We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simbambili 5 star Game Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simbambili Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simbambili Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simbambili 5 star Game Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my second visit to a Thorny Bush game lodge having previously visited Shumbalala in 2011
Simbambili is in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve which is part of the Kruger National Park.
It does not get much better than this. The individual bungalow suites are exquisite and on par with any five star hotel in a major international city, each suite having a deck with its own plunge pool, sun beds and day bed overlooking the Bush.
The attention to detail in every aspect of the lodge was five star plus, from the housekeeping staff to the chefs, their can do attitude is very much displayed.
However, you can go to a five star luxury hotel in a major city, you don’t need to go into the middle of the Bush for those luxuries and the real reason for going into the middle of the Bush is to see the magnificent animals that the Kruger has to offer. Our tracker and guide was second to none. Having visited over half a dozen different game lodges over the 10/15 years you sometimes get the impression that the radio contact between various drivers and the pointing to the ground of the tracker in some instances is a bit of a theatrical act, but the professionalism and enthusiasm displayed by our driver Liam, together with determination to find a particular animal meant that during our three day stay we saw all the big five and many more animals in their nature habitat.
I look forward to visiting another Thorny Bush Lodge hopefully next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    18
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
117
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Chose this lodge to celebrate my husbands birthday and what a great choice.
Rooms were beautiful and private with a daybed outside to lounge on after returning from the game drives. Food was great and game viewing excellent with up and personal lion and leopard sightinging on each drive
Staff were wonderful and very attentive
Highly recommended and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at Simbambili in June of 2012 with a group of girl friends. We had an amazing time, the resort and rooms are beautiful & comfortable. All of our staff went out of the way to make our trip. Nochs was our waitress/butler while on property and she was a joy! We loved seeing her smiling face every morning and sharing stories with her around the fire. Our Ranger Richard and tracker Service put up with a rowdy group of giggling girls with a smile. They are both very knowledgeable and went out of the way to help us experience everything the park had to offer (finally found a Rhino!!!). You can not go wrong with this cozy and friendly place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the same. #1 is closest to the main lobby/dining room and they go out fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had the BEST time at Simambili during our honeymoon! Pierre - our ranger - was amazing! He knew everything about the bush, the animals, and made each drive exciting. He even taught us how to use our DSLR camera so we got the best photo results. We saw this big 5 within the first 2 days of our stay which was awesome, but obviously not expected. I loved the second drives of the day where we would stop to have a snack and enjoy the sunset.

The accommodations were BEAUTIFUL and the food was top notch. The staff made our honeymoon extra special by providing a private meal our last night, complete with a rose petaled bubble bath and champagne. Everyone was kind, lovely, and helpful during our entire stay. It was the HIGHLIGHT of our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Couldn't recommend this place enough. We were lucky to see two separate leopards during our stay AND a pack of African dogs which is largely unheard of! To top off the amazing safari, Simbambili really does give you a real feel of being on safari whilst enjoying all the luxuries you could possible want. Would love to re-visit this place again sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our stay at Simbambili Lodge was wonderful - the staff were lovely, th food was home-cooked and delicious - did not know Kudu was so good - and the rooms themselves luxurious, a real treat. We saw elephant up close, mother and baby leopard cavorting in the river bed and hyena - all very exciting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Simbambili for 3 days as part of our honeymoon trip and it was absolutely amazing. The game was incredible, we saw the big five on the first drive. The leopards were our favorite and we saw them a few times. The facilities are wonderful and quite luxurious while maintaing the bush experience - the devil is in the details and the pay a lot of attention to the finer details. The staff is incredible and took excellent care of us. Alison was a great hostess, our ranger team (Richard and Celebrate) were nothing short of amazing. Nokuthula on the wait staff also took excellent care of us. The team prepared us a nice romantic dinner in our lodge on the second night there - it was a complete surprise returning to the room after our evening game drive - they even drew a bath :).
I also had a massage at the spa - fantsatic. One of the best I have had and I usually get them monthly.
I will happily recommend the lodge to anyone I know travelling to South Africa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Simbambili Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbambili Game Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1363, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Specialty lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbambili Game Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simbambili Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Simbambili Game
Simbambili Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simbambili Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Simbambili Game Lodge to your Saves list