We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close up with the animals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arathusa Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Save
You added Arathusa Safari Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close up with the animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our group of four recently spent three nights at Arathusa. It was an excellent experience from the airport pick up in Hoedspruit through our final breakfast.The staff is gracious and attentive, the food is delicious and beautifully presented, and our ranger, Brandon, and tracker, Roy, were outstanding. We were all taken aback by how close we were able to get to the animals and how clever Brandon and Roy were at locating them. The three-hour drives flew by. It was a great privilege to see the lions, leopards, elephants, rhinos, buffalo, cheetahs, giraffes and more in their natural habitat. A bonus was getting to know the other visitors at meals and on the drives.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    67
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
70
321
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

My first safari experience and it was awesome! Nice lodge set in a private reserve. We went for 4 game rides and managed to see just about every animal except the cheetah. Our ranger Brendan and tracker Roy, were excellent! Food was also great. Overall a very nice experience! It was however a rather long car ride of 3 hours from the airport though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Luxury suite, went to sleep by the sounds of the Hyenas and other nocturnal wildlife. Wake to a variety of antelope in the back of the suite. Facilities are impeccable, staff very friendly and fun loving people. The chef tantalized your taste buds at meal times with creative and delicious feasts. The two a day game drives in open air vehicles were always unique never being able to anticipate what was around the next curve in the bush. The ranger and tracker would not rest until you saw and experienced in the wild what you came to see.
The foot bush walk is not to be missed as a wild adrenaline rush in this environment is one of a kind. We have been back in the USA for 3 weeks and cannot stop talking about the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Luxury suites are up to a kilometer from the main facilities, easy strait walk and usually accompani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the best holiday I have ever had. The lodge was fantastc. Food amazing and we saw the big 5 during our 5 days there. The ranger and tracker who looked after us on each game drive were truely passionate about the animals and had the greatest respect for them.Ryan and his tracker were determined that we saw the lions before our departure and they succeeded. A big thank you to them and all the staff at Arathusa Lodge for making this a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: Choose the standard chalets instead of the delux ones, as the standard were right by the big water h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived and building work was going on building a new reception we were,nt aware of this and actually drove away as it didn't look like a game reserve . We were then chased and told we were at the right place ! so that was a bit disappointing not the reception we were expecting . However once inside we were very happy with what we saw nice bar over looking the water hole where hippos were happy wallowing. We were then taken to our luxury rooms which were at least 400 meteres away from the main buildings and were told we would have to be escorted after dark by a ranger because of the wild life !!!! . I wasn't aware we would be so far out on our own and in hindsight would have preferred to stay in a normal room on the main complex, I was,nt brave enough. And whilst unpacking saw a zebra outside our window whilst amazing didn't make me want to go and sit outside on the deck and use the plunge pool.The 4.30 am safari and 5 pm safari were amazing and we saw The BIg Five . Trackers and rangers excellent . The food was very good and the chefs presentations were brilliant . All in all was an amazing experiance and would definantly return , how ever in a room nearer the main complex

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are quite a walk from the main camp quite isolated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had the most amazing vacation at Arathusa Safari Lodge.

ACCOMMODATIONS:
We stayed in one of the luxury suites. The suite was beautiful and had its own outdoor shower and plunge pool. The suite was a 5-10 minute walk from the main lodge and it did not have a view of the watering hole (that the other non-suite rooms enjoyed) but the many pros of the beautiful suites far outweighed these two small cons.

FOOD:
My mouth still waters just thinking about the food at Arathusa. The breakfast was made to order (eggs/sausages/bacon/mushrooms/tomatoes/etc) and paired with delicious muffins/breads, cereals, and fresh fruits. Lunch was very light, refreshing, and filling all at the same time; we had selections of light salads, pasta salads, sandwiches, and vegetables. Dinner was AMAZING. Each night, the dinner menu was introduced personally by the enthusiastic chef. The night always started with a fantastic appetizer and followed by two different entrees. One entree was usually a "normal" meat such as chicken/beef/fish and the other entree was usually a more "adventurous" meat such as kudu/impala/springbok. Dinner concluded with a tasty dessert. Did I mention that dinners were amazing? =)

GAME DRIVES:
We saw all big 5 during our stay at Arathusa. Our ranger Brett and tracker Rifus were top notch. They worked really well together and they were able to find us so many amazing animals. Brett and Rifus really made the game drives fun and exciting. We were so thankful that we were paired with such a wonderful ranger and tracker.

STAFF:
The staff are very friendly and helpful. After our game drives, they would greet us with warm/cold towels and a tasty complimentary alcoholic beverage; this was a very nice touch after getting back from the game drives.

SPA:
I had the most relaxing and amazing massage from Theodora.

OTHER:
Drinks are NOT included in the price, however, their drink prices were very reasonable.

For our whole vacation, we stayed at a total of 3 different lodges in South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Botswana. Arathusa definitely wins hands down for the best lodge ever!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury suites which had two cons: 1) These suites required a 5-10 minute walk fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healing, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We had an awesome time at Arathusa Safari Lodge. Everything was perfect. Brett, our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and we saw the big 5 on day one.
Accomodation was first class, we stayed in Maruia Lodge which was the furthest building away from the restaurant but we enjoyed the walk to and from the wonderful thatched roofed building as there was always something to see. One evening we saw a hippo on the way back and we are glad that Brett, our guide was with us as he calmly told us how to safely walk past it.
The restaurant and bar area was very good, the food was out of this world. You could tell that a chef (as opposed to a cook) was employed there and every meal time he announced with great delight the menu to follow to great applause from the guests. One evening we sat eating the 5 course evening meal with the pride of female lions sat watching us on the other side of the lake.

The game drives were simply fantastic. Brett and the tracker (who's name escapes me, sorry!) we're able to get us right amongst the animals. We found ourselves in the middle of a heard of elephants and we were able to observe at very close quarters lions and leopards hunting. We never actually witnessed the kill but we saw the lions tucking in to a zebra. Other highlights for me were the rhinos who are magnificent animals and just watching the dung beetles was very interesting too!

Friendly staff, excellent Accomodation and a well set out camp made this holiday very special. The vehicles were spending a lot of time off road which was very exciting as we followed the animals. Couldn't have had a better holiday. Yes there were a few bugs in our Accomodation but we did have a wonderful four poster bed to sleep in with a mosquito net round to keep the bugs at bay.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arathusa Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.