We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idube: Animals abound!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge
Save
You added Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Idube: Animals abound!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Idube lodge has a great atmosphere, lovely lodges and more animals on the reserve than expected. Rob and Ron, our ranger and tracker knew a lot about the habitat and animals and made excellent efforts to track and watch so many different viewings. I would highly recommend this lodge and reserve.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Nancy.

It was a pleasure having you, your husband and mom in law in camp. Thank you for the wonderful review and hope to have you back at Idube soon.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    18
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
114
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent two nights at Idube in early April. We could not believe how clsoe they got us to the aminals. We watched Leopards hunt, got within a few metres of a pack of lions as the ate dinner - moms & cubs together, we saw numrous elephants so close you could smell their breath. We had always heard that a private game experience could get you close - but this was surreal. We stayed in the new Suites with the private plunge pools - it felt like a private cottage in the African wild - we highly recommend upgrading to these suites!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Andrew

We are glad you had a wonderful stay at Idube and got the experience of an African Safari you have always been looking for. The Makubela suites are awesome and we hope to have you back at Idube soon.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had such a great time in Idube!! we had gone with our kids and grand kids--Andrew and Laura who run the place are such warm people!! They make one feel so special!! The lodge is very comfortable and the cook is fantastic! will recommend the place to everyone who desire to go to Kruger!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind response. Myself and Lauren do strive to run Idube as the best we can. We hope we can welcome you back soon to Idube.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I just spent 3 days in april at Idube and really enjoyed it. Its a smallish lodge, with very nice bungalows, comfortable and "african style" decorated. In the big garden,you can observe nyala, ververt monkeys, warthogs and birds. Food is very tasty.

The main thing is the wildlife, and I had excellent sightings whilst staying at Idube. Andries (our ranger) and Ronald (our tracker) are great, and allowed us to see a lot. Including one of my best sightings ever in 6 trips to Southern Africa - 3 female lion, with 7 cubs (3, 5 and 8 months old) playing, fighting, possing. That was absolutely amazing !

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Natalie

What wonderful news to hear you had a great stay at Idube. Just some news on the lion cubs. They are growing fast and are very playful. We also had new additions to the other lion pride with 8 cubs and the third female pregnant. Hope you are going to be coming back to see them all before they are to big.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I just stayed at Idube (3/27/13-3/30/13)and I had such an amazing time. Upon arrival we were welcomed and given a late lunch and informed on the camp and schedule. We had Rob for a ranger/driver the whole time and he was just great. He and Louie (spotter) were able to make the drives so amazing as the spotted things that I would never have!! Those four days we not only saw the big five but got lucky enough to see wild dogs, hyenas, a cheetah, wildebeest, giraffes and so much more. The camp itself was very nice and for each dinner the chef would come out and explain the meals. The chef kept note of my friends nut allergy to ensure she can eat, which was nice. I just absolutely loved the experience at Idube. I did all the drives and my friend did one of the bush walks which she said was really nice and personalized. Like other reviewers have said there is no TV or internet is spotty, but I think that added to a sense of serenity for me. I would absolutely go back to Idube.
A note for anyone with mobility issues. I have hip and foot issues and was a little anxious about how I would get on those safari jeeps and how comfortable I would be. There is a ramp that the jeep drives up to which made getting on and off the jeep a few quick and easy steps. Rob was an incredible driver and I did not feel any discomfort throughout the drives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
At Idube we want to show you more than just the big 5 and I am glad you experienced that. We strive to make sure that if you have any allergies we accommodate your needs. We are hoping to see you back at Idube soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The four nights at Idube were the absolute highlight of our three week SA trip. Promise and Titus made our game drives unforgettable with multiple sightings of the big 5 and much more (wild dogs, hyenas, black mamba, zebras, giraffes). Incredible how those guys managed to see the most interesting situations including leopards eating a kill in the trees and lion cops. Additionally, we liked the atmosphere in the camp which made guests get into contact very easily. We met very nice people from all around world and loved to listen to the stories rangers telling of encounters with predators in the camp. If I would need to mention one negative point it is the gym which has it's best days seen. Last but not least, we enjoyed the food prepared by chriz and her team very much. Thanks to all of the Idube team for these amazing days.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sascha

Thank you for the wonderful review. We do enjoy showing you all the animals in the bush even it is more than just the big 5. I do agree with you on the gym and we have ordered a new treadmill as it was the one in worst condition. I hope to welcome you back to Idube soon.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had an amazing time as part of our honeymoon at Idube. Saw everything we wanted to and more. We didn't care so much about the big five but we really wanted hyenas which there were just hanging outside of camp!!
Our room was epic as had a private pool and its bloody hot there so literally sat in it and read my book for hours!
Vessel was our ranger and he was amazingly knowledgable and took us on extra walks as there's not much to do during the day between safaris.
Take a book or two as Internet in patchy and there no tv and its really super hot during the day so u tend to hide from the sun if u aren't in the pool!
Also take some snacks as there is not even a vending machine and if u get there after two dinner isn't till 8 and u will be starving. Also take your own drinks etc as the normal rooms have no mini bar so u have to wait till meal time for those also and once your seated that tends to be the end of drink service. These aren't criticisms as we totally loved it, but we just would take some extra nibbles etc ( we are small people but big eaters i dont think anyone else had this issue) next time as we do plan on returning one day.
Our time at Idube is definitely amount our highlights of our trip, however I would only stay again if we could get the same room as its worth paying a bit more as you do spend a bit of time there and you can sit in pool while watching the animals as the view is awesome.
This place is perfect size also as its quite social and you meet everyone so you feel quite safe and comfortable
Thanks vessel (not sure I've spelt that right) and jo for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Room 2 Makabela, best view, most private, private pool- awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewGaylord, General Manager at Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Fetty

Thank you for a lovely response to your stay at Idube. We glad you got see what you requested as it is always not possible to fulfill everyone's wishlist. I do however would like to let you know there is a TV in the lounge where you got internet. It is not used much and maybe that is why you missed where it was. Our internet is very slow due to it being transmitted via a radio link to the distant mountains. Unfortunately the internet in the bush is not of a high standard. The bar is manned so if you are in a normal room you can walk on over to the bar and place an order. Unfortunately we don't put food in the rooms cause it attracts unwanted animals into the rooms. If you arrive after lunch we do hold lunch for you so that you do get a snack in before game drive and dinner. I hope to see you and your husband for your 1 year anniversary at Idube.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idube Game Reserve is a safari lodge situated in the Sabi Sand Reserve, in the heart of South Africa’s premier wildlife conservation area of the Greater Kruger Park. Game, including the Big 5, is viewed really close by from open Land Rovers, or spotted on guided walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idube Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idube Private Game Reserve Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.