We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible animal encouters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arathusa Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Save
You added Arathusa Safari Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible animal encouters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

This was my first safari experience and something I was extremely excited about and the game viewing did not disappoint. I would be here all day listing all the animals we saw, but it included the Big 5 and many extras which were unexpected, but made the trip eg. 8 week old Jackal puppies! The big cat sightings were superb and our driver Ryan and tracker De Beers were a pleasure providing information and stories which enhanced the experience. Animals aside it was a joy being in the bush and enjoying the vastness and beauty - the sundowners were a lovely chance to soak up your surroundings.

I enjoyed my stay in the lodge and found it relaxing and enjoyed meeting other guests. However, our room needed a bit of a facelift and there were a number of holes in our mosquito net which did lead to a number of bugs in the bed!! This was rectified once mentioned and all the staff were warm and friendly and had some great stories to share showing great passion for the animals and area. I also thought the food was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was always great and lunch was not too bad (although a lighter option would have been preferred), but dinner was not great. I think the problem is that the lodge tries to cook gourmet food and falls short...it would have been nice just to enjoy a South African braai!

The one thing that did annoy me was the amount the lodge recommended guests should tip the drivers and trackers. Arathusa is quite good value for money in comparison to some lodges, but is still expensive and the amount they suggested for tips was extortionate. Of course guests can make a judgement call which is what we did, but this is something that should be reviewed as I know a number of guests felt the same way as me.

I would recommend the lodge as the viewing was amazing and as a result I had a magical stay. The other things fade away when you have such treasured memories of all the animal sightings.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    61
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
298
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

I can only reinforce the positive reviews below (I think the person with the safety issue has slightly misunderstood the concept of a safari lodge). Although one of the cheapest options in the Sabi Sands, I can't imagine that any of the pricer lodges could offer much more. The food was good (although not outstanding) and plentiful, the rooms are lovely, huge bed, enormous bathroom with outside shower, the staff are all friendly, efficient and helpful and the location is stunning. The safari drives, however, are the absolute star of the show - I chose Arathusa based on the leopard sightings and we weren't disappointed - SIX different leopards in six game drives. Our ranger and tracker (Jason & Roy) were outstanding, knowledgeable, happy to answer a million questions and amazing at finding us the best sightings.
Highly recommended - book it quickly!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We chose Arathusa based on its positive reviews and we can only reinforce them after the wonderful time we had during our 5-day stay. The lodge is as beautiful as its pictures on the wedsite, the food was good, lovely chalets (beds comfy), and great service, but the best was what we came for: seeing animals living in the wild. Our ranger, Ryan and tracker, De Beer were key to our experience with their attentiveness, knowledge and skills. Every drive was full of life and action but highlights were leopards and a pride of lions (8 cubs) dining on their kills, leopards mating, giraffes and the big 5 with young, and a close encounter with a big bull elephant. And it didn't end there--in the lake and on the range beyond, we were treated daily to vists from zebras, monkeys, impalas, kudus, water buck, the resident hippo and elephants having a swim. The open and intitmate concept of the lodge, with its African ambiance, was relaxing and encouraged interaction with other guests from all over the world. It was a long way to come from western Canada, but it was well worth it! Suffice to say, we heartily recommend Arathusa!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Arathusa, food, accomodation and friendly helpful staff made it a perfect stay. A special thank you for Ryan and De Beer for making the drives so interesting. We will be back for more.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Guests are exposed to unacceptable risks should there be medical emergency, maintenance issue or animal breach.

Chalets are sited in game reserve. Yet owner failed to provide for contingency in the event of emergency communication. Owner has been operating lodge for past 3 years and has not thought of providing a fog horn in each room pending eventual installation of telephone system.

Lodge owner-cum-operator also has no concept of "service recovery" and refuses to compensate for exposing guests to such unacceptable safety hazards.

For the price charged, they don't even provide one bottle of water/guest/day!

  • Liked — Wildlife sightings on game drives
  • Disliked — Lack of "service" and "recovery" concepts by lodge owner/operator
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

we would go back at any time, it was the experience of a life time. very relaxed atmosphere. The guides were enthusiastic and informative and made everything fun. All the staff were so helpful and the surroundings were wonderful. We were able to sit outside our rooms , pool or dining table and watch elephants, hippos, impala.kudu,zebra,baboons and many other things. this is what we wanted from this SAFARI ! The food was mainly very good with one or two exceptions at dinner(keep it simple). However the experiece of seeing lions, leoperds,buffalos,rhinos , hyenas and wild dogs with pups was spectacular. We also met many very interesting people. Wow!! You have to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

The game drives were fantastic! We saw the big 5 in two drives. We even saw African Wild Dogs four days in a row. We even stayed with the wild dog pack while they were hunting and saw them face off with hyenas then make two kills. A vehicle with Elephant Plains was following the dogs but turned back. I over heard the ranger tell the people that they could not stay with the dogs because they were going into thicker bush and it was getting dark. The Elephant Plains guests missed the face off with hyenas and both kills. It was not too dark to see. The rooms were nice, but the mattress has seen better days. We plan on returning. We had the best time at Arathusa!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arathusa Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.