We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Magical and Luxurious.....Enter the World of Londolozi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Londlozi Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Londlozi Private Game Reserve
Save
You added Londlozi Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape 6170 | Benmore, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Amazing, Magical and Luxurious.....Enter the World of Londolozi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a three week trip through Southern Africa to celebrate our 16 year wedding anniversary. We did a lot of research about the different lodges in Sabi Sands Game Reserve, South Africa before eventually choosing Londolozi Tree Camp for a three night stay. Londolozi initially won out due to the fact that they never cram more than six people in a jeep, always leaving the middle seats available. As it turns out, everything about Londolozi Tree Camp is amazing and exclusive. From the moment we arrived, we knew that we had made the right decision. We were greeted so warmly with delicious champagne, cold towels and smiles by Mark, the manager of Londolozi Tree Camp and Tresta the lady who would be our assistant for our stay. We were soon introduced to Kirsty, another manager and Melvin/Milton who would be our Ranger and Tracker on the game drives for the next few days. Although we had arrived early, we were offered a lovely gourmet buffet lunch and tea and dessert. All of the staff made us feel very comfortable and excited about the days ahead. Our hotel room was actually a small house with a beautiful living room and the bathroom was huge with double sinks a huge tub and both an indoor and outdoor shower. The outdoor shower was wonderful and there was also a small plunge-pool on the patio. The patio was a nice area to sit and read or watch wildlife. Our suite for the entire length of our stay was and remained spotlessly clean and bug free which is an absolute miracle considering that we were in "the bush". The best part of Londolozi and the most important reason to visit are the bush drive safaris that are twice per day (early morning and early evening) and last for three to four hours each. I thought that it would be a challenge rising at 5 a.m. for the a.m drive, but we were woken each am by a staff member with delicious coffee, muffins and cookies and after the first morning, I looked forward to our wake-up visit and morning game drive. We were so lucky to be assigned Melvin and Milton as our Ranger and Tracker. They are two of the nicest, responsible and competent people and we had the best time with them. When our vacation ended, we felt that we had made two friends. Melvin seemed to have a unique insight and understanding of the different animals and told us many anecdotes and taught us a great deal about the various traits of every animal breed that we encountered. He also told us stories about several specific animals that he had studied during his years as a Ranger at Londolozi. It was so interesting. After awhile, I learned from Melvin how to distinguish some of the different lions from one another and to sense whether an animal seemed agitated or happy. Melvin and Milton made our stay very exciting and enjoyable with many “off-road” expeditions in search of leopard, lion, rhinos, hyenas, elephant and many other interesting animals. We were even part of a rescue mission where another tracker had gotten between a female lion and her cubs - it was just incredible and we arrived just in time to save him!!! While Londolozi Tree Camp is a wonderful resort with fantastic cuisine, accomodations and facilities, what truly makes it unique is the caring staff and all of the work they put in to making their guests happy. One evening we returned to our suite after evening safari to find lit candles and rose petals all over the home, champagne chilling and a hot bath waiting for us. Another evening we were surprised with a full cocktail party set up for just my husband and myself out in the bush under the starlit sky where we sipped cocktails while observing Impala, Wilderbees and Hyenas. It was just magical. I was so impressed that an “all-inclusive” resort would exert so much additional effort, creativity and cost to give us one of the best vacation experiences of our lives. It was the perfect way to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spent 3 days in Londlozi in 2010. What a treat and what excitement, we could not believe everything we saw. It seemed like a wonderful dream? Varty Camp was the least fancy of the camps but still quite wonderful and all of the staff made you feel so special. We had our own deck and plunge pool with elephants in the grass below us. Birds and insects everywhere, baboons in camp and lions CPU
D be heard roaring while we were having dinner. How special this place is. Guides are ver knowledgable, entertaining and goof to hang out with.

Dinner in boma, choir and service makes for a very special stay at Londlozi. Not to mention the abundant wildlife. What a wonderful time we had, I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

went to 3 lodges in the area. This is the most modern. Massage up in the tree house is sooo relaxing. Granite is very intimate and small. Hostess is very friendly and warm. Staff is great. Food is good. Room was great. It connects via walkways to their other lodges. FYI: this is attached to Singita land, you may want to try both places, but safari experience will be similar. Indoor/outdoor shower, private pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I know every safari lodge delivers special memories, and they do, I have been to quite a few, but there is something very special about Londolozi.
Yes the rooms are lovely, especially the granite suites they really are very dramatic. But lots of lodges have stunning rooms, and the food is great, as it is in most lodges.
For me the difference is that Londolozi is still family owned, and that gives them an edge, as they are passionate about what they deliver, they live and breathe it and as a result the experience they deliver is far deeper than that delivered by many of the commercial lodges.
We saw everything and we have done every time that we have been. Once Lisa and I were lucky enough to follow a female leopard off road for an hour - it was incredible. And this last time we sat and watched over 50 elephants, of all ages and sizes, walk right past our vehicle - even the kids sat in silence and awe for over an hour.
The family have grown up alongside the animals, generations of them, and hence the knowledge of their leopards goes back three or four genertaions and when you sit listening to that depth of knowledge and that relationship between man and animal you realise that this is a different level.Yes the scenery is awesome and the tree house that they took us to for lunch is a memory the little ones, Lisa and I will never forget, but it is the knowldege, the experience and the passion that the family have for this place that makes it bewitching

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I did a lot of research on which reserve to stay at on our visit to the Kruger area - finally decided on Londolozi Granite - a bit of a splurge but the rooms are amazing, with a private pool, outdoor shower, and beautiful furnishings.

The staff are simply incredible - if you can be sure to get Lucien as your ranger and hope that you get Jacqui as your host.

Amazing setting, amazing wildlife, and the best place I have ever stayed - and I have traveled extensively.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Londolozi Tree Camp for 4 nights and it was by far the best resort and best vacation we've ever been on and we are world travelers! VERY HIGHLY recommended from a picky traveler who spent HOURS researching resorts in Kruger. From the champagne we were served as we arrived at the resort to the staff to the HUGE and beautiful room, I cannot say enough. Our coordinator, Callie, was a gem and we by far had the best trackers at the resort, Sam and Richard. We saw all of the big 5 by the second safari outing and saw lion prides, elephants, zebra, buffalo, rhino, etc. who all came within a few feet of our Range Rover which was thrilling! Our room was larger than our home back in the US, had its own plunge pool, and the staff went out of the way to make our stay romantic and rememberable. Keep in mind because Londolozi is private, Range Rovers can go off-roading where as several other areas in Kruger only allow vehicles to stay on trails. We would not have seen half of the animals we did if we were not able to go off the beaten path to follow leopards, lions, you name it! It wasn't a cheap vacation but WELL worth it and I almost cried when I left. That was a first for me!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC1000
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

My husband and I moved to South Africa about a year ago. Over the past 12 months, we have hosted 4 different groups of friends / family from the United States. Each time, we’ve taken our guests to a new lodge in the Sabi Sands Game Reserves, which is considered to have the most spectacular and consistent Big 5 game viewing the country. Of the 4 lodges that we’ve visited, Londolozi is by far the superior facility. It ranks about all the other lodges in terms of luxury accommodations, friendly / helpful staff and the spectacular safari guides that aggressively track the animals. I found many of the other lodges large and impersonal, but Londolozi is very intimate. It rates #1 in my book!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Londlozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londlozi Private Game Reserve

Address: Grahamstown, Eastern Cape 6170 | Benmore, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 343
Also Known As:
Londlozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Londlozi Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.