitting culmination of our 3 week trip around Southern Africa.

The lodge was lovely, the staff exceptionally welcoming and friendly and our guide and tracker were fantastic!! Of course, the game drives were the main attraction and getting up at 5.00am well worth it! Seeing leopard, elephant, lion, etc, etc in their natural environment was exceptional as were our guide David's great 4WD skills taking us where no self respecting safari vehicle would be destined to go - an adrenaline rush as well as a safari experience!!.

The food was naturally terrific as well and it was also very heartening to see the Savanna philosophy of giving back to the community in the form of supporting the local orphanage and nearby village.

All in all an experience not to be missed - a jewel in the crown of safari experiences in Southern Africa. Thanks to everyone who made this such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms would be wonderful - each offer something different and depending on your budget some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manger at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear lovekiwiland

We appreciate your review and are so pleased you enjoyed your safari adventure with us.
Working with and helping the local community is, as you mentioned very important to us.
Thank you for choosing Savanna and we hope to see you again one day.

Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
111
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first safari/bush drive experience and we couldn't believe the quality of product this fine company delivered. This is an all-inclusive resort that doesn't have hidden charges. Not only does the resort provide daily laundry, mini-bar/snake replacement, and exceptional meals, the staff at all levels delivers top-drawer service.

You are offered two drives each day (5:30am and 14:00) which usually last for four-hours. The trackers and guides/driver really know the terrain, animals, and weather conditions. You will not be disappointed in the variety of animals and the depth of coverage. At the end of the day, this is a hands-on educational tour that is wide ranging in scope and detail.

Even though there are other fine lodges in this major game reserve, we will highly recommend SPGR to all our friends. Make sure to bring, a thirst, appetite, plenty of battery/disk space, and appreciation for a wonderful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: You have the choice of deluxe (without your own pool) and luxury (with pool). We had the deluxe and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear psgeorockclimber

Thank you for the wonderful review, recommendation and of course for choosing Savanna as your first safari experience.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return one day.

Thank you again
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sometimes you experience something that leaves you wondering, "did that really happen." Savanna is one of those experiences. My wife and I spent a night at Savanna (far too short a stay but it was the only possibility given schedules) in mid-October and are still pinching ourselves! Paddy and team were exceptionally knowledgeable, attentive, and hospitable. We will most certainly be back.

Upon arrival we received a welcome drink and were shown to our room (Executive Suite) - the room was spacious, featured his/her arrangements and an indoor/outdoor shower, and had A/C, a mosquito net, and a ceiling fan. After our afternoon game drive with Paddy, we returned to a rose petal decorated room and hot tub and a bottle of champagne (we were celebrating our anniversary) - very thoughtful! Dinner featured live performances, cocktails, delicious hors d'oeuvres, and a tasty buffet.

As an avid photographer, I was in photographer's paradise! We saw more game in a 24-hour period (2 game drives - one afternoon and one evening drive) than I could have ever imagined seeing - leopards, lions, elephants playing in the water, black rhino, baboons, vulchers, crocodile, hippos, buffalo, etc. A photographer himself, Paddy was great about positioning the vehicle and turning it off where possible to allow us to capture some amazing shots. During the game drives he was great about sharing insights and providing context - his vast experience in Sabi Sand is unparalleled.

We had a 10am pick-up scheduled on our last day and ended up cutting it kind of close (we got caught up at a brilliant leopard and lion sighting) - Paddy got on the radio and arranged for his team to pack us a to-go breakfast box, which was excellent. The team was on top of all the logistics and ensured that we had a phenomenal experience in every way possible.

We spent a few days at Kapama Karula as well and loved having an opportunity to experience two different game reserves. Kapama and Sabi Sands are different, both in terms of landscape and frequency of encounter with various game - for example, we saw multiple leopards while at Savanna and but didn't see any at Kapama. On the flip side, we saw more lions at Kapama (alpha male, lionesses, cubs) than we did in Sabi Sand. The unpredictability is part of the fun!

We're very particular about attention to detail and service - Paddy and team exceeded our wildest expectations. I can't recommend Savanna highly enough. If you have the opportunity to stay here, seize it - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear iVacationer

Thank you for the excellent review and detailed description of your stay with us.
Your photographs are wonderful, thank you for posting them.
At Savanna we firmly believe that the safari and your game viewing experience comes first, it is after all the main reason you have travelled so far to get to us!
We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you celebrated your anniversary with us, we hope that when you do visit again you will be able to spend a bit more time at the lodge.

Thank you again
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The 4 nights and 5 days we had at Savanna Lodge were quite unbelievable! Five star accommodation, service and food, staff that couldnt have been more attentive if they tried, expert ranger (Patrick) and tracker (James) whose knowledge got us around on the jeep and provided some wonderful encounters with the wildlife. This lodge has to be experienced personally to really comprehend how special a place it is. Eleven out of ten! David and Bruce

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Warrnambool368

Thank you for the wonderful 11/10 rating and review!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again on day.

Best wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently stayed at Savanna Lodge and can't speak highly enough of the whole experience. Appropriate words to describe it are magical, exceptional, perfect! Nothing could be improved upon. The staff were highly professional and so friendly they felt like family. We loved the accommodation, the food, the service and hospitality, and, last and most, the game drives. We were honoured to have Paddy as our ranger who shared his wealth of knowledge and experience with us. Our tracker, James, helped us find all the Big 5 plus so much more. It was all so easy and just an amazing adventure. Something truly out of the ordinary.

Natasha, Kelly and Patrick will also have a special place in our memories as will everyone at Savanna. Not many things in this life are perfect but Savanna is! We would love to return there and hope we can some day. In the meantime we have wonderful memories and fantastic pictures! We highly recommend Savanna Lodge.

Room Tip: We loved Suite #8 with our own private plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Anne T

Thank you for the fantastic review and recommendation.
We are so pleased that you left with magical memories and that all aspects of your stay with us met your expectations.
We hope that we will see you again on day.

Best wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night safari extravaganza at Savanna Private Game Reserve. Everything we encountered from the knowledgable staff to the guest amenities was fantastic. I did not expect that quality of food on a safari, it far exceeded my expectations. The safari itself did not disappoint either. We saw the "Big 5" many times over along with a multitude of other species, all of which our guide knew endless amounts. I'm sure other reserves offer similar experiences but Savanna stands apart by incorporating flexibility with everything, from dining location to length of game drives. The best part of it for me was the personal touch. Everyone on the staff learned my name, it really felt like I was part of the camp during my stay. In closing, I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Muneer B

Thank you for the “Amazing” review and of course for choosing to stay at Savanna Private Game Reserve.
We really strive to ensure that every guest at the lodge is treated as an individual and that means ensuring there is flexibility in all aspects of your safari.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and also hope that we will see you again soon.

Best wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Well, where do I begin. Savanna Lodge was absolutely perfect. It totally exceeded our expectations. If I could rate it higher than "excellent" in all the categories - I definitely would.

The lodge, the staff and the animals (of Sabi Sands – especially, the elephants, my favourites) all combined to make our holiday (to celebrate my 50th birthday/our 25th wedding anniversary) truly memorable. We honestly could not think of a single thing that could be done to improve our stay of four nights.

Greg, was our ranger, and we were impressed by his extensive knowledge of the animals and the area - and he was just a really nice guy! Pumi was our butler and he was absolutely fantastic. All the girls in the office, the other rangers and staff – they were all fantastic. And fancy coming back after a long game drive in the evening to a beautiful, bubble-filled bath and two glasses of sherry!!! Truly exotic!

The one negative about Savanna was the fact that we must have each gained about 5kgs! The meals were amazing and the cooks were very proud of what they created. You could tell the food was prepared with love!

We also visited the orphanage which Savanna supports as we had "Packed for a Purpose". That was a very moving experience and we felt humbled by being allowed to meet the staff and children. I would encourage other guests to get involved in this very worthwhile project and take up the opportunity to visit the orphanage in person.

I can understand why some guests are moved to tears when they leave Savanna - but I had to be strong!. We felt we had made good friends among the staff and other guests and it was extremely difficult to say goodbye.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannalodge, Marketing Manager at Savanna Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear EllPee

Thank you for the Excellent review and feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are so pleased that from the staff to food to game viewing experience Savanna exceeded your expectations.
The meals taste so good because they are prepared with love and I too find myself heavier after spending a few days at the lodge!

Thank you for supporting the children at the Orphanage, it is such a heart warming experience and a worthy cause.

We do hope to see you again soon.
Warm wishes
The Savanna Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savanna Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savanna Private Game Reserve

Address: R536, Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savanna Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savanna Private Game Reserve is a luxury five star Game Reserve in the Sabi Sands South Africa. The Sabi Sands is acknowledged as the best area in the world for leopard viewing. Our object at Savanna is to give our guests the best wildlife experience possible. See guest comments on Trip Advisor to see just how our guests are blown away by the Savanna Experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savanna Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savanna Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.