We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Notten's Bush Camp
622 Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Simply magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Our stay in Nottens was just too short - if we could have stayed longer we would have. The camp is a fantastic mix of laid back holidaying and attentive, friendly staff. We had a wonderful time - the safari was brilliant, the food was great, the setting and accomodation were second-to-none. This is a unique place, and a great way to do safari.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
140
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Our 3 nights at Notten's were excellent. The small size of the camp and the friendly atmosphere was perfect. This was our second bush camp and the other was very large, modern, and extravagent. So this was a refreshing change. It was so interesting getting to know the other guests during meals. Even the owner and/or his wife would eat and chat with the guests at almost every meal too. It was so interesting to get to talk with so many wonderful people from so many places. The candlelit evenings gave the perfect character to this little camp. All the meals were fabulous and plentiful. They have an "honor" bar so each guest is responsible for making tally marks in a book whenever you help yourself to a drink. Although most of the time there was a staff member ready to serve us. Between game drives we would relax on the large common deck watching animals come by the watering hole while we read books, played cards, and chatted with other guests. There is also a nice pool area however the pool was not heated so it was too chilly for swimming in the winter but it was still a perfect area for taking a nice nap in the sun.

ANIMALS: They offer two game drives and a bush walk each day. Although we had already seen the big-five at our first camp, we got to see them again here as well as several new and different animals too. If you get a choice, request Joe as your driver - he's fantastic. The open grass field directly in front of the camp was often visited by impala and other antelope, monkeys, hyena and giraffe. Each afternoon some warthogs would wander into camp to munch on the grass between buildings. And we were that told a leopard was just outside our room one night too.

ROOM: Our room was large and comfortable with a king bed, sofa, table, dresser, and closet cabinet. We also enjoyed the large front deck with chairs to enjoy the view into the open field. The bathroom was spacious with a large tub surrounded by windows on 3 sides. Also dual bowl sinks and two showers - one indoor and one outdoors. We especially enjoyed watching the monkeys through the open roof of our outdoor shower.

This is the PERFECT retreat for anyone looking for a traditional bush camp experience without giving up any of the comforts of home. It is small, quiet, relaxing, and has a friendly atmosphere that we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed for four nights in July as part of my 40th Birthday trip.

Booked Nottens as it was highly recommended by our agents and online, and we were not disappointed.

Not too many rooms, wonderful friendly staff who really cared about the place and were knowledgable about the wildlife, fabulous food (although so much of it!!), and fabulous game and scenery.

The lack of electricity in rooms just added to the atmosphere, and although the nights were cold, the hot water bottles and fabulous communal dinners around the fire meant that we didn't really have time to think about it.

During our stay we had a hyena drink from the pool, hyena and leopard fighting close by in the early hours, and saw all the big five plus loads more on our game drives.

Might not be for those who like total luxury, but if you want to go somewhere to learn about how the people of SA are managing their natural environment for the benefit of all, have close encounters with wildlife, and eat great food with like minded travellers then I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Notten's and went on 6 game drives. We were lucky enough to see the 'big 5' by the second drive. Notten's is a much smaller place then the other Camps in the area (7 - 8 cabins total). The other places around seemed to have a lot more guests and I can't imagine receiving the same type of attention there.

Our ranger (Joe) was VERY knowledgeable with over 20+ years experience in the local area and was able to find everything we were looking to take photos of.

While there is no electricity in the cabins, only candles and oil lamps, it adds to the experience and by the second day you don't even notice it. No worries though about charging cameras and such, they do have outlets available in the main lodge.

I can honestly say that I didn't have a bad meal there during our stay and you eat with the other guests at the camp.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Nottens bush camp is just fantastic in all senses . Place , people food .....everything!!! worth every penny I do not want to go anywhere else now than there! .
Rooms are very big and super clean , people management and staff are the kindest people I have ever ever come across . We felt at home from the moment we sat foot in the camp . The game drives are superb and the land is imense so you always get too see something .
Pool area is brand new and super clean , it was lovely to have breakfast then go on your walk and then chill out for a bit round the pool . We had 4 days in Nottens and then 5 days in Mozambique and if I had known we would have stayed the full hol in Nottens .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We loved our stay at Nottens. The owners are present and hospitable, the staff are wonderful, the other guests were very sociable and great to get to know on game drives and at dinner, the food was excellent and the overall atmosphere just wonderful. Other places may have more luxuries in the way of gold plated faucets but that's a waste of money.

For the Blackberry addicted (like me), reception is sporadic but you can send and receive emails in the office.

i also had an excellent massage while at Nottens.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

This place was unbelievable. We saw the big five and so much more. The Nottens family, David and Mia were great. One of them would have breakfast with us and the other would have dinner with us, telling us stories and answering all of our questions. The food was terrific. You cannot put a price on having tea on you morning drive, in the bush next to your Range Rover with Giraffes in the back ground.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Address: 622 Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notten's Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Notten's Bush Camp to your Saves list