We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lodge and very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arathusa Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Save
You added Arathusa Safari Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodge and very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great lodge with bungalows that have excellent views over the watering hole. Very large rooms and comfortable beds. The bathroom did have a constantly bad smell after one flush of the toilet but it wasn't such a bad smell that it permeated too far into the room but it was a little annoying. The front porches were such a nice place to have a drink anytime of day.

The common areas were very nice with a small swimming pool and nice library area.

The meals were very large and superb. I was very impressed with the quality of the food here but beware you have to be ontime as we were 15 minutes late for lunch one day and they had removed our chairs and utensils.

The game drives were superb with excellent guides and trackers. They really knew the property well and were extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife including the birds.

I don't think the luxury rooms provide that much more except for private pools.

If you are booking on your own make sure to ask about car and air transfers, as the small plane transfer was not that much more then the car and saved us a lot of time.

Room Tip: The room near the spa is very nice because it is on the end of the watering hole and at night only h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    61
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
299
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Lodge is built in a fantastic location by the side of a lake where hippos, impala, water buck and birdlife abound. It consists of around 20 lodges each with a good size bedroom, bathroom with interior and exterior showers and dressing room. Furnishings are tasteful and good quality, the bed sheets are fine linen and the bed really comfortable. There is a very effective mosquito net covering the bed at night. A small kitchen area behind our bedroom with fridge stocked with water, beer, wine and fresh milk came in very handy. Each lodge has its own air con unit and very effective it is too. The lodges are detached and have their own veranda where you can sit and watch the wildlife in the lake or the frequent visitors such as impala who wander around the grounds.

My wife and I stayed for three nights and it was a most idyllic stay. At night we dined in three different areas each evening, once in a candle lit boma with an open fire, then by the lake and in the main restaurant. The menu was enthusiastically announced each evening by the young chef who took great pride in her work. For example, one evening we had broccoli soup, a lamb casserole (very tasty), cream caramel and some lovely South African wines. Breakfasts are cooked to order and there is plenty of choice. Staff at the lodge were friendly, polite and were very helpful throughout our stay. The lounge is open sided with a bar, comfortable chairs and a small infinity pool with loungers set on the decking.

What we had both been waiting for were the game drives and we were not disappointed. An early morning call at 5.00am a cup of tea or coffee and on our way by 5.30am. We had Debeer and Adam as our scouts and they were both excellent. Debeer in particular was like an encyclopaedia when it came to information on the birds and animals, their habits and most importantly of all where to find them. Time and again he outshone the other rangers by finding us leopard, elephant, lion, giraffe, zebra and a very elusive rhinoceros. On one occasion as dusk fell we were trundling along in the land rover and Adam stopped, walked back 20 paces and picked a small chameleon from one of the tree branches which he bought to show us. How he saw that at speed and in the diminishing light we will never know. What stars he and Debeer were.

To summarise, you can be sure of a very comfortable and welcoming stay at Arathusa with good food and outstanding game drives. We would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the African bush and great lodgings in a most beautiful setting. Well worth a return visit and we will one day.

Room Tip: Lodges nearest the lake are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great 3 days at the Arathusa Lodge. Wonderful food, perfect setting, loved the hippos, great sundowners, and warm and friendly staff. our guide was Dee and our tracker was Derrick - both were vey knowledgable and kept us entertained. Recommend this place highly!

Room Tip: We stayed at one the luxury suites, and the extra walk each day was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I spent just two nights at Camp Arathusa in September 2013, and it was amazing!
For our first safari we had divided our trip into two nights at Camp Shawu in Kruger followed by two nights at Arathusa in the Sabi Sands reserve, where we hoped for a better chance to see a leopard.
Chrisna from “Siyabona” organized our itinerary.
After the small camp and almost family atmosphere of Shawu, Arathusa was not only bigger, but seemed very structured, organized and professional, appealing to a lot of European and American visitors with a bigger and more specialized staff. However Arathusa offered its own unique charms and truly amazing experiences. Solid walls and windows, air conditioning and a private deck with a tub made for a very comfortable stay. The frequent and creative meals - braai in the boma, breakfast in the bush or just lunch in the open space by the watering hole - did not leave much time to actually enjoy the cabin.
The camp itself is not surrounded by fences; armed escorts become neccessary between dusk and dawn. A wandering elephant herd might block access to your cabin, a hyena prevent you from leaving the vehicle, kudus watch you in the outdoor shower or a hippo waiting at your front door in the morning.
Our ranger/tracker team of Sean and DeBeer was very knowledgeable and made every effort to give us the best game drive experiences. While wildlife seemed less abundant than in Kruger, a pack of lions devouring a fresh kill and a leopard on the hunt made for very unique sightings. Sean even took us on an impromptu bush walk, because we were not going to be there for one of the scheduled walking excursions, and his fascination with the local birds gave everything a personal twist.

We arrived at Arathusa later in the afternoon than expected and missed the first evening game drive. While the drive looked short on the map, and google gave us a faster route, local instructions from Simon our ranger at Shawu added about 2 hours to the trip. Apparently google is not always aware of the actual road conditions in Africa and would have sent us through rather rough and in the end slower and longer driving. As it was, the part of the drive in the Sabi Sands reserve is not on paved roads.
Wildlife sightings in Kruger added time to the drive as well.
These are things to keep in mind when planning time for a drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

After 2 weeks camping in Botswana - this was a little slice of paradise! I had a wonderful 4 days and wanted to stay much longer. Would highly recommend to anyone.

I had picked Arathusa because of their extensive traversing rights and was extremely pleased with the wildlife sightings. 6 leopard (one on several occasions including making a kill in front of us), 4 lions several times, cheetah, buffalo, white rhino (including a 3 day old calf that was the cutest thing EVER!), elephant (including mud bath), leopard tortoise, lots of antelope (impala, waterbuck, bushbuck, nyala, grey duiker, steenbok), birds, giraffe, warthog, zebra, wildebeast, jackel, hyena (including cubs), and the ever present hippos. One afternoon I could see 5 different species at the waterhole at one time - just sitting at my room! If your number one goal is to see wildlife - Arathusa is an excellent choice.

I have to specifically point out that Roy (guide) and Derrick (tracker) went out of their way to make a dream come true for me - with luck and a lot of skill, they tracked down a leopard named Karula for me. It's not every day someone makes your dreams come true so they will always hold a special place in my heart.

Did my shower leak? Sure, but the room was so huge I just moved my suitcase over a few feet!

Was the food the best ever? Not quite - but it was very good and very plentiful!

The staff was overall incredibly lovely, friendly and willing to bend over backwards at the slightest request. As a single traveler I was a problem for the gentleman in charge of the dining room, but after a short discussion he agreed that I should be able to sit where I wanted and it was not difficult to move my place setting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwEnQ3Ft-ag

Room Tip: Jackelberry is the room attached to the spa - last one you can walk to on your own. It ROCKS! You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I agree with pretty much everything others have said - great game drives, super guides and trackers, fabulous chef and food.

However, I am writing this review just to disagree with so many statements I've seen that the luxury room is not worth it. The standard rooms are lovely, we looked at one. But the luxury rooms are pretty sick! Not only is the room huge, but it's so super private and has an amazing deck with plunge pool. For our honeymoon, it was sweet. You can run around naked all day feeling like you're in the middle of nowhere (which you completely are). There's nothing like feeling you're in the middle of the bush all by yourselves.

We loved Arathusa, but for us, the room was a huge part of the romance of it. Highly recommend for a honeymoon or romantic trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at Arathusa with our two kids aged 13 and 16. What a wonderful experience we all had The safaris themselves 5 am and 4:30pm were very exciting. We saw the Big Five by the time we left as well as many other animals .The lodge food is fabulous. My son has life threatening allergies to peanuts and eggs. They removed all nuts from their kitchen during our stay so that my son could eat all of their food. They even brought him special egg free muffins at breakfast time ( the height of personal attention) The Lodge is top class and we felt very privileged to be there. Thank you Arathusa- we will all remember this experience forever

Room Tip: Standard rooms are better than the luxury rooms as closer to dining areas and lounge room and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arathusa Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.