We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Londo - what dreams are made of...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Londlozi Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londlozi Private Game Reserve
Save
You added Londlozi Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape 6170 | Benmore, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Londo - what dreams are made of...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If your doing research on safari lodges in the Sabi Sands region of South Africa, you can stop now! Londolozi is a charming, top notch property with quiet elegance and quality "staff" (felt more like friends) that exceeded my expectations. From our morning breakfast greeting by Edward, who learned all our names and eating preferences, to the game drive rangers and trackers (Lucien and James - the dynamic duo) we were hard pressed to wipe the smiles and excitement off our faces. First evening game drive: news of a leopard that had just hunted an aardvark and dragged his prize into a tree - and off we went to witness this rarity! Unbelievable sightings from then on ... too numerous to mention. The conversations in the jeep, the knowledge imparted by rangers & trackers and respect of the animals, nature and local culture - it just got better each day! There was never a feeling of exploiting animals in their habitat, and we were never bored or restless - quite the contrary. Our experience was one that is burned into my memory, and when I am stuck in traffic I will look back and smile at the beauty that I was privileged to see. Go!! p.s. - thanks Africa Direct, you were right on target!

Room Tip: Connecting rooms at Founders camp for our sons 17 & 20 and my husband & self - perfect. Lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a magical experience we had at Granite Camp. A splurge but worth it, especially for a special occasion. The staff was very welcoming, professional and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The animal viewing was amazing (even better than Mombo in Botswana), the food was excellent, the service superb and personable. The suite was roomy, beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable, with great views and all the modern comforts. One can go on, and on, and on with the superlatives. We hope to go back to in the near future and know exactly where we will be staying!! Many thanks to all the Londolozi Family for making our celebration so exceptional.

Room Tip: Suite #2 has bigger pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a three week trip through Southern Africa to celebrate our 16 year wedding anniversary. We did a lot of research about the different lodges in Sabi Sands Game Reserve, South Africa before eventually choosing Londolozi Tree Camp for a three night stay. Londolozi initially won out due to the fact that they never cram more than six people in a jeep, always leaving the middle seats available. As it turns out, everything about Londolozi Tree Camp is amazing and exclusive. From the moment we arrived, we knew that we had made the right decision. We were greeted so warmly with delicious champagne, cold towels and smiles by Mark, the manager of Londolozi Tree Camp and Tresta the lady who would be our assistant for our stay. We were soon introduced to Kirsty, another manager and Melvin/Milton who would be our Ranger and Tracker on the game drives for the next few days. Although we had arrived early, we were offered a lovely gourmet buffet lunch and tea and dessert. All of the staff made us feel very comfortable and excited about the days ahead. Our hotel room was actually a small house with a beautiful living room and the bathroom was huge with double sinks a huge tub and both an indoor and outdoor shower. The outdoor shower was wonderful and there was also a small plunge-pool on the patio. The patio was a nice area to sit and read or watch wildlife. Our suite for the entire length of our stay was and remained spotlessly clean and bug free which is an absolute miracle considering that we were in "the bush". The best part of Londolozi and the most important reason to visit are the bush drive safaris that are twice per day (early morning and early evening) and last for three to four hours each. I thought that it would be a challenge rising at 5 a.m. for the a.m drive, but we were woken each am by a staff member with delicious coffee, muffins and cookies and after the first morning, I looked forward to our wake-up visit and morning game drive. We were so lucky to be assigned Melvin and Milton as our Ranger and Tracker. They are two of the nicest, responsible and competent people and we had the best time with them. When our vacation ended, we felt that we had made two friends. Melvin seemed to have a unique insight and understanding of the different animals and told us many anecdotes and taught us a great deal about the various traits of every animal breed that we encountered. He also told us stories about several specific animals that he had studied during his years as a Ranger at Londolozi. It was so interesting. After awhile, I learned from Melvin how to distinguish some of the different lions from one another and to sense whether an animal seemed agitated or happy. Melvin and Milton made our stay very exciting and enjoyable with many “off-road” expeditions in search of leopard, lion, rhinos, hyenas, elephant and many other interesting animals. We were even part of a rescue mission where another tracker had gotten between a female lion and her cubs - it was just incredible and we arrived just in time to save him!!! While Londolozi Tree Camp is a wonderful resort with fantastic cuisine, accomodations and facilities, what truly makes it unique is the caring staff and all of the work they put in to making their guests happy. One evening we returned to our suite after evening safari to find lit candles and rose petals all over the home, champagne chilling and a hot bath waiting for us. Another evening we were surprised with a full cocktail party set up for just my husband and myself out in the bush under the starlit sky where we sipped cocktails while observing Impala, Wilderbees and Hyenas. It was just magical. I was so impressed that an “all-inclusive” resort would exert so much additional effort, creativity and cost to give us one of the best vacation experiences of our lives. It was the perfect way to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent 3 days in Londlozi in 2010. What a treat and what excitement, we could not believe everything we saw. It seemed like a wonderful dream? Varty Camp was the least fancy of the camps but still quite wonderful and all of the staff made you feel so special. We had our own deck and plunge pool with elephants in the grass below us. Birds and insects everywhere, baboons in camp and lions CPU
D be heard roaring while we were having dinner. How special this place is. Guides are ver knowledgable, entertaining and goof to hang out with.

Dinner in boma, choir and service makes for a very special stay at Londlozi. Not to mention the abundant wildlife. What a wonderful time we had, I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

went to 3 lodges in the area. This is the most modern. Massage up in the tree house is sooo relaxing. Granite is very intimate and small. Hostess is very friendly and warm. Staff is great. Food is good. Room was great. It connects via walkways to their other lodges. FYI: this is attached to Singita land, you may want to try both places, but safari experience will be similar. Indoor/outdoor shower, private pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I know every safari lodge delivers special memories, and they do, I have been to quite a few, but there is something very special about Londolozi.
Yes the rooms are lovely, especially the granite suites they really are very dramatic. But lots of lodges have stunning rooms, and the food is great, as it is in most lodges.
For me the difference is that Londolozi is still family owned, and that gives them an edge, as they are passionate about what they deliver, they live and breathe it and as a result the experience they deliver is far deeper than that delivered by many of the commercial lodges.
We saw everything and we have done every time that we have been. Once Lisa and I were lucky enough to follow a female leopard off road for an hour - it was incredible. And this last time we sat and watched over 50 elephants, of all ages and sizes, walk right past our vehicle - even the kids sat in silence and awe for over an hour.
The family have grown up alongside the animals, generations of them, and hence the knowledge of their leopards goes back three or four genertaions and when you sit listening to that depth of knowledge and that relationship between man and animal you realise that this is a different level.Yes the scenery is awesome and the tree house that they took us to for lunch is a memory the little ones, Lisa and I will never forget, but it is the knowldege, the experience and the passion that the family have for this place that makes it bewitching

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I did a lot of research on which reserve to stay at on our visit to the Kruger area - finally decided on Londolozi Granite - a bit of a splurge but the rooms are amazing, with a private pool, outdoor shower, and beautiful furnishings.

The staff are simply incredible - if you can be sure to get Lucien as your ranger and hope that you get Jacqui as your host.

Amazing setting, amazing wildlife, and the best place I have ever stayed - and I have traveled extensively.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Londlozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londlozi Private Game Reserve

Address: Grahamstown, Eastern Cape 6170 | Benmore, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 343
Also Known As:
Londlozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Londlozi Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.